使用 Artec Eva扫描仪扫描拿破仑纪念碑

我们经常会收到用户提问,当我们的扫描仪和软件扫描大型物体时表现如何?这个故事会解答这个问题。

让我们先来介绍一下本杰明∙莫雷诺, IMA Solutions SARL公司的CEO, 该公司位于法国图卢兹。 IMA Solutions采用3D扫描和可视化技术,以开发新的多媒体工具,例如为世界上大型博物馆设计的3D交互系统。他们的客户中包括大英博物馆, 雅典卫城博物馆,卢浮宫以及位于法国北部朗斯的朗斯艺术博物馆。

本杰明向我们展示了一个令人难以置信的作品,是他使用Artec Eva扫描仪和Artec Studio 10制作的骑在骏马上拿破仑青铜纪念碑的可以用于3D打印的模型。该任务是受位于法国Vizille 的Musée de la Révolution Française博物馆委托, 制作纪念碑的 3D复制品以便后人观看,同时3D模型也是为了庆祝拿破仑从被流放的厄尔巴岛返回法国200周年的展会上使用的。纪念碑是法国著名雕塑家Emmanuel Frémiet于1867年在 Laffrey附近的村庄制作的。

“我已经给很多马造型的艺术品进行过3D扫描,我每次都在想: 这可能是最难扫描的物体了,因为它的腿和隐藏区域十分难扫描,” 本杰明讲到. “之前我一直在使用配有激光摄像头的3D扫描设备架在手臂上进行扫描,我可以说只有Artec的技术可以对艺术品在室外条件下进行完美的3D扫描.”

本杰明在Artec法国经销商Boreal那里购买了Eva和Spider扫描仪, 之前他的公司一直在使用3D激光扫描仪. “现在我们可以在任何的室外条件下使用 Artec Eva和Spider扫描仪对艺术品进行扫描,相比我们之前所使用的数字化系统,Artec的设备无需使用标记和参考系统,而且也不会对博物馆的藏品造成损坏,” 本杰明讲到.

“此外, Artec扫描仪还具有即时纹理扫描这一强大的功能,” 他补充道. “在此之前,我们都是使用激光扫描仪捕获3D几何图像,然后生成很多图像重新投影3D模型,然后手动填充纹理质感。由于是手动操作,所以非常耗时,而且难以保证精度。现在可以完美捕获纹理信息并自动投影到几何图形上。根据不同物体种类,3D扫描物体的时间已经可以缩短5-10倍。此外,很多名作我们除了使用Artec扫描系统外,没有其他的选择方案。我经常会告诉我的客户: 在Artec的产品问世之前,这种3D扫描的任务是不可能完成的!”

扫描拿破仑纪念碑的时候,本杰明唯一需要的工具就是博物馆为他提供的一个支架,可以保证他从各个角度对纪念碑进行扫描。他同样还携带了扫描仪用的电池,这样可以保证他对纪念碑上部扫描时有电力供应。多数时间本杰明都是在笔记本电脑上完成了操作,将Eva扫描仪和笔记本连接在一起。“唯一会限制扫描工作的因素就是笔记本电脑的电池,并不是Artec扫描仪的电池!” 本杰明讲到.

事实上本杰明经常会使用扫描仪电池. 最近他扫描了一个庞大的史前雕刻艺术品,为此他不得不进入地下四米深的洞穴中进行操作。“使用Eva扫描仪和其配套的电池,我可以很快完成扫描工作,” 本杰明讲到。

由于拿破仑纪念碑的表面积相当大, 本杰明为该项目自行开发了扫描方案: “我将整个扫描工作划分为18个区域 (18个 Artec Studio 10项目) ,预留大量的重叠区域以便进行后期对准制作。”

由于扫描数据非常庞大,达到了57GB, 所以扫描工作耗费了两天的时间,后期花费了10天的时间。为了简化这个过程, 本杰明为18个扫描区域中所有的图像都做了1mm精度的锐利融合. 每个区域大约有2500万个多边形, 他将数量缩减至了150万个多边形. 然后他进行了非刚性对准和1mm的锐利融合,将数量进一步缩减到200万个多边形。最后, 他用纹理的帧图像来优化纹理并获得了优化的几何模型。在Zbrush软件中进行了一定的调整。

本杰明是最早使用 Artec Studio 10的客户之一. “相比于AS9,我发现AS10在整体运行速度和整体配准计算法的速度上都有明显提高,而且新添了”历史扫描追踪”选项,可以在扫描过程中使用,” 他讲到. “总体来讲, AS10相比AS9运行速度更快,更加可靠.”

