使用Artec Eva扫描欧洲规模最大的自然科学藏品

概要:2017年,俄罗斯莫斯科达尔文博物馆决定为其10万多件大规模藏品进行3D扫描。

目标:使用轻质手持式3D扫描仪和旋转台,为博物馆的一整套藏品制作高精度、全彩色3D数字模型。

使用工具:Artec Eva, Artec Studio

国立达尔文博物馆多媒体技术部最近正在使用Artec Eva 3D扫描仪对展品进行数字化工作。创建后的3D模型将用于开发展览中的互动型教育类展示。

国立达尔文博物馆是欧洲最大的自然科学博物馆之一,主要用于解说达尔文物种起源理论。馆内有数千件出展的展品,每款背后都有自己独特的历史。博物馆馆藏共计近400000件,其中5000件在主展览中出展,其余藏品展出于博物馆特殊展区,或用于临时展或巡回展。

2017年,博物馆多媒体技术部开始使用Artec Eva对展品开始数字化工作。最终的扫描成品可以在sketchfab.com博物馆介绍中查看,目前已有100件模型开放查看。此外,这些扫描还可用于多媒体和互动式装置,甚至是博物馆Youtube频道的视频短片中。

博物馆高级研究员Amir Akhtamzyan感叹道:“我们扫描使用的Artec Eva捕获精度高达0.1毫米。不管是扫描中型还是大型展品、文物,这款扫描仪带来了一站式解决方案。捕获几何及纹理的功能十分便利。扫描仪内置的结构光可确保纹理的均匀捕获,便于之后微调色彩和亮度。扫描仪采用无接触技术,所以您仅需把任何物体放在旋转台上,即可开始扫描,即便是破败不堪或极为易碎的物品也没问题。这样的操作可以将物理接触降到最低,让数字化过程不伤害生态环境。”

Artec Eva扫描的穴熊头骨

博物馆展品扫描从骨学标本开始。骨学即研究骨架骨骼的科学。截至目前,博物馆14块动物头骨已完成数字化工作,其中不乏一些稀有物种,例如巨狐猴头骨、已灭绝的巨狐猴、穴熊头骨等,他们都生活在更新世晚期,并在15000年前左右灭绝。

此外,还扫描了博物馆鸟类标本,制作了约80件不同鸟类的模型,包括鹈鹕、雉鸟、鸵鸟、企鹅、猫头鹰等。其中一件标本非常独特,它是一只剥制完成的大海雀,而大海雀早在1844年就灭绝了。现在,世界上共有74只大海雀,其中之一就在国立达尔文博物馆。

Artec Eva扫描的剥制型大海雀

博物馆集团最近又新添置了一批罕见的剥制标本,主要是一些短毛物种,如生活在非洲的食蚁兽。它的外貌和其他多种动物类似:体形,尤其是尾部,酷似袋鼠,锥形鼻像野猪,长耳像野兔。还像满身带着带角鳞片“链条”的穿山甲。虽然看起来容貌可怖,但它们捕食昆虫、蚂蚁和害虫。

生活在非洲的剥制型短毛食蚁兽

博物馆工作人员还扫描了科学家Mikhail Gerasimov制作的尼安德塔人半身像及雕塑,他研发了基于骸骨的法医人脸重建术,闻名世界,这一方法后也用于科学史及法医学研究。他们扫描了五座Gerasimov制作的雕塑,尼安德塔人均在早期遗址地重建:斯虎尔洞穴、拉费拉西洞穴、施泰因海姆洞穴、直布罗陀-1遗址。扫描完人像后,重新制作外观,绘制肌肤纹理和皱纹,雕刻嘴部和眼窝,再将次表面散射着色器设置后上色,模拟真实肤色。随后,借助融合变形和雕塑法,为其添加面部表情,使尼安德塔人看起来栩栩如生。最终重建模型如下:

尼安德塔人重建模型最终扫描图

国立达尔文博物馆现已开始使用石膏材料对博物馆藏品进行3D打印。在这里,我们看到3D扫描设备促成了3D数码作品的互换及打印版展品。国立达尔文博物馆中,您可以欣赏到包括打印版扫描藏品在内的一整套展览。

博物馆现计划继续完成文物数字化工作,并将3D模型融入社交网站(如Facebook),这些扫描模型还可应用于多媒体文件以及博物馆互动型装置。使用的3D内容让观众们沉浸在数字化虚拟世界,还能为访客提供更有趣的互动式体验,学习更多科学知识。

使用Artec Eva制作的La Ferrassie洞穴尼安德塔人扫描模型

施泰因海姆洞穴中一名女性的扫描模型

得益于3D扫描仪的普及,如今博物馆可以以全新面貌呈现,即一座拥有独特真迹“模型”的宝库,这些模型可用于互动式装置、游戏、学习应用、3D打印数据库等。

Artec 3D感谢国立达尔文博物馆高级研究员Amir Akhtamzyan和多媒体部主管Dmitry Olshansky为本应用案例供稿。

联系我们

3D Scanning the Largest Natural Sciences Collection in Europe

The Department of Multimedia Technologies of the State Darwin Museum is digitizing its collection using 3D scanner Artec Eva. The 3D models created are to be used in the development of interactive, educational presentations in exhibitions.

