文物保护:为位于博恩霍尔姆岛上的斯堪的纳维亚符石数字化

概要:这是一项令人兴奋的项目:在丹麦博恩霍尔姆岛上,为维京时代的如尼石刻现场进行数字捕获。这些石块可追溯至800-1000年前,是斯堪的纳维亚最早的书面记载。

目标:为了子孙后代,完成这些石块的数字捕获,并仔细研究如尼文字的雕刻技艺,识别出不同地区的石刻匠。

使用工具:Artec Eva, Space Spider, Artec Studio

这一项目由来自瑞典国家遗产委员会的Laila Kitzler Ahfeldt发起,并由她全程监督。Laila与Artec 3D经销商Scan 3D innovations一同开启了丹麦博恩霍尔姆小岛古老符石数字化捕获工作的神奇之旅。这一小岛位于波罗的海,瑞典南边,拥有大量珍贵的历史文物,形状大小各不相同。

这些符石通过Artec旗下两款最常用的3D扫描仪完成,成品细节丰富。首先,使用轻质Eva扫描石块,获取整体尺寸与形状。随后,使用Space Spider高精度捕获精美的雕刻细节。来自Scan 3D innovations的扫描专家,配合使用便携式电池组,实现了符石的现场实地捕获,无论是室内还是户外。得益于强大的Artec Studio扫描软件,扫描结果实时可见,3D模型也能迅速完成。

Laila表示,符石雕刻者是斯堪的纳维亚最早的本土作家,能够拥有这些符石的数字化副本,对于研究它们的雕刻技艺与传统来说,显得十分重要。这一举措也能促进雕刻者识别与相应符石的对应工作。

尽管项目期间天气多变,且部分符石体形巨大(2米多高!),但该项目最后依然大获成功。Artec Eva与Space Spider、Artec Studio软件的智能组合,被证明是符石文物数字化、为后代保护斯堪的纳维亚遗迹的有效方式。

联系我们

Digitally capturing Viking-era runestones on a small Danish island

Summary: An exciting project to digitally preserve onsite ancient Viking-era runestones on the island of Bornholm, Denmark. These stones dating back 800-1000 years are the written records of Scandinavia's first writers.

The Goal: To digitally capture these stones for future generations, and to closely study the rune writers' carving techniques, as well as identify individual carvers across various regions.

Tools Used: Artec Eva, Space Spider, Artec Studio

Learn how objects can be captured for heritage preservation using the Artec Space Spider and Eva 3D scanners and the latest version of Artec Studio 3D scanning software.  

This exciting project was initiated and overseen by Laila Kitzler Ahfeldt from the Swedish National Heritage Board. Laila and Artec 3D reseller Scan 3D innovations embarked on an amazing journey to digitally capture ancient runestones on the small Danish island of Bornholm. Located in the Baltic Sea, off the south coast of Sweden, this island has a wide variety of these remarkable historic relics in all shapes and sizes.

The runestones were scanned in high detail using Artec’s two most widely used 3D scanners. First, the stones were captured in 3D with the lightweight Eva, to get the overall dimensions and shape of the stones. Then, Space Spider was used to record the intricate details of the carvings in high resolution. Equipped with a portable battery pack, the scanning experts from Scan 3D innovations were able to scan the runestones directly onsite, both indoors and outdoors, and thanks to powerful Artec Studio software, the results were visible in real time and the 3D models were ready in soon after.

According to Laila, rune carvers were the first native writers of Scandinavia, and having digital replicas of the stones is an excellent way to study the ancient carving techniques and traditions. This will also make the process of identifying the individual carvers across regions and linking different stones to them much faster and easier.

The project was a real success, despite the unstable weather conditions and the very large sizes of some of the stones (over 2m tall!). The brilliant synergy of Artec Eva and Space Spider along with Artec Studio software proved to be a very effective way of digitizing these historic runestones and preserving Scandinavia’s heritage for centuries to come.