科研前沿数字化:肯尼亚原始人类考古现场3D扫描

Artec团队来到肯尼亚图尔卡纳湖与世界知名的古生物学家一同完成史前动物与人类化石残骸的3D数字扫描工作。

图尔卡纳盆地研究院(TBI)对原始人类以及肯尼亚图尔卡纳湖附近的生活环境进行了一项研究。人类学家挖掘的残骸为几百年前的人类历史提供了大量宝贵信息。通过研究这些化石,科学家可以重构地球复杂的历史,揭秘生命一度繁盛的星球上的多种生命形态。

TBI的Louise Leakey解释道,“人类祖先的残骸只是我们所找到的化石中的1%。我们通常会收集到很多和原始人类同年代的猪、马、象、啮齿类动物和其他一些生物的遗骸。”多年来,TBI已挖掘、研究并保存了各类不同的化石,为肯尼亚国立博物馆做出不少贡献。

TBI研究设施内部。

同时,由于他们发现的化石数量越来越多,TBI始终面临着如何保存、记录、宣传过去和目前的考古发现的挑战。大多数保存技术都无法满足科学家和研究员希望记录原始数据的要求。例如,使用摄影技术测量物体间距并制成3D模型很有可能会模糊骨组织形态的图像。而3D扫描仪却可以以更高的分辨率捕获图像,生成高品质的可视数据。

2014年8月,Artec扫描专家二人组Denis Baev和Francisco Correa来到内罗毕北部库彼福勒的TBI研究所。在这里,他们亲眼见到了该地区的化石残骸,还了解了TBI的保存难题。Denis和Francisco为他们带去了两件Artec明星产品:Eva和Spider——强大的高精度手持3D扫描仪

跟随TBI团队一起,Denis和Francisco在拂晓时分就开始了一天的工作。行程第一站为希比罗依国家公园,这里因“史前巨兽”的化石收藏而闻名。大约200万年前,巨型乌龟、鳄鱼和大象都曾在这片土地出没。

通往第一个考古地的路程非常颠簸,开车数小时——没有道路,只能跟随一些小路前行。Denis和Francisco在这里近距离看到了史前巨型食肉动物——当然只是它的部分化石。

之前Louise已指导过Artec团队如何通过色彩、纹理和图案找到化石位置。Denis和Francisco略微调节搜索方式后,他们立刻发现当地几乎到处都是化石!

希比罗依国家公园内的化石。

30分钟后,他们找到了岩石撑起部分的大量鳄鱼头骨化石。这一物种可追溯至大约200万年前,且以易捕猎的哺乳动物为食。巨大的下颌说明它非常喜欢捕食肉质紧韧的纤维状食物。

团队到达后,这个古老的头骨似乎已经发生了变化。自Louise上一次来已经过去7年。和其他TBI的发现不同,这一头骨周围没有保护墙,不能抵御天气的影响。而且,10磅重的历史遗迹被翻动,显然不是任何天气原因导致;而是有人蓄意破坏,且造成了无法恢复的损伤。但是,我们还是用Eva开始扫描头骨的其余部分。

使用Artec Eva扫描史前鳄鱼残骸。

就在距离头骨不远处,还有另一座建筑,里面保存了另一具完整的鳄鱼骨架。Denis立刻对这一独特发现进行了3D扫描。他先使用Eva对骨架的整体进行了扫描,随后又使用Spider对躯体的细节部位进行扫描。史前鳄鱼的数字化工作整个过程仅仅花了20分钟——相比驾车去考古点的时间几乎不值一提。

Denis使用Artec Eva准备开始扫描

成品——鳄鱼化石的3D图像。

扫描完鳄鱼后,Denis随即前去扫描巨型乌龟的数码图像。这样第二天,他们就可以扫描巨型象Elephas recki,虽然它和今天的Elephas maximus(亚洲象)非常相似,但体型却格外庞大。

