Artec Eva与Space Spider重塑17世纪瓷器,唤醒一段荷兰与中国的曼妙历史

由Loretta Marie Perera拍摄

概要:在荷兰代尔夫特市,一位设计师与代尔夫特大学合作,重塑了17世纪一款中式瓷器,并基于几百年前的设计,制作了新品。

目标:为17世纪的古董花瓶制作3D模型并打印,再根据挖掘的古老工艺品,进行全新概念设计。

使用工具:Artec Eva、Artec Space Spider

中国地大物博,历史悠久,中国文化如今也跻身世界主流,从美食到科技,越来越多的人开始探索、接受中国文化。中国的精美装饰盘也不例外,最有名的就是中国瓷器了。

早在汉朝(公元前206年-220年),标志性的蓝白花纹就走出国门,中国文化划上了等号,或至少被认为是最典型的中国文化元素。这种流传了几百年的瓷器来源于景德镇。这座南方小城及周边地区生产了大多数中国瓷器,贯通南北的河道也促成这些精致艺术品走向国内外市场。

新技术让历史悠久、价值连城的文物重新焕发生机。

早在15世纪,就有大量欧洲旅客购买中国瓷器的记录。到17-18世纪,东亚市场的茶叶、丝绸、香料,当然还有瓷器,吸引了更多欧洲公司。1602-1682年,据说荷兰东印度公司就出口了3000-3500万件瓷器,远超英国、葡萄牙、瑞典东印度公司。

为了重现这段历史,设计师Maaike Roozenburg和荷兰知名大学代尔夫特理工大学,尤其是工业设计学院,一同使用由Artec大使4C Creative CAD CAM Consultants提供的扫描仪进行了项目合作。

“整个青花瓷的历史非常吸引人,”Roozenburg说道。“就是这种中国发明的神奇白色材料。当时,人们简直被迷住了。人人都想有一件,当时中国就开始为西方市场制作瓷器。所有欧洲王室都喜欢中国瓷器。”

在荷兰,中国瓷器广受欢迎,荷兰瓷器艺术家于是着手开始尝试模仿制作。结果就是荷兰人创造了代夫特陶器,成为国内有名的一大产业。

“17世纪,代夫特陶瓷花瓶用于装饰阿培尔顿Het Loo皇宫皇家花园,” Roozenburg说道。“但它们现在都消失了。考古学家只找到了残缺的碎片,但科学证据表明,它们依然存在于此,包括一些画作。”

两件仅存的17世纪花瓶不允许被带离,所以Artec扫描仪被带了进来。

要制作这些含有中国元素的代夫特陶瓷花瓶,要先捕获一些正本。我们在全世界仅找到了两件:一件在英国爱地格府邸,另一件在德国法沃利特宫博物馆。

“谢天谢地,当时的王室成员将这些花瓶作为礼物送给了其他王室!”Roozenburg说道。

由于两地都规定不得将花瓶带出,制作团队于是亲自抵达现场。“当城堡发现花瓶绝无仅有,便拒绝取出花瓶的要求,” Roozenburg回忆道。“所以我们就打包带上Artec扫描仪,前往英国和德国城堡,进行现场扫描。”

“我认为扫描技术最棒的一点,就是可以把必须留在博物馆内的易碎珍品,变成数字化的存在,还能对它进行探索,”Roozenburg说道。“如此一来,那些原本都禁止触摸的历史文物,就可以进行相关操作了。”

扫描过程中还会出现其他问题,瓷器表面反光,这也是扫描仪面临的共同难题。“我们以为也许问题难以攻克,但最后Artec Eva呈现的效果远远超过我们的预期,” Roozenburg说道。

使用Artec Eva之前,团队先尝试了CT扫描仪。因为这种扫描仪特殊的工作原理,导致最终扫描失败。这种扫描仪采用穿过扫描仪的射线,对扫描物体进行断层扫描,最后再用软件将每层扫描拼接起来。“这么操作会使扫描效果很粗糙,之后还要做大量的修缮工作,”她补充道。

Artec Eva,是一款操作简单的高精度扫描仪,为捕获几乎任何中型尺寸物体提供了解决方案,包括表面反光的物体,这点对于这些花瓶来说尤为重要。结构光扫描技术也很安全,能获得高分辨率精准测量结果。

为保证不会出现意料之外的状况,我们用聚苯乙烯泡沫塑料制作了这些花瓶模型。“我们不想在英国的城堡里搞出什么意外惊吓,否则还得找临时解决方案!”Roozenburg笑道。

为保证花瓶摆放平稳,尽可能少动它,团队搭建了一个带有小马达的圆形平台。花瓶被放置在这个平台上,缓慢转动,再将Artec Eva安装在三脚架上,以获得完整、均匀的扫描效果。

对于花瓶上的狮头和贝壳等装饰物,团队采用了Artec Space Spider。这款扫描仪完美适用于小型物体和精密细节的扫描,准确度和分辨率极高,是捕获精美细节和丰富色彩的最佳选择。扫描完成后,这些装饰物由MATLAB进行修缮处理,最终完成3D打印。

“你不能一次性扫描整个花瓶,必须先去掉一些细节,不同部分使用不同的模具,修过后再合成,”Roozenburg解释道。

制作新花瓶,需要铸模、打印、组装、上色等多个步骤。

所有数据带回阿姆斯特丹工作室进行进一步处理。瓶身数据在Artec Studio、MATLAB、Sketchup、Geomagic Studio 2013中进行后期处理,制成细节丰富的模型,并通过数控加工制作成陶瓷活动模具。

