如何选择3D扫描仪

目录

引言

众所周知,3D扫描技术的快速发展彻底改善了诸多行业的大量应用场景。3D扫描使工艺更为灵活,节省了时间和金钱成本。自然,越来越多的企业也在将这项前沿科技融入到他们的日常工作之中。然而,市场上的3D扫描解决方案琳琅满目,选择一款适合自己的3D扫描仪是个不小的难题。

选择3D扫描仪的几点小贴士

在选择第一台3D扫描仪时,首先完成简单但关键的几个步骤,这样,什么款式对你而言最合适就一目了然了。首先,选定一个您经常会扫描的物体或类似物体,并带上它去参加例如Formnext这样的展览。展会期间,带着它去参观所有3D扫描公司,并让公司人员为您演示扫描过程,您可观察这一过程。这样,您可以立即发现一些差别。之后,观察每家公司的扫描效果。对比他们之间不同的扫描流程、扫描数据的处理方式和每款扫描仪生成的最终模型。

对比3D模型时的第一步

如果我们花一秒时间思考一下购买扫描仪时最关键的要素,那我们会发现,最重要的莫非分辨率。没错,准确度也很重要,但在现场我们很难检查这一点。但您可以清楚地感受到分辨率的不同效果,所以您可以立刻对比出不同扫描仪间的品质差异。

了解您的供应商

如今,在网上查看卖家评论是一个不错的做法,了解一下用户对这款扫描仪及其制造商的看法。这家公司提供何种支持服务?这也相当重要。一个质量过关的3D扫描仪可耐用十年左右,因此,您需要对这段时间内所能获得的不同支持有所了解。

谈不如实践

感受一下扫描仪使用是否方便。需要花费多少培训时间才能获得扫描仪的最佳效果?以及最重要的一点,扫描过程是否便捷?您是否需要在物体上做标记,还是说不做标记也能完成令人满意的追踪?扫描过程越方便,那整个扫描工艺也会更快捷。

软件是否最新?

配合扫描仪使用的软件也是3D扫描过程中的关键部分。扫描仪软件品质如何,多久更新?如果更新周期很久,比如说,五年更新一次,那您的扫描经历可能不会令人轻松愉快。

最低价不等同于最优价

能够多年反复使用的扫描仪才值得花钱。用完一次后就因不好用而搁置一边,即便价格便宜,但这样的购买也毫无意义。最好可以申请一笔贷款,把钱花在专业设备上。若您的业务发展良好,又有稳定收入,那很快就能还清这笔贷款。

不要过分关注科技,而应选择最适合的一款

若谈及哪款3D扫描技术最酷炫,那么可以说,所有现代3D扫描技术都很厉害,所以最关键的问题应当是您需要扫描哪类物体,以及您想获得何种效果。选择3D扫描仪时,您不用关心扫描仪采用了哪种科技。这些无关紧要。相反,您应当考虑的是哪款3D扫描仪最适合您的应用。例如,若您扫描的物体体积很小,那您选择的扫描仪需要有高精度捕获微小细节的能力。但如果您需要在相隔100米的位置进行扫描,那您就需要一款远距扫描仪。即便如此,每款扫描仪的具体原理和科技,对用户而言并不是最重要的。比如,当您选择一台电视机,您不会考虑内部零件。您只关心它的操作方式和画面品质。

选择3D扫描仪的其他重要标准

决定购买前,确保您已了解了所有必要信息,在这里,我们为您准备了一份简单的指南,帮您做出正确决策。这些内容将解答那些困扰您的疑问,比如:

  • 我要3D扫描什么?
  • 我要考虑哪些参数?
  • 手持式和固定式3D扫描仪有何区别? 
  • 专业3D扫描仪的价格区间是什么?

1. 准确度

准确度是指制作的虚拟模型和真实物体的差异。3D模型的各个方面是否都接近原物体?

