葡萄栽培中的Artec Space Spider:扫描葡萄植株,对抗葡萄病害

概要:研究人员发现,紧致的植株,感染葡萄真菌的可能性更大。3D扫描技术因此引入葡萄栽培,作为全新武器对抗病害。

目标:使用手持式3D扫描仪现场捕获生长过程中的葡萄植株,为其创建3D点云,供科学家分析提取信息。

使用工具:Artec Space Spider

葡萄栽培学,古希腊雅典历史学家修昔底德认为对人类文明起到推进作用的一门学科,可能是最不可能应用到Artec 3D解决方案的领域。

葡萄栽培学,古希腊雅典历史学家修昔底德认为对人类文明起到推进作用的一门学科,可能是最不可能应用到Artec 3D解决方案的领域。但近日,几位研究员在一篇论文中表示,使用这些解决方案可以让葡萄栽培获益良多。在2018年3月出版的期刊《Sensors》中,研究人员针对真菌性病害或“灰霉病”进行了研究。我们知道,灰霉病会引起虫害感染,最终导致作物受损和减产。来自Geilweilerhof葡萄育种研究所和波恩大学的研究员合作研究,开发了创新型图像式分析法,以期减少灰霉病,提高葡萄选种和育种效果。

Artec 3D自有产品Space Spider 3D scanner在这一过程中发挥了不可忽视的重要作用。

实验期间,研究员发现,和目前的方式相比,使用Space Spider制作葡萄可视图像可大幅提升植物特征的数据评估速度。基于蓝色LED结构光科技,Artec Space Spider是一款用户友好、速度飞快、功能强大的3D扫描设备,可以生成丰富的高分辨率数码图像。这款扫描仪已广泛应用于众多行业,能捕获一系列复杂的几何、纹理和色彩,3D点精度高达0.05毫米。此外,它的重量不到2磅(0.9公斤),是一款极其轻便的3D扫描仪,无论实验室还是户外,都表现出色。正是因为这些优点,它完美符合这些研究中研究员设计的扫描环境。

论文中,作者很快发现“果穗紧密度”和灰霉病风险的关联。同样,一些其他研究也发现,葡萄果穗越紧密,虫害感染就更有可能发生。确实,许多葡萄种植者得出了类似的结论,也因此,他们更希望挑选养殖果穗松散的普通品种。

从长远经济角度考虑,灰霉病导致的作物感染风险提升,会带来不利影响,因此消除“果穗紧密”现象定能带来可观的经济效益。毕竟,正如该研究开头部分表述的那样,“葡萄栽培(Vitis vinifera L. subsp. Vinifera)是全球收益最高的作物之一。”

但是,从葡萄种植者角度而言,预防果穗紧密现象并非易事。

首先,葡萄的物理构成相当复杂,品种多样。种植者需要仔细记录每种葡萄独特基因结构所造成的成千上万种不同物理特性。其次,考虑到葡萄“马赛克”般的构成,单串葡萄就能生成大量数据,包括数量、大小、年龄等细节信息。国际葡萄与葡萄酒组织甚至还为葡萄树形态建立了基于不同特性的打分系统。然而,这类打分方式需要消耗大量的时间和人力。而且,研究作者表示,通过这种方法获得的数据最终往往夹带了主观因素和各类错误,这也是最不愿见到的后果。

本研究用于数据获取和参数提取的葡萄植株

相比而言,Artec 3D的Space Spider能提供一种更为高效、客观的葡萄结构评估方法。在实验室中,研究员使用Space Spider捕获了十串鲜食葡萄。在不同旋转速度下,完成了十次扫描。这一方法保证了Space Spider输出数据的准确性,因为不同旋转速度可以体现不同点密度。当Space Spider完成植株3D点云重现,研究员可以开始使用3D-Bunch-Tool分析数据,这是一款专门用来提取葡萄植株信息的应用程序,比如果穗大小与数量。

3D-Bunch-Tool,又称3D-BT,基于修正算法,共包含三个步骤。首先,精简高分辨率点云,用于预处理,可减少计算时间。第二,点云根据“区域”进行分割,大致划分为一颗颗独立的葡萄。最后,基于数据应用RANSAC法重建球体模型。葡萄植株的数字成像即可在最终阶段进行调整。

