Artec Eva与Spider优化矫形修复行业发展

概要:一位矫形修复专家希望找到一款最佳3D扫描解决方案,更迅速地制作精密矫形修复产品,同时降低制作总成本。

目标:在2-5分钟内,使用专业手持式彩色3D扫描仪对患者手臂、腿部或其他身体部位进行数字捕获,随后修整,完成3D模型,最后制作/3D打印出定制版矫形修复器械。

使用工具:Artec Eva, Artec Space Spider

一位矫形修复专家希望找到一款最佳3D扫描解决方案,更迅速地制作精密矫形修复产品,同时降低制作总成本。

2017年,全球矫形修复市场规模达到81.5亿美元。由于人口老龄化、运动损伤以及糖尿病患者引起的截肢和骨癌病例的增长,其市场规模仍在逐年上升。2050年,预计60岁以上人口将增长一倍,从2017年的9.62亿增长到2050年的21亿。

随着矫形修复市场需求的增加,政府医保计划和保险公司开始更严格地审查理赔案例,不再像过去一样轻易赔付巨款。对于矫形修复专家而言,这意味着更少的利润空间,同时也意味着他们需要提供和药店不同的符合需求的解决方案。

明尼苏达威尔玛的Hagen Orthotics & Prosthetics就是一家矫形修复公司。公司负责人Warren Hagen是一位资深认证矫形师和修复师,希望能专注于为患者提供最佳矫形修复解决方案。他相信技术在其中发挥着关键作用,过去多年来使用的技术并非最佳途径。每一天,他都深入了解患者的方方面面,期望能为他们带来更优质的产品和服务。

于是,我们想到了3D扫描。几年前还只是科幻迷的美梦,如今已成现实。患者就坐,放松身体,然后使用手持式3D扫描仪扫描患者的腿部、足部、手臂或其他部位。通常这一过程仅需要2-5分钟。随后,这些扫描将数据转换成3D模型,用于3D打印或打磨机,用EVA泡沫或其他材料“雕刻”出矫形器。所有这些工作都可在办公室完成。而作品的精确度、成本效益、产品质量都令人赞叹不已。

“从扫描仪到打磨机,每一步都节省了30%的时间,” Warren Hagen表示,“长期来看,整体成本节省将远超30%。”

但并非每次都能带来这样的效果。他们在过去几年用过多种不同的3D扫描仪,如Amfit,但经过全面调研,他们最终选定了Artec Eva与Spider这两款专业彩色3D扫描仪,它们已被广泛运用于医疗科研等不同领域。两款产品均采用100%安全的结构光技术,对操作员和患者而言,均是一款理想的解决方案。Eva是从金牌授权经销商Laser Design处购得,Spider从授权经销商Rapidscan 3D处购得。

“每台Artec扫描仪都能协助我们制作出色的模型,”Hagen表示,“Eva非常适合扫描大面积身体部位,Space Spider则适合为细节部位建模。”

过去没有3D扫描科技时,每次设计矫形修复产品,我们都要先用石膏和纤维玻璃为患者制作模具。当然这些方法在需要时依然可行,但它们往往会把场面搞得混乱不堪,还极其耗时,相比于制作精准的数字3D扫描,石膏铸造法平均要花2-5倍的时间(每份扫描约为2-5分钟,铸模法约为11分钟)。成本效益也十分惊人,普通铸造法光材料就要花费50美元,更不用说制作过程所涉及的劳动力。而制作3D扫描,一份数据仅需几美元。

“我们许多患者都是老年人,为了铸模静坐很久对他们而言很不舒适,”Hagen,“所以Eva和Space Spider的优点就凸显出来了……只需要静坐几分钟,显著提高了舒适度。”

近年来,患者满意度从“满意”提升为“很受关注”。Hagen解释道,“我们的患者很快就明白,这不是他们可以从药店直接买到的商品……这是一款为他们特别定制的,完美贴合他们的生理解剖结构和生活方式,而且还能持久耐用。自由活动是一项重要能力,尤其对于老年人而言。所以我们希望能让他们依然舒适地享受这种状态。他们也是和亲友这样表达的。”

目前,我们的工作流程如下:患者到达后,接受评估,主要是身体检查、言语功能、病例等等;随后用Eva或Space Spider扫描患者的手臂、腿部或其他身体部位,随后,直接在Artec Studio中处理扫描数据,将其整合成3D模型,若是足部扫描,该模型还会以STL文件格式发送至Fitfoot360(一款矫形器定制设计程序)或Meshmixer进行其他身体部位(腿部、手臂)模型的处理,完成后,将3D模型发送至Aspire软件,准备将3D模型用于雕刻,最后发送至Freedom打磨机进行最终雕刻。

