Artec Eva制作匹配完美的矫形器械,并节省90%的时间

概要:荷兰一家定制矫形器械制造商过去一直使用石膏模型、卡尺、卷尺、手画图稿这样的传统方式。但传统方式往往耗时很久,且问题重重。

目标:通过手持式3D扫描仪,在矫形器械与支架定制过程中,摆脱为客户腿部或其他部位进行浇铸、测量、手画模型等繁琐步骤。

使用工具:Artec Eva, Artec Studio

或许没有其他领域像医学一样,对创新如此重视。因此,当一项新技术出现并带来合适的解决方案时,专家们便会欣然接受,并进一步拓展。

或许没有其他领域像医学一样,对创新如此重视。因此,当一项新技术出现并带来合适的解决方案时,专家们便会欣然接受,并进一步拓展。Orthin公司(Achilleon Zorg的一部分)在过去近20年来,始终赞成3D扫描技术的应用。

Orthin位于荷兰,在传统方法失效的领域带来深远影响。特别是专门用于为客户定制一些列矫形产品,从护膝到脊柱侧凸患者的矫形胸衣。在这一领域,精度是是否能满足患者医疗需求的关键。毕竟,人各有异,他们对于矫形修复辅助器的需求也不尽相同。例如来自Orthin 的Karel Wilbrink等一些矫形技师,深刻认识到这一点,他们承认,这一技术带来的并不仅仅是精确的测量效果,更是对患者的健康福祉至关重要。

因此,Orthin选择了来自Artec 3D的最新3D扫描仪。

“我们现在使用的Artec Eva和其他设备帮助我们节省了总体时间”

Artec 3D总部位于卢森堡,多年来始终是市场领先的3D扫描技术制造商,帮助众多行业领域提升并优化设计与生产方式,带来跨越式的影响。

自Artec 3D进入3D市场以来,它已成为“极致精度”、“高分辨率图像”和“使用便捷”的代名词。这也正是为何Artec出色的软硬件产品在全世界范围内深受追捧的原因。这些年来,Artec 3D扫描仪用户越发依赖它的人性化设计、便携性、操作简易性。无论您在Orthin是经验丰富的专家还是不断尝试的新人,这些已不再重要,Artec 3D解决方案都能无缝融入您的设计和制造过程中。

当然,此话真假还需亲自体验,Orthin很高兴地表示,在使用Artec的Eva扫描仪后,公司降低了修复辅助器设计和制作90% 的时间、劳力和成本,出色得让人难以置信!

Artec Eva加入前,Orthin曾使用传统石膏模型来制作矫形修复器械。这一过程往往包含好些步骤。首先,技师需要使用石膏“复制”患者的身体部位或他们以前使用的修复器械。随后,再使用卷尺和卡尺测出物体的几何——这是一个相当耗时的步骤,而且生成的数据质量一般,容易出错,精度不高。最后,记录完成后,将测量数据与平面图和复制品的照片结合。总之,这些数据将用于最终产品。

让Orthin高兴的是,Artec Eva完全没有这些问题!同时,它还能提升测量值的质量,提高数据价值。

让Orthin高兴的是,Artec Eva完全没有这些问题!同时,它还能提升测量值的质量,提高数据价值。

“我们现在使用的Artec Eva和其他设备帮助我们节省了总体时间、降低了过去处理一个订单的时间,减少了劳力成本,因为扫描和从扫描数据建模的生产方式,比传统方式需要的人力更少,”Karel说道。

Orthin对于Artec Eva的信心主要来自于扫描仪两大优势,它们都高效满足了Orthin和患者的需求。

首先是误差最小化——停止使用低效的手动测量法后,技师可大幅提升精确度。此外,技师也可以弃用各类测量工具和设备。可以说,Artec Eva为技师带来了精简的一站式解决方案,只需对准物体,开始扫描,即可解决一系列问题。Artec Eva全程自动,以16fps的速度捕获几何,并以高分辨率复制图像,色彩鲜艳,纹理清晰。

其次是便携度——Artec Eva功能强大但身材苗条,重量不到2磅,且完全可以手持。配合使用Artec电池组,您可以在没有外接电源的情况下,连续工作6小时。Eva还可兼容平板电脑,使其成为真正的便携扫描仪。对Orthin而言,这对用户而言就是一大优势。若无法前往Orthin办公室,客户也能选择在舒适的家庭环境中完成扫描。

Karel仔细介绍了Eva的出现对Orthin经营模式的改变。

“这是我们全新的工作方式:客户可以随时接受扫描。几乎没有地点限制,甚至可以在家中完成,在扫描件附近,我们还会列出客户的个性化需求。回到办公室,这些原始数据可存储在内部服务器上,还可存为stl文件。之后,我们就可以使用矫形软件制作模具,或制成可切削、3D打印的成品。”