The State Darwin Museum is the largest natural sciences museum in Europe and serves to illustrate Charles Darwin's theory on the origin of species. On display are thousands of exhibit items, each with its own entire history behind it. The museum holds nearly 100,000 items in total, 5000 of which can be seen in the main exhibition, while the rest can be found in the museum’s special collections and are used in temporary and traveling exhibitions.

In 2017, the Museum's Department of Multimedia Technologies began its 3D digitization of its collection, using Artec Eva. The resulting scans can now be seen in the museum's profile on sketchfab.com, where 100 models are available for viewing. In addition, the scans are used for preparing 3D content for multimedia and interactive installations, as well as in video clips on the museum's YouTube channel.

Amir Akhtamzyan, the museum's Senior Research Fellow, shares his impressions:  “We use the Artec Eva for scanning, which captures with an accuracy of 0.1 mm. To us this scanner offers a universal solution for scanning mid- and large-sized exhibition items and museum artifacts. Another convenient feature is the ability to capture texture in addition to the geometry. The structured lighting built into the scanner allows for textures to be evenly captured, which can later require minor adjustments in color and brightness. The scanner uses contactless technology, so you can place even the most fragile and dilapidated objects on a turn table and commence with scanning. This provides for minimal mechanical contact with the object and makes for an eco-friendly way of digitizing it.”

A skull of a cave bear scanned with Artec Eva

Scanning the Museum's collection began with osteology specimens. Osteology is the study of bones. Up to now 14 of the museum’s animal skulls have been digitized, and among them are rare finds like a Megaladapis skull, an extinct giant lemur, and the skull of a cave bear, which lived in the late Pleistocene and became extinct around 15,000 years ago.

In addition, specimens from the museum's ornithology collection were scanned, resulting in around 80 models of varying types of birds – pelicans, pheasants, ostriches, penguins, and owls. Among them is a unique specimen, a taxidermied great auk, which went into extinction in 1844. There remain 74 preserved great auks in the world, one of which can be found in the State Darwin Museum.

Scan of a taxidermied great auk made with Artec Eva

The museum's holdings recently acquired unusual taxidermied specimens of certain short-haired animals, such as the aardvark, which inhabits Africa. Its outward appearance is akin to that of several animals: its body is similar to that of a kangaroo, especially its tail, its tapered snout - a wild boar’s, its long ears - a hare's. And the pangolin with its “chains” of horned plates over its entire body. But despite its intimidating appearance, it feeds on insects, ants and termites.

Taxidermied aardvark, a short-haired animal that inhabits Africa

The museum's staff have also scanned the busts and sculptures of Neanderthals made by the scientist, Mikhail Gerasimov, who developed the world-renown method of forensic facial reconstruction based on bone remains, which is used in history of science and forensics. Five of Gerasimov's sculptures were scanned - reconstructions of Neanderthals from their earliest sites: the grotto of Skhul, the grottoes of La Ferrassie, Steinheim, and the site of Gibraltar-1.  After the busts were scanned, they were resurfaced, skin texture and wrinkles were drawn on, mouth and eye cavities were sculpted, and SSS shader was configured to simulate real skin. Later on facial expressions were added with the help of blendshape and sculpting, thus imparting an animated look to the Neanderthals. The result is the following reconstruction:

The final scan of Neanderthals’ reconstructed model

The State Darwin Museum is also starting to print museum pieces on a gypsum polymer 3D printer. Here using a 3D scanning device opens up new possibilities for exchanging 3D digital copies and using them in printed form in exhibitions. At the State Darwin Museum, an entire display can be seen, containing scanned objects in printed form.

The museum has plans to further digitize its artifacts, integrate 3D models into social networks (e.g. Facebook), as well as use scans in multimedia files and in the museum’s interactive installations. Using 3D content gives viewers the chance to immerse themselves in the virtual world of digitized space and objects and enables for a more interactive and interesting format for visitors to learn and acquire scientific knowledge.

The scan of a Neanderthal from the grotto of La Ferrassie made with Artec Eva

A woman from the grotto of Steinheim’s scan model

Thanks to the use of 3D scanners, the museum today can be seen in a completely new way, as a storehouse of unique, authentic “models,” which can be used in interactive installations, games, learning applications, and databases for 3D printing.

Artec 3D thanks Amir Akhtamzyan, Senior Research Fellow at the State Darwin Museum, and Dmitry Olshansky, Head of the Department of Multimedia, for the material they provided for this case study.

Contact us