Artec Eva和Space Spider挖掘肯辛顿如尼符石的真相

概要:两位主持美国节目《失落的维京人》的考古学家决定用彩色3D扫描技术来决定一款颇具争议的文物年代。

目标:实现一小时内精确扫描如尼石刻,并将扫描数据制作成细节丰富饱满的3D模型,以用于深度测量和如尼文石刻对比。

使用工具:Artec Eva & Space Spider

一百多年来,历史学家和科学家一直就最早维京人何时来美洲、以及他们的足迹最西到达何处这两个话题争论不休。在这场讨论中,肯辛顿如尼符石是最关键的文物之一,该石块重约202磅(92公斤),在1898年由一位明尼苏达的农夫发现。若该石块上的斯堪的纳维亚如尼文被证明为真迹,那它极有可能彻底改变我们对美国历史的认识。

两位知名考古学家Blue Nelson和Mike Arbuthnot在主持热播电视节目《失落的美国维京人》期间,决定仔细观察一番。

 “如尼石符在1898年第一次被发现的时候,关于这些石刻是否长达650年,科学家们观点不一,” Nelson说道。

一直以来,人们认为维京人曾穿越大西洋,约于1000年前一度定居在兰塞奥兹牧草地的纽芬兰海岸。但此地距离发现这块纠缠着山杨树根的如尼石刻的地方,也就是明尼苏达肯辛顿地区,又相隔了1800英里。所以维京人是否以及如何跋涉至这么遥远的地方,又是一个新的问题。

如尼石刻的评论家认为是发现这块石刻的明尼苏达农夫Olof Ohman自己将石符刻上,并填埋,希望以此欺骗世人,以假乱真。

如尼石刻由两种不同石材构成,一种是较硬的矿石硬砂岩,另一种是较软的矿石白色方解石。Blue Nelson仔细观察后的第一个反应就是,因为这块石块正面朝下,浸在湿土中超过6个世纪,因此刻在软质方解石上的如尼文应当比硬砂岩经历过更多的风化作用。

但是只用一个放大镜并不能给我们提供任何答案。他们还需要精确细致地测量石刻深度和形状,以打消所有疑虑。于是,他们决定采用3D扫描。

3D扫描已在考古学领域历经考验。我们不光可以对文物和上面的细节观察得更深入更细致,而且所有特征都可以经过数据捕获,并制成动态的3D模型,考古学家还能分享这些文物的数字模型,存档以备将来继续研究,或者用多种材料进行3D打印,甚至还能打印文物的缩小版或放大版。

他们找到Laser Design的专家,请他们提供专业扫描服务,而扫描设备正是手持式彩色3D扫描仪Artec Eva和Artec Space Spider。肯辛顿如尼符石过去也进行过3D扫描,但其细节程度远不能和Artec扫描仪相媲美。Eva的点精度可高达0.1毫米,而Space Spider甚至能达到0.05毫米,令人惊叹。

Laser Design的Kevin Shain协助了扫描工作,为Nelson和Arbuthnot提供了10分钟的扫描快速培训。而10分钟已经足够。仅需几分钟时间,他们就能像资深用户一样自如扫描了。

 “Artec扫描仪是我培训过使用最简单的扫描仪,无论是什么水平的新手,都能迅速理解操作步骤和原理,” Shain说道。

 “这太神奇了…”Nelson说道,“…完全不用接触。”“这将会是肯辛顿如尼符石分辨率最高的3D模型。”

扫描如尼符石时,他们实时观察着古老符石细致的彩色图像逐渐出现在屏幕上。

整个扫描过程不到一小时就结束了。首先,先用Eva捕获整个外观和石刻的彩色细节。随后,为确保最细致的效果,再使用Space Spider对每个如尼符号进行扫描。即便Space Spider通常不用于小型物体,但如尼符石尺寸较大(30 × 16 × 6 inches (76 × 41 × 15 cm)),对手持式扫描仪来说完全不是问题,于是,搭配使用Eva,一小时内就完成了所有数据捕获。