Orthin还提及,使用Artec Eva扫描完全不需要和患者进行肢体接触——这和Orthin过去的传统石膏方式形成鲜明对比。过去,使用石膏制作模具往往是一场脏兮兮的持久战。而对患者,尤其是儿童而言,过程又是“极不愉快、令人压抑不安”, Karel说道。但现在,“为客户扫描,过程整洁快速,再也不用接触患者肢体了。”

Orthin完成扫描后,技师们便在Artec Studio中通过后期处理工具合成3D图像。

Orthin完成扫描后,技师们便在Artec Studio中通过后期处理工具合成3D图像。

实际上,这个环节的工作量取决于用户。若使用自动模式,Studio可以帮助用户解决如何处理所捕获的数据。这样,即便新员工也能顺利使用这款软件。或者,对一些有经验的用户,又或是喜欢探索的用户,也可以全权自由操控后期处理,尝试Studio的可选高级设置。简言之,Studio正是为各类不同难易程度的需求而生,提供了完整的操作功能。

Orthin专业技师加上游刃有余的软件操作,使得包含多项步骤的后期处理在Artec studio强大灵活的设计下方便好用,Karel如此描述道。

 “我们先完成所有必要步骤,对齐扫描,然后进行全局配准。接着,我们根据不同需求,进行融合。由于患者不能在捕获过程中全程保持静止,因此,我们常常会发现外形上面存在差异,扫描件也往往不能完全对齐。这时,我们就能选择进行一项名为“非刚性”对齐,即将第二个外形与第一个外形结合。我们还可以进行最后的修缮,使用去特征等工具。最后,我们会使用编辑定位工具来调整矫形修复器的位置,以符合基准点。”

Orthin秉承不断开拓的精神,通过Eva了解矫形产品的各个发展阶段,将革命性的3D方式推向全新高度。Karel说道,“我们现已能够对比最终产品和原始扫描数据的区别,并适当调整体积和形状。这一检查步骤可以避免不必要的错误,也能不断在过程中自我学习。”通过逆向工程,Orthin能够评估最终产品和原始扫描的测量差异,制作出更准确的数据集。

Orthin的创新行为已广为流传,Karel表示。

“业内有诸多有关患者的积极报道。我们也收到来自全国各地的产品申请。此外,我们的3D产品也在合作领域中,获得矫形康复医生的高度认可。我们在3D领域内的专业知识和技能也受人尊重,格罗宁根大学医学中心正与我们寻求合作,与矫形科研发一款用于交叉韧带重建的手术器械。目前,我们已获得欧盟对此创新项目的资助。”

尽管Orthin已硕果累累,他们依然没有停止创新的步伐,继续Artec 3D解决方案在矫形领域的应用。确实,我们也认为一切才刚刚开始…

联系我们

Creating customized orthopedics products using Artec Eva

Perhaps in no other field does innovation matter more than in medicine. So, when a novel technique comes along, offering fitting solutions, professionals ought to embrace and build upon them.

Perhaps in no other field does innovation matter more than in medicine. So, when a novel technique comes along, offering fitting solutions, professionals ought to embrace and build upon them. For its part, Orthin Ltd. (part of Achilleon Zorg) has been championing use of 3D scanning technology in the field of orthopedics for nearly two decades.

Located in the Netherlands, Orthin creates impact where traditional methods have fallen short. In particular, they specialize in customizing a wide range of orthopedic products for their clients, from knee braces to orthopedic corsets for patients with scoliosis. In this field, ensuring precision is essential to fulfilling the medical needs of patients. After all, each person is unique, and their demands on their prosthetic and orthotic aids will, naturally, differ. Orthopedic technicians, like Karel Wilbrink from Orthin, fully acknowledge this and understand not only the value that precise measurements bring to business, but more importantly, the importance they hold for the well-being of their customers.

This is why Orthin has opted for state-of-the-art 3D scanners from Artec 3D.

“We now use the Artec Eva scanners and these devices help us to increase productivity by saving time”

Based in Luxembourg, Artec 3D has been a leading 3D scanning technology maker for years, helping a broad spectrum of industries enhance and optimize their design and production methods. And it does so by remarkable leaps and bounds.

Since its breakthrough into the 3D market, Artec 3D has grown to become synonymous with top-notch precision, high-res image output, and ease of use. It’s all the reason why Artec’s impressive line of hardware and software tools is sought out around the world. Throughout the years, users of Artec 3D scanners have come to rely on their intuitive design, portability, and ease of operation. It hardly matters whether you’re an experienced pro at Orthin or an experimenting beginner, Artec 3D solutions can be integrated seamlessly into any design and manufacturing context.

Of course, the proof of the pudding is in the eating, and Orthin is excited to report that having used Artec’s Eva scanner, the company has performed an unbelievable feat of cutting time, labor, and costs in the design and manufacture of prosthetic aids by an astounding 90%!