尽管巨大的化石很难移动,但是Artec 3D成像解决方案可以轻松实现现场扫描

化石残骸对科学家来说好比一座金矿。但是和提取相对简单的贵金属不同,这些巨型骨骼结构非常庞大又十分脆弱,不便移动。此外,考古点发现的化石及其周围环境可以给科学家带来诸多信息。确实,将出土的化石保留在挖掘地可以带来全方位的信息,需要不同领域的专家进行解读。这就是为什么TBI研究员需要和地质学家、遗传学家密切合作的原因。

但是像在图尔卡纳湖偏远地点采集的数据必须能够随时获取,才能实现跨领域合作。得益于3D数码影像技术,分享、保护这些研究发现对于顶尖科学家来说已成为日常的习惯。

例如。Louise和她的团队几乎每天使用Artec Eva和Spider。有时,他们甚至还会为访问研究员演示Artec扫描仪,让研究员意识到扫描仪对于田野工作的重要性。目前,他们还使用Artec扫描仪对博物馆收藏的化石残片进行3D扫描。

TBI的保护工作与谷歌的Art Project文物数字化工作非常相似。谷歌Art Project项目始于2011年,为参与的博物馆提供了虚拟网络入口。项目展示了艺术界中最珍贵作品的高分辨率图像,而Artec在其中发挥了重要作用

待进行3D扫描的出土遗骸

TBI研究员相信每个人都应当有权利获得数年来图尔卡纳湖附近发现的化石资料和样本信息。但不幸的是,3D数字形式的样品册——更不用说复杂详细、带有纹理的头骨或牙齿碎片——历来都有技术困难,且价格昂贵,直到最近才解决了这些问题。在Leakey的采访中,她分享了使用图像捕获的不同技术:“过去我们使用扫描仪,显然还有摄影测量术,但是文物往往有大量细节,且捕捉的准确度难以把控。你们的Artec手持扫描仪操作起来非常快捷,和几年前相比,可以实现更多的任务和目标。”

Artec Spider扫描的拥有190万年历史的智人头骨。

Artec Spider捕获了鲍氏傍人下颌骨细节和纹理的3D图像。

Artec 3D扫描仪让观众可以和古老的生命面对面。高分辨率的捕获能力带来了栩栩如生的复制品,可以在线保存和展示,也可以3D打印。此外,扫描仪快速、灵活、便携、便捷。Leakey赞同道,“在电脑上存有一份化石副本,还可以查看。我们过去绝对办不到这一点。可以捕捉到这么多细节,绝对是一大进步。现在我们甚至可以在偏远地带完成扫描。理想情况下,如果我们以前就拥有像今天一样的扫描技术,我们就可以在挖掘的同时或发现地表异常的同时扫描,记录下每个小时甚至每天的细节。我们就能基本记录下整个过程了。”配备Artec拥有超长续航能力的电池组,即便远离电源,长时间现场作业也成为了可能。

仅花30分钟完成扫描,并通过Artec自动对齐算法模型完成无缝后期处理。

科研的世界,包括科研领域自身,历来仅限于在全球博物馆和一些优质实验室内活动。这样的做法将大众与化石标本隔绝了起来。拥有大量藏品的TBI最近开创了先河。博物馆和实验室的物品几乎不流动,但一旦通过数字化途径建成模型,它们就可以被无限次复制,一键鼠标就能在全球范围内传播了。如此,3D扫描便为博物馆和实验室的展品铺就了走出来的道路,还将当前的研究发现带入了数字媒体的世界。

标有测量信息和标注的巨型乌龟3D龟壳。

事实上,这正是Louise创立African Fossils的灵感,这是一个提供TBI虚拟实验室体验的网站。组合使用一系列3D捕获工具,包括Artec 3D扫描仪,她现在已经将TBI的研究带给寻常百姓以及全世界的实验室。

这项技术为探讨人类历史打开了新的渠道。在一次Artec采访中,Louise断言:“我认为目前是一个很好的机遇,如果我们能开始扫描化石,这样不仅可以通过数字方式记录偏远站点的藏品,更重要的是,我们还能让世界任何地方的 人更加近距离地观赏和探索。”结合Artec扫描仪的成像能力和互联网无限的传播能力,那些阻碍科学对话的地域限制将不复存在!