 “扫描仪捕获的细节量简直神奇,”Nelson看着预览说道。

扫描数据的后期处理在Artec Studio中完成,最初的彩色效果同样不到一小时就完成了。最终高分辨率模型制作共花费了四小时,额外三小时主要是确保3D模型无缝衔接,完美体现肯辛顿如尼符石。

用Laser Design 3D扫描专家Kevin Shain的话来描述后期处理:“只能留给如尼符石一天的时间,所以我必须快速准确地完成工作。扫描后,我把Eva的数据集对齐,去除异常值,最后进行了尖锐融合。接着,我再将数据与Space Spider的超高分辨率数据整合起来。”

 “Space Spider和Eva数据完美吻合。我完成了所有的全局对准,然后移除异常值,进行尖锐融合。最终就得到了肯辛顿如尼符石完整的高分辨率3D模型。”

一收到模型,考古学家就对每个石符进行了断面研究,将软质方解石上的符号和硬质硬砂岩上的相同符号进行比较。

他们选择了字面V。在方解石上,风化作用非常明显,使该字母看起来更像是字母U。而且,方解石面的石符比硬砂岩上的符号普遍要浅25%。

 “25%大概就是130年风化的结果,” Blue Nelson说道,怀疑这块石头并没有面朝地面躺了650年。

但是Mike Arbuthnot有不同的想法,“你如何判断什么样的风化程度是超过125年的呢?让我们不妨假设这个故事是真的。”

于是,他们决定求同存异。尽管3D扫描仪帮助人们了解到了如尼符石之间的差异,但并没有彻底解决问题。他们还需要更多的证据。

本期节目还详细介绍了他们对每一条证据的搜寻过程,重现了明尼苏达维京人的一小段旅程,他们在冬天顺着圣路易斯河划着一艘复制的小型维京船逆流而上,节目组甚至拜访了一位专业石刻家,了解一个普通人是否有可能雕刻出类似的如尼石符。

想了解更多信息,欢迎锁定本期节目:

https://www.sciencechannel.com/tv-shows/americas-lost-vikings/

(第四集, Ghosts of the Great Lakes)

联系我们

Digging for the truth about the Kensington Runestone with Artec Eva and Space Spider

Summary: Two archaeologists hosting the TV show America's Lost Vikings decided to use color 3D scanning to try and determine the true age of this controversial artifact.

The Goal: To precisely scan in under one hour a large runestone, and then process the scans into an extremely detailed 3D model which they would then use for depth measurement and comparison of the engraved runes.

Tools Used: Artec Eva & Space Spider

For more than a century now, historians and scientists have argued over when Vikings first came to America, and how far west they traveled. One of the key artifacts in this debate has been the Kensington Runestone, a 202-pound (92 kilos) stone unearthed by a Minnesota farmer in 1898. Carved with seemingly-ancient Scandinavian runes, if proven to be authentic, this artifact could change American history as we know it.

Two popular archaeologists, Blue Nelson and Mike Arbuthnot, hosts of the hit TV show America’s Lost Vikings, decided to take a closer look.

“Since the Runestone was first discovered in 1898, scientists have been divided over whether the carvings are actually 650 years old,” said Nelson.

Vikings are known to have crossed the Atlantic and settled, at least for a time, on the coast of Newfoundland, at L'Anse aux Meadows, around the year 1000. But the distance from there to Kensington, Minnesota, where the runestone was found tangled up in the roots of an aspen tree, is another 1,800 miles away. If and how the Vikings actually went that far is another question altogether.

Critics of the Runestone suggest that it was Olof Ohman, the Minnesota farmer who found the Runestone, who actually carved and then buried it, hoping to fool everyone into believing his counterfeit was the real deal.

The Runestone consists of two different kinds of stone, a harder mineral, greywacke, and a softer one, white calcite. Blue Nelson’s first reaction upon taking a closer look at the stone was that because the stone was found lying face down in damp soil, and had been there for more than six centuries, the runes carved into the softer calcite should show far more weathering than those chiseled into the greywacke stone.