左。螺旋测微器测量的叶轮气缸真实大小 - 29.90毫米。右。3D模型 - 29.85毫米

 

准确度非常重要,是我们必须对3D扫描数据做出的一项重要判断。对于工业应用场景而言尤为如此,精确度往往是这些领域中最重要的元素。

为获得最佳准确度,扫描仪必须经过校准。所有3D扫描仪都经过工厂的初始校准,工厂会确保设备准确度达到最高水平。部分3D扫描仪也支持临时校准。也就是说,顾客可以在购买设备后的任何时刻,根据自身需求,手动调整3D扫描仪的准确度设置,来满足制造商的最优标准。

就工业应用而言,高度准确的手持式3D扫描仪是个不错的选择

 

只有专业3D扫描仪才能达到高水平的准确度,尽管价格高于低配扫描仪,但您会发现,物有所值。

3D扫描仪制造商通常会在设备参数中标明准确度。对准确度的具体要求取决于您的扫描任务,当然最终依然取决于您。

2. 分辨率

尽管准确度是选择3D扫描仪时的主要考虑因素,但还有其他因素,如扫描设备分辨率,需要考虑。准确度是衡量扫描设备绝对准确性的指标,而分辨率是衡量3D模型两点间最短距离的指标,通常以毫米或微米为单位。也就是说,如果您想制作一个细节异常丰富的3D模型,那您应当考虑使用高分辨率3D扫描仪来完成捕获。这点对于质量控制、逆向工程、动画和虚拟现实、文物保护、法医鉴定、珠宝首饰等很多场景而言都非常重要。

分辨率越高,3D模型细节越丰满
左:分辨率0.15毫米,右:分辨率0.3毫米

 

然而,有时用户会选择分辨率较低的数据。因为分辨率越高,模型就会显得更为笨重,扫描也会花掉更多时间。对于电脑性能一般、或打算3D打印成品模型的用户而言,这确实是个弊端。3D打印机打印有大量细节的高分辨率模型,会花费更多时间。所以,如果您介意处理时间和打印速度,这点要有所考虑。另外,部分3D打印机或许无法打印出高分辨率的效果。

根据不同的应用,用户会选择相应的分辨率设置。若希望3D模型尽可能展现更多细节,那就需要选择一款能够轻松、安全地捕获小细节的3D扫描仪。

选择轻质便携式3D扫描仪。手持式3D扫描仪便于操作,也能让您轻松围绕物体走动。选择能以0.1毫米分辨率进行3D扫描的高级型号。

3. 速度

时间就是金钱,所以3D扫描仪的速度也是重要的考虑因素。

提到速度,我们通常指3D扫描仪捕获任何一个物体的速度。衡量速度的方法也取决于设备所采用的科技。例如,结构光3D扫描仪的速度就是根据每秒捕获的帧数和点云数计算的。一些先进的白光3D扫描仪可以在一秒内捕获16帧和200万点。

最先进的手持式扫描仪采用垂直腔面发射激光(VCSEL)技术,能够每秒捕获80帧,捕获400万点。

配备内置触屏、电池和WiFi数据传输的高端VCSEL 3D扫描仪

 

激光雷达扫描仪的速度也是根据每秒捕获的点数计算的。一台高质量的固定式激光扫描仪每秒可捕获20万点。这些都是参考数据,具体情况视扫描仪、扫描物体和扫描距离而定。

一台高速3D扫描仪可以迅速捕获任何物体,避免多余成本,提高生产率。这点对于时间紧迫的大型项目而言尤为重要。

4. 使用便捷度

便捷性是另一项需要考虑的重要因素。为获得最佳效果、带来最大产出,我们有必要了解如何最大程度地利用设备。

一个需要考虑的重要问题是:

  • 多久使用一次3D扫描仪?

