3D脸部打印:整形患者可预览形象具体的全新面貌

一位整形医师使用Artec Eva对客户脸部进行 3D扫描并3D打印面具以展示术后脸部样貌,属世界首例。

几乎每一位接受整形手术的对象都需要承担一定的风险,思考那个似乎无法回答的问题:“术后到底会是什么模样?”只有未来能够告诉他们,但是土耳其整形医生Yakup Avşar博士却让患者与他们的未来面对面。

位于伊斯坦布尔的AVSAR整形外科医院创始人Avşar 博士为患者制作了面具向其展示术后容貌。得益于诸多实践上的优势,这是现今一项非常有前景的工具:首先,它为患者提供了准确反映手术成果的实体;其次,它为患者展示了一个切实的期望,以及手术可及的范围;最后,这也是帮助医生参照的一个三维实体。

AVSAR整形外科医院收到面具的一位患者。图片来自Mcor Technologies

在操作中,Avşar博士将Artec 3D扫描仪的高精度成像方案和灵活的增材制造相结合。通过这些技术,他可以快速构建面部手术后患者的真实形象。Avşar博士称这些效果都得到了肯定。

在近期的Digital Engineering采访中他分享道,“这就是患者想要的。在这之前,我们无法为患者准确呈现他们术后的样貌。现在通过看见并感受术后脸部真实的三维面具,他们可以对术后的效果有个合理预期。这一技术在平时的实践中能给患者带来巨大帮助。”

一位患者根据3D打印面具选择脸部需要改善的部位。图片来自Mcor Technologies

医生也从这样科技中受益良多。事实上,3D扫描彻底改变了Avşar博士的面具制作方法。在开始使用Artec Eva的手持3D扫描仪之前,他经常自己亲自动手为患者制作面具雕像!这个方法非常耗时耗力,应该被早日淘汰。此外,最后的手工面具还缺乏很多关键的细节,比如色彩和纹理,而这些对患者和医生来说都有极大的价值。制作面具本身就是一门艺术。尽管Avşar博士已经是一位手艺精湛的工匠,但首先他是一位美容和修复外科医生,尤其还面临患者需求日益增长、供需难以平衡的境况。很显然,是时候做些改变了。

当Avşar博士亲眼目睹Artec金牌合作商Teknodizayn演示的3D扫描和打印技术后,他立刻发现结合这两项技术可以为患者带来众多利益。他们制作的原型将会是术后患者真实的脸部模型。能够亲眼看见并触摸手术结果的体验可以让患者做出更明智成熟的决定。外科医生还可以更专心地关注如何做好手术,而不必为面具花费心思思考如何增加可塑性材料来模仿患者的容貌,减少了不少繁琐的工序。

Yakup Avşar博士使用Artec Eva为患者扫描。图片来自Mcor Technologies

Avşar博士一边尝试3D扫描和打印,一边调整使用这些设备的方式。一开始,他使用粉末打印机打印面具,但之后因为更出色的色彩表现而选择了Mcor 3D打印机。手术成本在整个医疗过程中也起到关键作用。环境好坏也会影响效果。他评论道,“我们总是更倾向于生态友好型、稳定又经济的3D打印机。”

如今使用了Artec 3D扫描和Mcor 3D打印技术后,Avşar博士就可以每月制作大约20件不同的面具。大多数工序现在都由Eva 3D扫描仪完成,在其帮助下,Avşar博士可以在几秒间获得大量视觉细节。

Yakup Avşar博士与患者讨论即将进行的整形手术。图片来自Mcor Technologies

像Avşar博士这样的用户可以立即学会如何使用Artec 3D扫描仪。事实上,3D扫描技术正变得越来越用户友好,这也是Artec 3D始终坚持的一项原则。3D扫描人体头部要求省时省力——只需要考虑几个参照点就能制作出Avşar博士力所能及的精彩图像。

首先,从脸部开始。先扫描一遍。脸部表情会变化,所以之后的扫描会和第一遍抵触。此外,确保肩部和背部始终在取景框中。这样做可以帮助定位每次的画面。之后,您可以在编辑模式下使用2D橡皮擦除。最后,扫描头顶。如果图像略显粗糙,可从精微连续配准算法调至“仅限几何”。精细和全局配准可以数字化地构建头部,随后融合模式会给最终的图像渲染上色。如果您依然觉得该方法很繁琐,您也可以激活纹理追踪。这一方法会简化流程并加快扫描速度。很快,您就可以将图像发送至3D打印服务商了。

3D扫描的帮助下,以往需要花费数周甚至数月的工作现在仅需拜访一次医生就能完成。此外,想要进行整容修复手术的患者还能亲身体验以前从未经历过的术后效果。

欢迎咨询

3D printing faces: Plastic surgery patients get tangible previews of their new looks

A plastic surgeon 3D scans his clients’ faces with Artec Eva and 3D prints masks to show what their faces will look like after surgery, for the first time in the world.