IMA Solutions 通常为他们的客户制作3种模型: 一种是3D可视化以及为文化遗产调研制作高清晰的模型, 一种是为3D打印优化3D模型,以及为3D及时渲染引擎优化模型.

“该博物馆对制作的模型很满意, 尤其是可以通过鼠标操作来观看虚拟3D模型的各个角度!” 本杰明讲到.
欢迎咨询

Napoleon monument scanned with Artec Eva

We are often asked how our scanners and software perform when scanning large objects. This story answers the question.

Please meet Benjamin Moreno, the CEO of IMA Solutions SARL, based in Toulouse, France. IMA Solutions employ 3D scanning and visualization to develop new multimedia tools, such as 3D interactive systems, for the world’s leading museums. Among their clients are the British Museum, the Acropolis Museum and the Louvre-Lens art museum located in Lens, northern France.

Benjamin has just shown us an incredible, watertight, ready-to-print 3D model of a bronze monument to Napoleon on horseback, which he scanned using Artec Eva and Artec Studio 10. The task was commissioned by the Musée de la Révolution Française in Vizille, France, with a view to preserving the monument’s 3D copy for posterity and preparing a 3D model for an exhibition celebrating the 200th anniversary of Napoleon’s return to France from his exile on the island of Elba. The monument, cast by the famous French sculptor Emmanuel Frémiet in 1867, is located near the neighboring village of Laffrey.

“I’ve already 3D scanned some artworks representing horses and each time I think: that’s one of the hardest things to scan because of the legs and hidden areas,” Benjamin says. “In the past I used other 3D scanner equipment like laser heads mounted on arms and I can say that only Artec technology is able to perform 3D scanning of this kind of artwork on the fly or in hard environmental conditions.”

Before Benjamin bought Artec scanners Eva and Spider from our French resellers Boreal, his company was using 3D laser scanners. “Now we use Artec Eva and Spider and it helps 3D scan in any conditions a wider range of artworks than our previous digitalization systems without using any targets or reference systems that can be problematic when working on museum collections,” Benjamin says.

“Also, Artec scanners grab textures in real-time and this is a really great feature,” he adds. “Before that, we’d grab 3D geometry using a laser scanner, then make many pictures to reproject texture on the 3D model by hand. That was a really time consuming task and not really precise because of human intervention. Now textures are perfectly captured and mapped on the geometry. The acquisition time has been reduced 5 to 10 times depending on the object to 3D scan. Also, some masterpieces we 3D scan today cannot be scanned with other kind of 3D systems than Artec 3D. I often say to my clients: this kind of 3D acquisition was not possible before Artec equipment went to the market!”

With the Napoleon monument, the only prop Benjamin needed was a scaffold to access the monument from all sides, and the museum provided him with one. He also made sure to bring a battery pack to the site, which he used mainly when scanning the upper part of the monument. Most of the time Benjamin worked with a laptop and the Eva plugged into a generator. “What is limiting in terms of 3D scanning with the battery pack is not the Artec battery pack but the battery of the computer!” Benjamin says.

In fact Benjamin uses the battery pack quite often. Recently he scanned an engraved prehistoric artwork depicting a mammoth, for which he had to take to a cave hidden four meters below the ground. “I was able to 3D scan quickly on site using Eva and the battery pack,” Benjamin says.

Because the surface area of the Napoleon monument was quite large, Benjamin developed his own 3D scanning strategy for the project: “I divided my work into 18 areas (18 Artec Studio 10 projects) taking care of having big overlapping areas for post-production alignment.”

Scanning took two days in total and post-production another 10 days because of the huge amount of data, 57 GB. To streamline it, Benjamin did sharp fusion at the 1 mm resolution for each of the 18 scanning sessions. Each was around 25 million polygons, so he decimated them to 1.5 million polygons. Then he performed non-rigid alignment and sharp fusion at 1 mm, which landed him at just 20 million polygons. Finally, he used textured frames to apply texture to the resulting optimized geometrical model and made some tweaks in Zbrush.

Benjamin is one of the first Artec clients to upgrade to Artec Studio 10. “Regarding AS9 vs. AS10 I noticed speed enhancements for fine and global registration algorithms and a much better ‘tracking from the previous scan’ option when scanning,” he says. “In general, AS10 is more reliable and faster than AS9.”

IMA Solutions normally produce three kinds of 3D models for their customers: one master high definition model for pre-calculated 3D visualization and cultural heritage survey, one optimized 3D model for 3D printing, and one optimized model for 3D real-time rendering engines.

“The museum is really happy with the result, especially because they can now manipulate the 3D model virtually and see the monument from any angle with a click of a mouse!” Benjamin says.

Ask a question