若您需要经常使用3D扫描仪,或捕获大量数据,那么一台具备快速捕获数据能力的专业设备可以在长期帮您节省大量时间和金钱,并提升生产率。

中高端3D扫描仪通常更方便使用。您可能倾向于购买便宜的设备,但要考虑这些设备可能造成时间的浪费,需要更多的培训,从而带来糟糕的体验。专业扫描仪的快速帧率和先进的追踪算法,可以让扫描过程快速简便不少。在后期处理阶段,不要忽略软件的重要作用。配合专业扫描仪使用的软件往往功能更强大,带有很多不牺牲准确度的自动化功能。因此,软件往往速度更快,使用更便捷。

5. 设备尺寸

选择3D扫描仪前,我们需要考虑您具体要捕获的对象:

  • 要捕获的物体大小如何?
  • 扫描物体的尺寸差异大吗?或者您打算应用在自动化工艺流中,捕获大量类似物体?
  • 这些物体主要材质是什么?细节多吗?
  • 您3D扫描的对象是动物还是静物?

最适合应用场景的3D扫描仪取决于物体的尺寸,表面材质,以及您对细节捕获的要求。

若您的工艺流主要捕获大型或超大型物体,如卡车、货车、飞机,则建议选择远距激光扫描仪,能够精确捕获大型物体及其细节。

翼幅13米的Klemm L25d VIIR LX-MA飞机3D模型,准确度很高

 

对于小型物体,例如家具、摩托车、中等大小的雕像,则可以选择手持式3D扫描仪,它们能快速捕获数据,还能让您轻松地绕物体走动,捕获那些较难接触的地方。

若您打算捕获复杂工业零部件,用于质量控制或测量,则可选择准确度更高的手持式3D扫描仪。

对于尺寸较大,还有大量细节需要精确捕获的复杂物体,则最好选用两款或多款3D扫描仪,以获得最佳效果。一台固定式扫描能快速捕获大片面积,同时,手持式扫描仪可以精准捕获具体细节。

尺寸参考。了解您的物体大小。

 

6. 便携性

便携性是另一项重要的考量因素。

  • 您打算在哪里捕获3D数据?
  • 您通常在受控环境还是户外扫描?

同样地,您的选择依然取决于您的应用。固定式扫描解决方案非常适合大型物体捕获,这种情况下,手持式扫描仪就会花费更多时间。

便携式3D扫描仪有诸多优点。它们给操作人员更多自由,因此也更为灵活。对于难以触及的表面,便携式解决方案操作起来就更为得心应手,还能轻松驾驭高难度角度。

另外,选择一款可同时使用内置或外置电池的3D扫描仪,也同样好处多多,这样就无需外接电源了。

配合使用便携式电池组的手持式3D扫描仪,畅享无间断3D数据捕获

 

7. 软件功能

请记住,软件才能真正提升3D扫描仪的效果。专业3D扫描仪制造商也致力于研发优质3D扫描软件,让扫描效果锦上添花。

一款能够捕获不同尺寸物体的先进3D扫描仪,一般都需要配合使用强大的3D软件。软件能够快速准确地处理所有接受的数据,每次使用都呈现出最佳效果。

一些高级3D扫描与后期处理软件功能更全面,使用更方便

高级3D软件可用于数据的准确捕获、处理和分析等功能

 

购买之前,请尝试一下3D扫描仪和软件。试用一下各项功能和各类工具。这些功能是否符合您的需求?或者您的项目是否需要更高级的解决方案?

需要注意的另一点是,制造商是否会持续更新软件,推陈出新。新版软件往往可以将3D扫描仪改头换面,大幅提升速度和易用性。专业企业通常会持续改善更新他们的软硬件,确保最佳工艺流程。

8. 维护保养

不要忽视3D设备的保养工作。正如其他高级设备一样,您可能偶尔需要给设备做个“体检”。这样操作可以确保设备长期运作良好,效果准确无误。

每位制造商都有自己的维修流程,如校准、光学器件清洗等等。尽管保养意味着额外的开销,但一些品牌会提供2-3年质保服务。

9. 环境

扫描环境是另一项需要考虑的因素。

  • 您的标准扫描环境如何?
  • 您会在户外阳光直射下扫描吗?还是在一个阴暗潮湿的地方?