3D-Bunch-Tool (3D-BT)的图形用户界面

研究员对Space Spider生成的点云数据完成3D-BT操作后,其3D特征将与地面获得的实况数据进行对比。研究员在实验阶段找到了一项重要发现,数据对比结果表明,数据组间存在高度相关。这就意味着3D数据和实测数据间,差异很小。

值得注意的是,研究员指出,3D扫描法还能节省时间与成本。对比葡萄特征评估方法时,他们表示,“根据植株大小和果实总数,每一株所需的时间大约为10分钟(其他方法)。因此,这一过程需要耗费大量劳力,且对植株伤害较大。相比而言,使用Artec Space Spider和数据存储的方法来获得点云数据,每珠平均仅需一分钟,因此速度提升了十倍,性能可靠,不伤植株。此外,还能在自然的3D结构下研究植株构成。”

研究员进一步强调,尽管3D点云图像获得法由来已久,但往往需要价格不菲的激光技术,涉及诸多侵入性操作。高成本和诸多限制自然就无法吸引到研究员的目光。这就是为什么他们转而采用Artec 3D成像解决方案的原因。特别是Space Spider多功能和无创性特征,尤其深入人心,他们说道,“直接使用Artec Spider前往实地扫描,即可快速无创获得3D植株特征。”

实地表型分析应用

Space Spider另一项额外的好处就是它小巧便携,可以在几乎任何环境或研究条件下使用,包括实体考察。研究员也确实看到了实地考察过程中图像法的潜力,尤其当他们需要对大面积不同品种的植株进行对比评估时,优势更是不言而喻。通过像Space Spider这样的3D扫描解决方案,研究员可以长期追踪监测不同环境条件下的葡萄生长过程。

对于葡萄种植者而言,这项3D扫描法可以帮助他们在选种和育种时,做出更明智的选择。同时,他们也能对真菌性病害和感染做好积极的防治措施。而他们唯一要做的,就是将21世纪3D成像技术应用到千年之久的葡萄栽培科学中去。

所有引用内容来自 http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/18/3/763/htm

联系我们

Early Bronze Age Science of Viticulture Gets a 21st-Century Artec Update

Viticulture, a science that the Athenian historian Thucydides claimed to have had a civilizing effect, may not be the most expected field of study to apply Artec 3D solutions to.

Viticulture, a science that the Athenian historian Thucydides claimed to have had a civilizing effect, may not be the most expected field of study to apply Artec 3D solutions to. Yet grape cultivation stands to gain enormously from using them, as a group of researchers has shown recently in their article. Published March 2018 in the journal Sensors, the researchers’ study grapples with the issue of fungal diseases or “bunch rot.”  It is known that bunch rot can often lead to infestations, which result in damaged crops and diminished yields. Researchers from the Institute for Grapevine Breeding Geilweilerhof and University of Bonn joined forces in this research to develop an innovative image-based analysis method with the goal of helping to reduce bunch rot and improve grapevine selection for breeding purposes.

Instrumental in their approach was Artec 3D’s very own Space Spider 3D scanner.

During their experiment, researchers discovered that using Space Spider to create visualizations of grape bunches could help significantly speed up statistical assessment of plant characteristics when compared to existing methods. Based on blue LED structured light technology, Artec Space Spider is a user-friendly, fast, and powerful 3D scanning device that generates rich, high-res digital images. Used in a multitude of industries, it can capture a wide array of complex geometries, textures, and colors with a 3D point accuracy of up to 0.05 mm. Weighing at just under two pounds, this extremely lightweight 3D scanner performs equally well in the lab as out in the field. This made it ideally suited for the range of scanning contexts devised by the researchers of the study.

In their paper, the authors of the study immediately recognize the correlation between “bunch compactness” and risk for bunch rot. Likewise, other studies have previously confirmed that the denser the grapevines, the likelier that infestations will occur. Indeed, many grape growers have also reached a similar conclusion, which fundamentally underlies their preference for breeding and cultivating grapes that have a looser bunch structure.