最终版3D模型还会被发送至Simplify用于3D打印。制作矫形器时,雕刻完成后,粘上顶盖,将待用矫形器给患者试用。3D打印期间,通常也会设计制作腿部、腕部、足部或手部的支架。

“而且我们的精确度也无懈可击,每次都不会令人失望,这点让人颇为惊喜,”Hagen说道,“Eva和Space Spider的扫描程序也轻而易举,您可以在Artec Studio的屏幕上直接看到扫描结果,这样的话,您就能确保捕获到所有数据,因为一切都是实时的。”

他们还在一项叫做“Shell Offset”的工艺中使用Eva和Space Spider。这项工艺需要扫描某个特定身体部位,如手臂或腿部,随后将3D模型发送至如Meshmixer这样的程序中。例如,若一位患者摔断了右臂,他们便会使用Eva扫描她的左臂(Space Spider用于较小的身体部位),因为左臂还是笔直完整的。随后,左臂在软件中进行镜像处理,使其看起来就像患者的右臂。如此一来,左右臂就能达到令人满意的对称程度了。

之后,对这只新手臂的3D模型进行修正,移除瑕疵和缺陷,或在瘦削之处或关节处增加肌肉。这么做是为了在打印出来后,为支架增加一些舒适区。于是,手臂的数字复制品“外壳”就算完成了,然后再调整尺寸,达到所需要的厚度。3D数字手臂通过x、y、z轴调整大小。随后,在软件中选中修改后的手臂和外壳,在Meshmixer中使用布尔差分编辑命令制作空心壳体/支架套。

“这就是我们完美制作的壳体、保护套和保护罩,”Hagen说道,“我们还会增加一些其他步骤,比如在关键易断点做一些加强保护,我们还会使用软件修正支架周围,确保患者可以自如活动。最后,我们将支架发送至3D打印机。”

“根据患者的使用情况、支架设计和使用的材料,我们的支架可以耐用数月,甚至数年。”Hagen Orthotics & Prosthetics使用最高品质的材料例如EVA、MDF,以及各种塑料例如PETG、PLA、共聚物、聚丙烯和PCTPE。“显然,外婆和320磅的中后卫需要不同的材料,我们很高兴我们能为他们,或者说任何人,提供他们所需要的服务。”

Warren Hagen和Artec Spider制作的3D打印版踝足矫形器

联系我们

Creating Optimal Orthotics and Prosthetics with Artec Eva and Spider

Summary: An orthotics and prosthetics specialist needed to find the best 3D scanning solution for making precision O&P products faster while reducing overall production costs.

The Goal: To use a professional handheld color 3D scanner to digitally capture patients' arms, legs, or other body parts in 2-5 minutes, modify, convert to 3D models, and mill/3D print as custom orthoses and prostheses.

Tools Used: Artec Eva, Artec Space Spider

An orthotics and prosthetics specialist needed to find the best 3D scanning solution for making precision O&P products faster while reducing overall production costs.

The global orthotics and prosthetics (O&P) market was estimated at $8.15 billion in 2017. That number is rising worldwide every year due to an aging population, an increase in sports- and fitness-related injuries, as well as a growing volume of diabetes-related amputations and bone cancer. By the year 2050, the number of people age 60 and over is expected to double, soaring from 962 million in 2017 to 2.1 billion in 2050.

As demand for O&P products climbs, government medical plans and insurance companies have been scrutinizing claims more closely than ever before, not simply paying out as they once did. What this means for O&P specialists is tighter margins and focusing on delivering solutions that are both highly needed and not available over the counter.

One such O&P practice is Hagen Orthotics & Prosthetics of Willmar, Minnesota. The owner, Warren Hagen, a combat veteran and certified Orthotist and Pedorthist, has made it his focus and passion to deliver the very best O&P solutions to his patients. He believes that technology plays a crucial role in this, because what has worked for many years is not always what works best. On a day to day basis, with his close involvement during every facet of his practice, he’s always looking for ways to make their products and service better than they were the day before.

Which brings us to 3D scanning. What would only have been a sci-fi fan’s dream a few years ago has today become a reality. Patients sit down, relax, and have their legs or feet or arms or other body parts scanned with a handheld 3D scanner. This usually takes just 2 to 5 minutes. Then these scans are converted into 3D models destined for either a 3D printer or a specialized router that “carves” orthoses out of EVA foam and other materials. All this is done right there in the office. And the levels of precision, cost savings, and quality of the products have been remarkable.

“With each of the steps from scanner all the way to using the router, the time savings is at least 30%,” said Warren Hagen, “and in the long run, total savings in costs have been well beyond 30%.”