包括温度、湿度、光线等因素通常既会影响扫描仪的表现,也会影响扫描数据的品质。

结合多项3D扫描科技,实现最佳效果

 

结合多项3D扫描科技,实现最佳效果

制造商通常标明3D扫描设备的最佳温度范围和可接受的湿度范围,但同时也有一些普遍的规则,可以确保3D扫描仪运作良好,效果准确。

  • 温度过高时,扫描仪可能出现过热现象。同样地,如果设备处于温度过低的环境,低温同样会影响扫描仪的准确度,并导致故障。
  • 和其他电子设备相同,3D扫描仪不可以接触过高的湿度,或直接接触任何液体
  • 保护设备远离灰尘或其他可能损伤设备的微粒
  • 确保光线充足,足以捕获物体
  • 只有少数3D扫描仪可以在阳光直射下工作。大部分都需要您尽可能寻找隐蔽处操作。

10. 价格

价格是购买设备时需要考虑的又一重要因素。3D扫描仪的价格通常体现了设备的功能、质量和数据捕获速率。

3D扫描仪最低价大约为3000美元,最先进的型号约为10万美元。尽管短期来看,低价的3D扫描仪貌似更诱人,但不要忘记,做一项投资,我们应当看得更为长远。高品质的设备往往更加耐用,故障率也更低,可使用多年依然保持出色的效果。

然而,要记住在某些情况下,购买3D扫描仪也会引起额外的支出。一些公司会因如下商品或服务向您收取额外费用:

  • 运费
  • 销售税
  • 安装
  • 培训
  • 技术支持
  • 标准和延长质保

确保您在购买前对额外支出有所了解。

熟悉了3D扫描仪的选择标准后,您可以开始进入演示阶段。建议购买前尝试一下打算购买的扫描仪和软件,以避免不愉快的经历。销售高品质解决方案的公司一般都很乐意为您提供一对一演示、培训、工作坊等服务。欢迎咨询我们的专家,了解3D扫描科技的更多信息,以及如何为您的企业带来长期的积极影响。

联系我们

How to choose a 3D scanner

Introduction

It is no secret that the fast development of 3D scanning technology has made it possible to drastically improve countless applications in multiple industries. 3D scanning has made workflows much more flexible, as well as more time and cost efficient than ever before. It’s no wonder that more and more companies are integrating this cutting edge technology into their day-to-day work. However, with so many 3D scanning solutions available on the market today, selecting the right 3D scanner for your needs can be a rather overwhelming process.

Here are some quick tips for selecting a 3D scanner

When it comes to making the right choice for your first 3D scanner, it’s important to take a few simple yet crucial steps, so you can see for yourself exactly which one is best for you. First of all, choose a typical part that you’ll be scanning on a regular basis, or something very similar, and bring it along with you to an exhibition such as Formnext. Take it around to all the 3D scanning companies exhibiting there. Simply ask them to scan it for you and then watch how they do it. You’ll see some differences right then and there. After this, check the final results for each one. Compare their various scanning workflows, how they process the scan data, as well as the final model created by each scanner.

The first thing to look at when comparing 3D models

And when we focus for a second on what’s most important when choosing a scanner, at the top of the stack, it’s all about resolution. Yes, accuracy is also very important, yet it’s hard to check that when you’re there on the spot. But you can clearly see for yourself the quality of the resolution, so you can immediately compare multiple scans made with different scanners.

Know who you’re buying from

It’s also a smart idea to read reviews online and see what users are saying about the scanner as well as the company that makes it. What kind of support does the company provide? This is definitely important. A good 3D scanner is going to last around 10 years, so you need to know what kind of support you’ll be getting over this long period of time.

The proof is in the process

Try to get a feel for how easy it is to use the scanner. How much time will you need to invest in training before you can get the best results from the scanner? And overall, how easy will the scanning process itself be? Do you need to add markers to the object, or can the scanner keep good enough track of everything while scanning without them? The easier it is to scan, the faster your whole workflow is going to be.