When considered in a broader economic framework, eliminating bunch compactness could only make good business sense, as heightened chances for crop infestation due to bunch rot can prove detrimental. After all, as the present study proclaims in its opening pages, “Grapevine (Vitis vinifera L. subsp. Vinifera) is one of the most profitable crops worldwide.”

But, from a viticulturalist perspective, preventing bunch compactness is no easy task.

First, the physical composition of grapevines is dauntingly complex and varied. It requires grape growers to take scrupulous note of seemingly countless physical traits that are rooted in the unique genetic structure of each grapevine. Second, given a grapevine’s “mosaic” composition, a single bunch alone can generate huge volumes of data, detailing information such as the amount, size, and age of the grapes. The International Organization for Vine and Wine even publishes a point system for classifying vine morphology based on a set of characteristics. Nevertheless, this kind of score-based method demands a disproportionate amount of time and human resources. And perhaps least desirable of all is that the data it produces ultimately is subjective and error-filled, according to authors of the study.

Grape bunches used in this study for data acquisition and parameter extraction

By contrast, Artec 3D’s Space Spider offers an exponentially more effective and objective approach to assessing grapevine architecture. In the lab, researchers of the study used Space Spider to capture images of 10 table grapes. The scanning process was performed 10 times under different rotation speeds. This enabled researchers to validate the accuracy of Space Spider’s data output, as the differing speeds of rotation would generate different point densities. When Space Spider finished reproducing the 3D point cloud of the bunches, researchers set out to analyze the data using 3D-Bunch-Tool, a software application designed to extract information about grape bunches, such the size and quantity of berries.

The 3D-Bunch-Tool, otherwise known as “3D-BT,” is based on a modified algorithm. Its workflow involves three steps. First, the high-res point cloud is reduced down as part of the pre-processing step, which helps cut down on computing time. Second, the points of the cloud undergo segmentation by “regions,” each of which is generally limited to the area of a single grape. And finally, a RANSAC-based approach is utilized to construct sphere models based on the data. The digitized visualization of the grape bunch can then be adjusted in the finalization stage.

Graphical User Interface (GUI) of 3D-Bunch-Tool (3D-BT)

After the researchers ran 3D-BT on the point cloud data that Space Spider had generated, the 3D trait data were then cross-checked with ground truth data. The researchers made a positive finding during this stage of the experiment, indicating that this statistical comparison yielded very high correlation values across the data sets. This meant that there were only very small differences detected between the 3D data and real-world data.

Significantly, the researchers also point out the potential cost- and time-saving benefits of this 3D scanning method. In comparing approaches to grapevine trait assessment, they posit, “According to the size of the bunch and the total number of berries, the whole procedure [where other methods are used] needs on average 10 min per bunch. Thus it is very labor-intensive and invasive. In comparison, acquisition of point clouds by using Artec Spider and data storage, need [sic] on average one minute and therefore this represents an up to 10-times faster, robust and non-invasive method. In addition, it enables the investigation of the bunch architecture in its natural 3D structure.”

The researchers further underscored that, while image-based approaches to obtaining 3D point clouds have long existed, they often required the use of exorbitantly priced laser technology and involved the application of invasive techniques. Naturally, their high costs and limitations diminished their appeal to researchers. This why they turned to Artec 3D’s imaging solutions. In particular, they applaud Space Spider for its versatility and non-invasiveness, saying, “Applications of the Artec Spider to scan bunches directly in the field facilitates the opportunity to acquire 3D bunch traits non-invasively and fast.”

Application of the phenotyping pipeline in the field

The added bonus of Space Spider’s lightweight and mobile design means it can be employed in practically any environment and research formats, including in-the-field investigations. Indeed, researchers see great promise in using these image-based methods in field examinations, in particular in order to conduct comparative assessments of large plots of plant life of the most diverse of kinds. By relying on 3D scanning solutions, like Space Spider, researchers can also track and monitor the development of grapevines under various environmental conditions over extended periods of time.

For grape growers, this 3D scanning method enables them to make more sound choices when it comes to grapevine selection and breeding. With it they can increase crop yields by taking active, preventative measures against chances of fungal diseases and infestations. And all it takes is applying 21st-century 3D imaging solutions to the millennia-old science of viticulture.

All quotations are taken from http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/18/3/763/htm

Contact us