But it wasn’t always this way. They have used various 3D scanners over the years, such as Amfit, yet after careful research, they finally settled on Artec Eva and Spider, two professional color 3D scanners that are well-known for their use in the medical and scientific fields and other industries. Both scanners use 100%-safe structured light, making them perfect for the medical field, for technicians as well as patients. Eva was purchased from Gold Certified reseller Laser Design, and Spider from Certified reseller Rapidscan 3D.

“Each of our Artec scanners provides us with the level of ability to produce incredible models to work with,” said Hagen, “Eva is the best for working with larger body parts, and Space Spider is perfect for cast models and smaller, more detailed projects.”

When it came to designing O&P products in the past, prior to 3D scanning, what that meant was using plaster and fiberglass to make casts for patients. While these technologies are certainly still an option if needed, they are messy and time consuming, with plaster casting taking on average 200% to 500% of the time that it takes to do a precise digital 3D scan (2-5 minutes for a scan, versus 11 minutes for a cast). Cost savings are equally impressive, with an average cast costing more than $50 in materials, not to mention the labor costs associated with its creation. While the cost of a 3D scan is a mere handful of dollars in comparison.

“Many of our patients are elderly, and having to sit still for a cast is not something so comfortable for them,” said Hagen, “and that’s where Eva and Space Spider really shine…having to sit still for just a couple of minutes makes a big difference in their comfort level.”

And in recent years, the increase in patient satisfaction has climbed from “satisfied” to “devoted.” Hagen explained, “Our patients quickly see that this is simply not something they can buy over the counter…it’s a custom product designed exactly for them, created to perfectly match their anatomy and their lifestyle, and it’s going to last them a long time. Mobility is so important, especially when we get older. And we’re giving that back to them, with real comfort. They’re telling their friends and family about this.”

What the current work process looks like is as follows: the patient comes in and is evaluated, which involves a physical exam, verbal, patient history, and so on; then the patient’s arm or leg or other body part is scanned with either Eva or Space Spider, where the scans are done directly in Artec Studio, which is where the scans are stitched together and processed into a 3D model, and in the case of a foot scan, this model is sent as an STL file to Fitfoot360 (a custom orthotics design program), or to Meshmixer for other body parts (leg, arm, etc.), and following either one of those, the 3D model is sent on to Aspire software to prepare the 3D model for carving, then on to the Freedom router for carving.

The final 3D model can also be sent to Simplify, for 3D printing. In the case of an orthosis, after carving, the top cover is glued on, and the ready product is taken to the patient for fitting. In terms of 3D printing, the practice is also regularly designing and creating braces for legs, wrists, feet, and hands.

“The level of precision we’re talking about is unbeatable, and the fact that we can deliver it every time, without question, is something we just can’t ignore,” said Hagen, “And scanning with Eva and Space Spider is as easy as 1-2-3, where you see the scan right there on the screen in Artec Studio, so you know exactly that your scan is capturing all the data, because you see it happening in real time.”

They also have been using Eva and Space Spider for a process they have named, “Shell Offset.” What that entails is scanning the specific body part, such as an arm or leg, and then sending the 3D model over to a program such as Meshmixer. For example, if a patient has broken her right arm, then her left arm is scanned with Eva (Space Spider is used for smaller body parts), because the left arm is the straight limb. In the software, this limb is then “mirrored” to now look like the patient’s right arm. This creates the desired level of symmetry with both left and right arms.

From there, the 3D model of the new arm is modified to remove any defects or to add build up of the arm in boney areas or near joints. This is to add comfort spots to the brace after it is printed. From this point, the “shell” is created by making a digital copy of the arm and increasing the offset in size to whatever desired thickness is called for. The size of the 3D digital limb is enlarged in x, y, and z coordinates. Then both the modified limb and the Shell cover are selected in the software, to make the hollowed shell/brace cover by using the Boolean Difference edit command in Meshmixer.

“This is how we create a perfect shell, cover, casing, etc,” said Hagen, “We also do a few things like building up key areas of the brace to reinforce against breakage, and we also use the software to cut and trim areas around the brace so that the patient can more easily remove the brace. Then we send the brace over to our 3D printer.”

“Our braces are designed to last many months if not years, depending on patient use, design of the brace, and materials used.” Hagen Orthotics and Prosthetics uses the highest quality of such materials as EVA, MDF, as well as various plastics such as PETG, PLA, Copolymer, polypropylene, and PCTPE. “Obviously a grandmother and a 320-pound linebacker are going to need different kinds of braces, and we’re happy to say that we can give them, or anyone, exactly what they need, each and every time.”

3D-printed AFO (ankle-foot orthosis) by Warren Hagen and Artec Spider