Is the software up to date?

The software that goes with the scanner is a key part of 3D scanning. How good is the scanner’s software and how often is it being updated? If it’s not updated regularly, then after, let’s say, five years, you’re not going to be a very happy user.

The lowest price may not be the best price

It’s worth investing in a good scanner that will serve you well for years to come. There’s no point in buying something you’ll just wind up leaving on the shelf because it doesn’t work good enough — even if you did pick it up at a great price. Better to take out a loan and invest in professional equipment. If you have a solid business and a stable income, you can easily qualify for a bank loan for this.

Don’t focus on the technology, choose what’s right for you

In terms of which 3D scanning technologies are most desirable, let’s just say that all modern 3D scanning technologies are great, so it really depends on what type(s) of object you need to scan and the results you want to get. When choosing a 3D scanner, you don’t need to worry about what technology the scanner is based on. This isn’t relevant. What you do need to think about is which 3D scanner is right for your application. For example, if you need to scan something very small, you want to choose a scanner that’s able to capture the smallest details of the object in high resolution. But let’s say you need to scan something from a distance of 100m, then you’re going to need a long range scanner. That said, the specifics of how each scanner does this, using which technology, is of no real importance to the user. When you choose a TV, for example, you don’t think about what parts are inside. You simply care about how it works and the quality of the picture you get on the screen.

Learn more about key criteria for choosing a 3d scanner

To make sure that you have all the necessary information prior to committing to a purchase, we have also created this following short guide to help you make the right decision. It will address those all-important questions which you need to ask yourself, such as:

  • What will I be 3D scanning?
  • What technical specifications do I need to take into consideration?
  • What is the difference between a handheld and a stationary 3D scanner?
  • What is the price range for a professional 3D scanner?

1. Accuracy

Accuracy refers to thow close to the actual object we have come in creating its virtual copy. How close are the dimensions of the 3D model to those of the object?

Left: Actual size of the impeller cylinder measured with a micrometer — 29.80 mm.
Right: 3D model — size 29.85 mm

 

Accuracy is extremely important when key decisions need to be made based on the 3D scan data. This is especially true for industrial applications, when precision is of the utmost significance.

To get the best accuracy, the scanner needs to be calibrated. All 3D scanners are initially factory calibrated, where the manufacturer ensures the best possible accuracy of the device. For some 3D scanners onsite calibration is also possible. This is where the accuracy settings of the 3D scanner can be manually adjusted by the customer to meet the manufacturers’ optimal standards any time after the purchase to better suit his or her needs.

Highly-accurate handheld 3D scanners are great for industrial applications

 

Only professional 3D scanners are able to provide high accuracy and though they are pricier than scanners with lower specs, they are almost always worth the investment.

Manufacturers of 3D scanners will always state the accuracy in the specs of their device. The accuracy you require depends on the task at hand, but ultimately the choice is yours.

2. Resolution

Though accuracy is one of the key aspects to consider when choosing a 3D scanner, it is important to explore other factors, such as the resolution of the scanning device.

While accuracy is the measurement of the device’s degree of absolute correctness, resolution is the least possible distance between any two given points within a 3D model and is usually expressed by millimeters, or microns. This means, if you are looking to have an extremely detailed 3D model, you would use a high resolution 3D scanner to capture the object. This is especially important for applications in quality control, reverse-engineering, animation and VR, heritage preservation, forensics, jewelry and many others.

The higher the resolution, the more detailed your 3D model will look.
Left: resolution 0.15 mm, Right: resolution 0.3 mm

 

Sometimes, however, the user will opt for a lower resolution data. The higher the resolution, the heavier the model and the more time it will take to process. This might be a setback for users with less powerful computers, as well as those planning to 3D print the final model. A 3D printer will take much longer to produce a higher resolution model with all of its intricate details. So if processing time and printing speed matters, this is definitely something to keep in mind. Additionally, some 3D printers may not be able to reproduce high resolution levels.