But just looking at the stone with a small magnifying glass wasn’t going to give them any answers. They needed to accurately measure the precise depth and shapes of the carvings in high detail, so there would be no doubt remaining. That’s when they turned to 3D scanning.

3D scanning has proven itself time after time in the field of archaeology. Not only does it let us look deeper and far more clearly into artifacts and their intricate details, but because everything is being captured digitally and turned into highly dynamic 3D models, archaeologists are also able to share digital copies of these same artifacts, archive them for future research, and 3D print them in a variety of materials, even printing miniature or enlarged versions of the original.

The specialists at Laser Design were called in to provide their expert help with the scanning, bringing with them the handheld color 3D scanners Artec Eva and Artec Space Spider. The Kensington Runestone had been scanned in 3D in the past, but with nothing even close to the level of detail that Artec’s scanners bring. Eva boasts a point accuracy of up to .1 mm, while Space Spider delivers a breathtaking .05mm.

Kevin Shain of Laser Design assisted with the scanning, giving both Nelson and Arbuthnot a 10-minute crash course on how to scan. That was enough to get them up and going. Just a few minutes in, and they were already scanning like old pros.

“Artec scanners are the easiest that I’ve ever trained with, and new users of all skill levels are able to understand what to do and why very quickly,” said Shain.

“This is incredible…” said Nelson, “…totally non-invasive.” “This will be the highest resolution 3D model of the Kensington Runestone ever produced.”

As they scanned the Runestone, they watched the extremely detailed color images of the ancient runes come to life on the screen in real time.

The entire scan was completed in less than one hour. First, Eva was used for overall coverage and color detail of the stone. Then, to ensure the maximum level of detail, Space Spider was used on the individual runes themselves. Even though Space Spider is normally used for smaller objects, the Runestone’s large size (30 × 16 × 6 inches (76 × 41 × 15 cm)) was not a problem for the handheld scanner, which, together with the scan from Eva, easily captured all the data in under an hour.

“The amount of detail you got with that thing is incredible,” said Nelson, looking at the preview.

Post-processing of the scans was done in Artec Studio and took less than one hour for the initial color results. The final high resolution scans were completed in four hours, with the extra time taken to ensure that the 3D model was a seamless, perfect digital copy of the Kensington Runestone.

In the words of Laser Design’s 3D scanning expert Kevin Shain, here’s how the post processing was done: “Having only one day with the Runestone, I needed to work fast and accurately. After scanning, I aligned the Eva datasets together, did some outlier removal, then finished with sharp fusion. Next, I combined the data with the super high resolution Space Spider data.”

“The Space Spider and EVA data completely matched. I ran the last global registration on everything, followed by an outlier removal, and finally sharp fusion. The result was a complete, high resolution 3D model of the Kensington Runestone.”

Once they had the model in hand, the archaeologists performed a cross-sectional examination of the individual runes, comparing those in the soft calcite to the same letters carved in the hard greywacke.

They chose the letter V to focus on. In the soft calcite, the weathering was so significant that the letter appeared to be more like a U. And the calcite runes overall were 25% shallower than those in the greywacke.

“25% is what you would expect over about 130 years of wear,” said Blue Nelson, expressing his doubt that the stone had actually been lying face down in damp soil for the past 650 years.

But Mike Arbuthnot had his own ideas, “How do you know what the level of weathering would be over 125 years? Let’s assume that the story is real.”

So they agreed to disagree. Even though thanks to 3D scanning, the contrast between the Runestone carvings was crystal clear, it still didn’t solve the mystery. Further evidence was needed.

The rest of the episode is dedicated to their searching for that very evidence, as they recreate part of the supposed journey of the Vikings in Minnesota by rowing a small replica Viking boat in winter up the St. Louis River, as well as pay a visit an expert stone carver, to see if it would be possible for an everyday person to carve a similar runestone.

To learn more, tune in to watch the show here:

https://www.sciencechannel.com/tv-shows/americas-lost-vikings/

(episode 4, Ghosts of the Great Lakes)