Prior to Artec Eva’s arrival, Orthin used to employ a traditional plaster mold method when creating prosthetic and orthotic articles. The process involved multiple stages. First, technicians would “copy” a part of the patient’s body or his or her previous prosthetic aid using plaster. Second, tape measures and calipers helped with obtaining the object’s geometry – a rather time-consuming step that generated results which were mediocre, prone to errors, and lacking in accuracy. Finally, once recorded, the measurement data would be combined with two-dimensional drawings and photographs of the copied object. All in all, these data served to bring about form to the final product.

To Orthin’s delight, Artec Eva did away with all this! At the same time, it elevated the bar on quality of measurement and value of data.

To Orthin’s delight, Artec Eva did away with all this! At the same time, it elevated the bar on quality of measurement and value of data.

“We now use the Artec Eva scanners and these devices help us to increase productivity by saving time, lowering the time for processing the order and reduce the labor costs because scanning and creating a mold for production from the scan requires less labor than the traditional way of doing it,” Karel reports.

Orthin’s confident reliance on Artec Eva stems from two key benefits that effectively meet the needs of Orthin and its patients.

First, error minimization – by eliminating the ineffectual method of measuring by hand, technicians improve accuracy drastically. Also, technicians can dispose of their large range of measuring tools and devices. In their place, Artec Eva gives technicians a single, streamlined solution that tackles an array of problems through simple point and shoot. Artec Eva automates it all, capturing geometries at speeds of 16 fps and replicating them in high resolution images with brilliant colors and textures.

Second, portability – powerful but slim, Artec Eva weighs at just under 2 lbs. and is completely handheld. Tack on an Artec battery pack, and you can scan away without need of a nearby power source for up to 6 hours. Eva also boasts tablet compatibility, making it truly mobile. For Orthin, this translates into a huge advantage for customers. When unable to visit Orthin’s office, customers can elect to have the scan done in the comfort of their own home.

Karel details the way Orthin’s mode of operation has changed with Eva’s arrival.

“This is now the new way that we do our job: the client is scanned wherever this is needed. This can be done at every location possible, even at their home, and next to the scan, we list the individual wishes of the client. Back in the office, the raw data is saved on an internal server. Then it is saved as an stl-file. After that we use our orthopedic software to create a mold or the end-product can be milled or 3D-printed.”

Orthin also notes that scanning with Artec Eva requires virtually no direct physical contact with the individual patient – a stark contrast to Orthin’s bygone plaster method. Previously, creating molds with plaster was a slow and frequently messy undertaking. And the experience for the patient, in particular children, could also be “unpleasant, oppressive, and intimidating,” according to Karel. But now, “scanning our customers is clean, fast, and physical contact with the customer is a thing of the past.”

Once Orthin finishes scanning, its technicians run the gathered 3D images through the post-processing tools in Artec Studio.

Once Orthin finishes scanning, its technicians run the gathered 3D images through the post-processing tools in Artec Studio.

Here the amount of work depends on the user. With its autopilot function, Studio unburdens the user of having to figure out how to process the captured data. This makes the software ideally suited for newcomers. Alternatively, those with a bit more experience or a more adventurous spirit can exert full control and flexibility over post-processing by dipping into Studio’s optional advanced settings. In short, Studio is designed to give a full range of operations to suit the most and the least demanding of needs.

With expert technicians at Orthin and their more nuanced use of the software, their post-processing can involve multiple steps that Studio’s powerful yet flexible design smoothly facilitates, as Karel describes.

“We do all the steps necessary and align the different scans before we perform Global Registration. Then we do a Fusion depending on the demands we have. As patients do not always keep completely still during capture, we encounter a lot of variations in shape and scans do not always align properly. Here we have the option to perform a so-called non-rigid alignment where the second shape is made to fit the first shape. We also have the option to do the last fine tuning, using tools such as Defeature tool. The very last thing we do is use the Editor Positioning Tool to adjust the position of our orthosis or prosthesis to the world-zero point.”

True to its pioneering spirit, Orthin has taken its revolutionary 3D methods to a new height by using Eva to learn about stages of the orthopedic product’s development. Karel reports, “We are now able to compare the end-product with the original scan data to check and adjust the volume and shape. This check prevents mistakes and makes the work process self-learning.” Through reverse engineering, Orthin can evaluate the difference in measurements between the final product and the original scan, allowing for an even more accurate data set.

Word of Orthin’s innovative techniques has spread, Karel says.

“There are very positive reports from the field and that is primarily the patients. We receive applications for our products from all over the country. In addition, our 3D products receive a lot of praise from both orthopedics and rehabilitation doctors in the hospitals where we work. We are so esteemed for our knowledge and expertise in the 3D area that we have even been asked by the University Medical Center Groningen (UMCG) to develop an operation instrument for the reconstruction of cruciate ligaments together with the orthopedic department. We have now received a European subsidy for this innovation.”

Regardless of its already numerous achievements, Orthin is clearly showing no signs of ending its innovative streak in its application of Artec 3D solutions to orthopedics. Indeed, we may be seeing just the beginning…

Contact us