Depending on the application, users will choose the resolution settings accordingly. If you need your 3D model to be as detailed as possible, go for a 3D scanner that is able to safely and easily capture even the smallest of features.

Opt for a portable, lightweight 3D scanner. Handheld 3D scanners are easy to operate and rotate around the object being scanned. Select advanced models are able to 3D scan objects with a resolution of up to 0.1mm.

3. Speed

Time is money and that’s why it is also very important to consider the speed of a 3D scanner.

When we are talking about speed, we refer to how fast a 3D scanner can capture any given object. The way the speed is measured differs depending on the type of technology the device is using. For example, the speed of a structured light 3D scanner is calculated by the amount of frames and the number of points captured per second. Some advanced white light 3D scanners only need one second to make 16 frames and capture 2 million points of the object.

A top-of-the-range handheld scanner with VCSEL technology is capable of going as fast as 80 frames per second and capture up to 4 million points in a flash.

A high-end VCSEL 3D scanner with an inbuilt touch screen, battery and WiFI data transfer

 

The speed of a LIDAR solution is calculated by the millions of points it is able to capture in a single second. A good quality stationary laser scanner would be able to scan at a speed of about 200,000 points per second. These are reference numbers and may vary depending on the scanner, object and scanning distance.

A faster 3D scanner allows users to capture any object quickly, eliminating unnecessary costs and boosting productivity. This is especially important for large and costly projects on a tight schedule.

4. Ease of use

Ease of use is another important factor to consider when choosing a 3D scanner. To get the best possible results and maximize the output, it is vital to know how to utilize the device’s full potential.

One of the key questions to consider here:

  • How often will you be using your 3D scanner?

If you will be doing a lot of 3D scanning or capturing large amounts of data, remember that a professional device with quick data capture abilities will save you time and money in the long run, as well boost your productivity.

Mid and upper-range 3D scanners are usually quite easy and intuitive to use. Although you might be tempted to go with cheaper versions, consider the additional time, training and frustration those might incur. The fast frame rate and advanced tracking algorithms in professional solutions make scanning a lot swifter and easier. When considering the post-processing stage, don’t forget that the software plays an important part too. The software that goes with professional scanners is likely to be much more powerful and generally contains many automated features, without compromising on accuracy. As a result, the software is more user-friendly, fast and easy to learn.

5. Part Size

Before selecting a 3D scanner, it is important to consider what exactly you will be capturing:

  • What is the size of the object or objects you will be capturing?
  • Will you be scanning variously sized objects? Or perhaps you are planning to automate your workflow and capture large amounts of identical objects?
  • What material are your objects made out of and how detailed are they?
  • Are you planning to 3D scan animate or inanimate objects?

The best 3D scanner for your application will depend on the size of the object, the material of its surface and the amount of intricate detailing you want to be able to capture.

If your workflow includes mostly capturing large to very large objects, such as trucks, trains or even planes, opt for a long range stationary laser scanner, precise enough to capture those large objects in high detail.

Highly-accurate 3D model of a Klemm L25d VIIR LX-MA airplane with a 13 m wingspan.

 

For smaller objects, such as furniture, motorcycles or midscale statues, go with a handheld 3D scanner with fast capture and the ability to effortlessly manoeuvre around the object and capture those hard-to-reach places.

If you are planning to scan a complex industrial part for quality control or measurements, choose a handheld 3D scanner with high accuracy.

For complex objects that are large in size and have small details that need to be precisely captured, it is a great idea to combine two or more 3D scanners for best results. A stationary scanner captures the large areas fast, while a handheld scanner can fill in the detail.

Size reference. Understanding the size of your object

 

6. Portability

Portability is another factor to consider when making a decision.

  • Where are you planning to capture 3D data?
  • Do you usually work in a controlled environment or out in the field?

Once again, your choice will depend based on your application. Stationary scanning solutions are great for capturing large objects, where a handheld solution would require more time.