欢迎咨询

Digitizing the frontiers of research: 3D scanning at hominid excavation sites in Kenya

Team Artec takes to Lake Turkana, Kenya to work alongside world-famous paleontologists 3D digitizing fossilized remains of prehistoric animals and hominids.

The Turkana Basin Institute (TBI) conducts research on our hominid ancestors and their surroundings near Kenya’s Lake Turkana. The remains anthropologists dig up are a vast source of information about life millions of years ago. By examining them, scientists can reconstruct our planet’s complex history and demystify the nature of life forms that once populated Earth.

TBI’s Louise Leakey explains, “Obviously the hominids, human ancestors represent 1% of all the different fossils that we find. We’re often more collecting pigs, horses, elephants, rodents and all sorts of other things which coexisted with our human ancestors.” For years, TBI has unearthed, studied, and preserved these sundry objects, adding immensely to the collection at Kenya’s National Museum.

Inside TBI’s research facility.

Meanwhile, as they locate more and more fossils, TBI continues to face challenges in their efforts to preserve, record, and publicize both old and new findings. Most techniques of preservation tend to run short of what scientists and researchers require to properly record raw data. For example, the use of photography to measure distances between objects to create three-dimensional models is prone to produce blurred images of bone morphology. 3D scanners, on the other hand, can capture images in higher resolution, generating high-quality visual data.

In August 2014, Artec’s expert scanning duo, Denis Baev and Francisco Correa, arrived at TBI’s facilities in Koobi Fora, north of Nairobi. There they got a first-hand look at the region’s fossils and learned about TBI’s challenges as preservationists. Denis and Francisco brought with them two of Artec’s star performers: Eva and Spider – powerful, handheld, high-resolution 3D scanners.

Like TBI fellows, Denis and Francisco kicked off their day at the break of dawn. The first leg of their trip brought them to Sibiloi National Park, an area known to contain a fossil collection of “prehistoric giants.” Nearly two million years ago, giant tortoises, crocodiles, and elephants wandered on this stretch of land.

The drive to the first excavation site lasted several bumpy hours – no roads, just tracks to follow. There Denis and Francisco came face to face with one of prehistory’s giant predators – well, only a fossilized piece of it.

Earlier Louise had instructed Team Artec on how to spot fossils by color, texture, and pattern. And after some adjustment to the way Denis and Francisco had been surveying the area, it became evident that fossils lay here, there, and pretty much everywhere!

Fossils at the Sibiloi National Park.

After thirty minutes, they managed to locate a massive fossilized crocodile skull propped up on rocks. Dating as far back as almost two million years ago, this prehistoric species probably feasted on unsuspecting mammals. Its enormous jaw suggests a diet of tough, fibrous meat.

When the team arrived, the ancient skull seemed changed. Seven years had passed since Louise last visited the site. Unlike other TBI findings, this skull did not have walls built around to protect it from the weather. Still, no weather condition could have tossed and turned this ten-pound fragment of history; someone had evidently disrupted it, and the damage was sadly irreversible. Nevertheless, we set about scanning what remained of the skull with Eva.

Using Artec Eva to scan the remains of a prehistoric crocodile.

A short distance away from the skull stood a building where a complete skeleton of another crocodile was kept. Denis immediately took to 3D capturing this unique find. He used Eva to scan the entirety of the skeleton, then our Spider to scan smaller, more detailed parts of the body. It took all but a brief twenty-minute session to digitize the prehistoric crocodile – a mere fraction of the time we had spent just trying to get to the excavation site!

Denis geared up and scanning with Artec Eva.

The result – a 3D image of the fossilized crocodile.

After scanning the crocodiles, Denis went off to snap a digital image of a giant tortoise. He saved the following day for the massive Elephas recki, a giant elephant similar to, but significantly larger than the modern-day Elephas maximus (Asian elephant).

While the size of fossils can make them difficult to move, they’re easy to scan on-site with Artec’s 3D imaging solutions.