Just about every single candidate for plastic surgery weighs the risks, contemplating the seemingly unanswerable: “What will I look like afterwards?” Only the future can tell, but one plastic surgeon in Turkey, Dr. Yakup Avşar, brings his clients face to face with their future.

The founder of AVSAR Aesthetic Surgery Clinic in Istanbul, Dr. Avşar fabricates masks for his patients to demonstrate how they can look post-op. It’s a trendy tool nowadays with a vast number of practical advantages: firstly, it supplies patients with an object that accurately reflects the end result of a surgical procedure; secondly, it sets realistic expectations for the patient as well as on the limits of surgery; and finally, it serves as a helpful three-dimensional frame of reference for doctors.

A patient receives a 3D printed mask from AVSAR Aesthetic Surgery Clinic. Image courtesy of Mcor Technologies.

In his practice, Dr. Avşar combines the imaging capabilities of Artec’s high-precision 3D scanning hardware with the swiftness of additive manufacturing. With these techniques, he can quickly construct a material, tangible estimation of how a patient will appear after undergoing facial surgery. The results, according to Dr. Avşar, have been met with approval.

In a recent interview with Digital Engineering he shared, “It is what the patients want. Before this, it wasn’t possible for us to show patients exactly what their face would look like following surgery. Enabling them to see and feel the realistic three-dimensional mask of their face gives patients a far greater understanding of the surgical results they can expect. This technology is powerful for patients in everyday practice.”

A patient presented with 3D printed masks to choose how she prefers her face to be changed. Image courtesy of Mcor Technologies.

Doctors benefit enormously from this technology. A point of fact, 3D scanning revolutionized Dr. Avşar’s method of mask-making. Before he started using Artec’s Eva digital 3D scanner, he himself sculpted masks for his patients…by hand! It was a time-consuming and laborious task that simply had to be done away with. Even more, the final handmade facial models often went without key details, like color and texture, which could have been of great value to both patient and doctor. Crafting masks is an art in of itself. And while Dr. Avşar was a well-versed craftsman, he was first and foremost a cosmetic and reconstructive surgeon with service demands from patients outpacing supply. Clearly, something had to change.

When Dr. Avşar witnessed a demonstration of 3D scanning and printing technologies by Artec’s Gold Partner Teknodizayn, he immediately sensed that the advantages of their combination would prove gainful to his patients. The prototypes they rendered would be superb realistic facial representations of post-operative work. The experience of seeing and touching the projected result of a surgical procedure would enable patients to make better, more informed decisions. Surgeons in turn can focus more on performing and perfecting surgeries by altogether skipping the cumbersome chore of molding some malleable material into some semblance of a patient’s face.

Dr. Yakup Avşar scans a patient with Artec Eva. Image courtesy of Mcor Technologies.

As Dr. Avşar experimented with 3D scanning and printing, he began fine-tuning the way he used these devices. At first, he printed masks, using powder-based techniques, but later moved on to Mcor 3D Printer for its advanced color capabilities. Operational costs also played a strategic role overall for his medical practice. Even the well-being of the environment had an influence. He remarks, “We always prefer to use eco-friendly, stable, and economic 3D printers.”

Now with the implementation of Artec 3D scanning and Mcor 3D printing, Dr. Avşar churns out a respectable number of about 20 unique masks per month. Much of the labor now is taken up by the Eva 3D scanner, using which Dr. Avşar can obtain a wealth of visual details in seconds.

Dr. Yakup Avşar discussing prospective plastic surgery with a patient. Image courtesy of Mcor Technologies.

And users like Dr. Avşar can learn how to operate Artec 3D scanners in no time. In fact, 3D scanning has evolved to become more user-friendly, a principle that Artec 3D has always adhered to. 3D scanning the head requires minimum effort – a few points need only to be considered to produce exciting images that Dr. Avşar is able to generate.

Firstly, you should start with the face. Scan it only once. Facial expressions do change, therefore additional scans can conflict with the first. Also, ensure that the shoulders or back remain in view. This will help anchor each shot. You can remove them later with the 2D erase brush in editing mode. Finally, scan the top of the head. If the image looks a bit out of sorts, switch Fine Serial Registration algorithm to “Geometry only.” Fine and Global registration will digitally build the head, and thereafter, Fusion will render the final image. If you find even this method too complex, you can simply activate “Geometry + Texture.” This’ll ease and speed up scanning. You’ll soon be sending your images to your preferred 3D printing provider.

With the help of 3D scanning, what used to take weeks or even months to complete can now be done in a single doctor’s visit. More than that, patients wishing to undergo cosmetic or reconstructive surgery can now see and feel the results of a procedure they haven’t even gone through with yet.

Ask a question