Portable 3D scanners offer other advantages. They give a much higher degree of control to the operator, making it a more flexible solution. Able to capture those hard to reach places, portable solutions are easier to manipulate and can be effortlessly maneuvered around tricky angles.

You will also greatly benefit from choosing a 3D scanner that is able to work from an internal or external battery, and so does not require a power source nearby.

A handheld 3D scanner with a portable battery pack for uninterrupted 3D data capture

 

7. Software Features

Remember that it is the software that really powers the 3D scanner. Manufacturers of professional 3D solutions strive to develop the optimal 3D scanning software to push the boundaries of their 3D scanners.

An advanced 3D scanner that is able to capture objects of various sizes requires powerful 3D software. It needs to be able to handle and process all of the incoming data quickly and error-free so as to deliver the best possible results with each use.

Some advanced 3D scanning and post-processing software are much more versatile and user friendly than others.

Advanced 3D software for accurate data capture, processing, analysis and more

 

Give both the 3D scanner and software a try before you commit to the purchase. Explore the useful features that are offered and what tools are at your disposal. Are they enough for you, or do you require a more advanced solution for your projects?

Another thing to pay attention to is whether the manufacturer is continually developing the software and releasing new, updated versions. A new software version can often transform a 3D scanner into a whole new product, drastically increasing speed and usability. Expert companies are constantly developing and improving both their hardware and software to ensure the very best workflow.

8. Maintenance

Don’t forget about the maintenance your 3D device will require. Just like with any other piece of advanced equipment, you might occasionally need to have your device «checked-up». This guarantees that your device will function properly and deliver accurate results for long time to come.

Each manufacturer has their own set of maintenance procedures, such as calibration, optics cleaning and so on. Though this is something that might cost you extra, some companies offer up to two years free warranty on their products.

9. Environment

The scanning environment is yet another factor to consider when making your choice.

  • What will be the standard conditions you scan in?
  • Will you be scanning outdoors in direct sunlight? Or perhaps it will be in a dark and humid place?

Factors such as temperature, humidity and light can greatly affect both the overall performance of the scanner and the quality of the scans themselves.

Combine various 3D scanning technologies for best results

 

Manufacturers will usually indicate the optimal temperature range, as well as the accepted levels of humidity for their 3D scanning solutions, but there are a few universal rules to ensuring your 3D scanner works properly and delivers accurate results.

  • Scanners might overheat when exposed to extremely high temperatures. Similarly, avoid using your device in low temperatures, as a very cold environment also affects the scanner’s accuracy and may cause it to malfunction.
  • As with any other electronic equipment, 3D scanners should not be exposed to high humidity or have any contact with liquids
  • Keep your device away from dirt, dust and other small particles that may cause damage
  • Ensure you have enough light to capture your object
  • Only very few 3D scanners can capture in direct sunlight. Most will need you to create shade where possible for better results.

10. Price

Price is an important factor to take into consideration when making the decision to buy. The cost of the 3D scanner will correspond to the features provided by the device, as well as the quality and speed of data capture.

3D scanners start at around $3,000, with the most advanced models costing over a $100,000. Though less expensive 3D scanners might seem more appealing in the short term, remember that it is an investment and look at the bigger picture. Quality devices are guaranteed to last longer, are less likely to malfunction and will deliver outstanding results for years to come.

However, keep in mind that in some cases, additional expenses may occur when purchasing a 3D scanner. Some companies may charge you extra for the following products and services:

  • shipping charges
  • sales tax
  • installation
  • training
  • technical support
  • standard and extended warranty

Be sure that you enquire about any additional charges prior to making a purchase.

Now that you are familiar with the main criteria for choosing the optimal 3D scanner for your projects, you can now move to the demo stage. Always test the scanners and the software beforehand to avoid any unpleasant surprises. Companies offering quality solutions are always happy to offer a one-on-one demonstration, as well as trainings, workshops, etc.. Talk to the experts today to find out more about 3D scanning technologies and how they can have a long-lasting impact on your business.