Fossilized remains are a goldmine to scientists. But unlike the precious metal, which can be extracted with relative ease, these gigantic skeletal structures are simply too big and fragile to move. Moreover, fossils left at their site of discovery reveal much more to the scientists investigating both the objects and their surroundings. Indeed, keeping fossils where they were exhumed generates valuable contextual data that require experts in a variety of disciplines to unpack and understand. This is why TBI researchers need to collaborate closely with geologists and geneticists, among others.

But for interdisciplinary collaboration to happen, data culled from such remotely located sites, like Lake Turkana, need to be accessible. Thanks to advancements in 3D digital imaging, sharing and preserving research findings have become everyday practices for leading scientists.

For example, Louise and her team use Artec’s Eva and Spider practically every day. Sometimes they even demonstrate Artec’s scanners to visiting researchers, who later decide they need them for their own fieldwork. Currently, they are using Artec scanners to 3D scan fossil pieces that have been sitting in the museum collection.

TBI’s preservation efforts resemble some of Google’s Art Project to digitize artifacts. Google Art Project began in 2011 and acts as a virtual portal into the galleries of participating museums. It displays high-resolution images of some of the most prized possessions of the art world, featuring Artec Eva in its efforts to do so.

Excavated remains that still need to be 3D scanned.

TBI researchers believe that everyone should have easy access to the information they have accrued over years of fossil finding and cataloging near Lake Turkana. Unfortunately, cataloging in 3D digital form – let alone of those as complex, detailed, and textured as skull and teeth fragments – was technologically difficult and prohibitively expensive until recently. In our interview with Leakey, she shared her experience with using different techniques for digital image capturing: “I know that the scanners we were using before and obviously with photogrammetry, it’s… there’s only so much detail and how much accuracy you capture from that. Your handheld Artec scanners are actually very quick capturing, and it enables you to do a lot more than you could have done even just a couple years ago.”

1.9 million-year old skull of H. habilis that was 3D scanned with Artec Spider.

Artec Spider 3D captured the details and texture of this Paranthropus boisei mandible.

Artec’s 3D scanners help bring viewers face to face with ancient life. Their high-resolution capturing capabilities result in stunningly life-like digital replicas that can be stored, displayed online, or 3D printed. In addition, they offer their users speed, flexibility, portability, and ease of use. Leakey agrees, “To be able to have a replica of fossils on a computer and to be able to look at them. We’ve never been able to do that. It was a huge breakthrough to be able to capture that much detail. Now we’re able to scan in the middle of nowhere. Ideally, if we’d been able to scan, which we can do now, as we find something on the surface, as we excavate it, we can actually get detail day by day or hour by hour. You could actually document the whole process.” And with Artec’s unrivaled, long-lasting battery pack, documenting on-site away from energy sources for extended periods of time has become a definite possibility.

Just 30 minutes to scan and seamless post-processing with Artec’s auto align algorithm.

The realm of research, besides the field itself, has traditionally been confined to museum spaces and select laboratories around the world. This has kept fossilized objects in relative isolation from the public. TBI’s considerable collection had been no exception until recently. Museum and lab pieces seldom travel, but once digitally re-modeled, they can be infinitely replicated and distributed across the world at the click of a button. In this vein, 3D scanning has paved roads out of the cloisters of museums and labs, and introduced current research findings to the world of digital media.

3D rendered shell of a Giant Tortoise with measurement and annotation.

In fact, this was what inspired Louise to launch African Fossils, a website that virtualizes the laboratory experience at TBI. Using a combination of 3D capturing tools, including Artec 3D scanners, she now brings TBI’s research findings closer to home and laboratories across the world.

This kind of technology opens up new avenues for conversing about human history. In an interview with Artec, Louise affirms: “And so I felt we really had a chance now, if we began to scan the fossils not only as a digital record of the collections that are held in these more remote stations but to enable people anywhere in the world to explore and look at them in more detail.” Combine the imaging power of Artec scanners and the limitless reach of the Internet, and the geographic distances that stifle scientific dialog virtually disappear!

Ask a question