至于Artec Studio软件如何进行后期处理,代尔夫特理工大学工业设计学院实验室负责人Bertus Naagen这样解释:“我们进行了标准化处理,为每份扫描进行了粗修、精修、全局、异常值移除、尖锐融合(半径),加入小型物体滤镜。然后,我们对齐了所有扫描,再次进行尖锐融合(实体)。最后,将数据以STL或OBJ格式导出。”

另一点需要注意的是,干燥过程中,陶瓷体积会收缩,所以还要放大模型尺寸来弥补收缩的部分。待花瓶模型做好,装饰物组装好后,再为花瓶一个个上色上釉。

这样,目标完成了:新技术让历史悠久、价值连城的文物重新焕发生机。

“最棒的是,你无法分辨我们采用了新技术。45个花瓶的最终成品看起来和正品别无二致,就像是来自17世纪的一样,”Roozenburg说道。

理工大学扫描专家Naagen和Roozenburg一起合作了几个项目,在本项目中,“一起讲述了荷兰与中国之间几百年的文化交流。”

Naagen一直希望结合现代技术和历史遗迹,他和他的团队对于保护历史的项目一直热情满满。

“这是文化,”他说道。“我们应当把它带给全世界所有人。”

捕获文物,细节决定成败。

在这些地方,尤其是荷兰代尔夫特,还发现了陶瓷杯、碗、盘,这些都是来自中国的历史文物,折射出17世纪中荷商路的遗迹。

“17世纪的玻璃制品非常易碎,大部分都破损了。它们大多都放在博物馆的玻璃柜中,绝对禁止触摸,”Roozenburg说道。“我想帮助它们,重回餐桌。”

制作花瓶时,他们的目标是要尽可能制作和正品一模一样的作品,放回公园,就好像他们从未离开过,但制作玻璃制品时,目标很简单:体现历史轨迹。

“我没有制作完美的复制品,你还能看到上面的一些裂痕和瑕疵。我也没有补全碎片,这样的话,看起来更具艺术感和实验性,”Roozenburg说道。

通过和景德镇工匠们合作,她根据这些文物创造了全新作品,这些作品本身就不完整,带有裂缝瑕疵。

Roozenburg打算采用全新技术,即Artec Space Spider,来重塑这些被遗忘的瓷器。“整个扫描过程好比是一件工具,但这件工具需要学习才会使用,”她说道。“你一定要用过几次,才能学会,理解设备如何运作、如何捕获你周围的世界,这一过程十分有趣。”

Roozenburg带着Artec 3D扫描数据和打印出来的17世纪瓷器,前往中国,想问问工匠他们是否还能制作这些餐具。

“使用这项新科技的奇妙之处就在于,你可以为一件物品制作数字形态,并带到地球另一端,”Roozenburg说道。中国的工匠也参考Artec扫描数据,在设计花纹和纹理时,通过这些数据研究了原作细节。

中国工匠根据扫描和照片制作新碗模型。

手工制作完新品后,又进行了扫描、数字建模、打印。

Roozenburg于是又根据她经手的历史文物,制作了一系列全新作品,纪念中荷之间长达几百年的贸易交流。

Roozenburg之前使用的 CT扫描仪“需要大量后期处理和数据处理,”这一项目是她第一次使用Artec便携式扫描仪

“了解扫描仪以及它捕获世界的工作原理非常有意思。你可以把各个扫描件拼接成完整作品,而且很容易操作。扫描过程本身就像是一场芭蕾:动作流畅地划过每个角落,捕获物体。”

Artec大使4C的Els Rappard-Oostland见证了Artec扫描仪的广泛使用,从高校、医院到重型机械质量控制。她表示,这次项目最重要的意义在于,被扫描的杯子、碗盘由17世纪的中国景德镇生产,但发现于代尔夫特市。

“项目很伟大,”她说道。“借助现代科技,历史重回人间。“

完美复制:致代尔夫特与过往True replicas: to Delft and back)由代尔夫特考古机构、代尔夫特大学、王子宫博物馆、景德镇国际工作室合作完成。

特别感谢:Ir.Bertus NaagenSteven Jongma en Adriaan Rees博士

Het Loo皇宫花园花瓶(Garden Vases Palace Het Loo):荷兰Het Loo皇宫项目,由代尔夫特理工大学、法沃利特宫、爱地格府邸、皇家Tichelaar Makkum陶瓷制造商合作完成。

特别感谢:Ir.Bertus Naagen、Suzanne Lambooy、Jan Kok

联系我们

Dutch-Chinese history comes to life as Artec Eva and Space Spider help recreate 17th-century ceramics

By Loretta Marie Perera

Summary: In the city of Delft, The Netherlands, a designer works with Delft University to recreate 17th-century Chinese porcelain and produce new work based on centuries-old designs.

Goal: To convert original 17th-century vases into perfect 3D models and prints, and to conceptualize new designs based on ancient excavated artifacts.

Tools Used: Artec Eva, Artec Space Spider

In a country so vast in both its size and history, Chinese culture has today made its way into the international mainstream with everything from its cuisine to its technology becoming appreciated and explored. China’s delicate ornaments are no exception, most famously those made from porcelain.

Exported to the rest of the world from as early as the Han dynasty (206 BC–220 AD), the signature blue and white swirls and patterns have become synonymous with Chinese culture, or at least they have become one of its most easily recognized designs. The source of much of these centuries of porcelain: Jingdezhen. With most Chinese porcelain being produced in or around this southern Chinese city – rivers flowing both north and south eased the transport of fragile items – export was key for both domestic and international markets.

New technology was used to bring the old and valuable back to life.

From as early as the 15th century, there are records of Chinese porcelain being purchased by European travelers. By the 17th and 18th centuries, the East Asian market began to attract even more European companies with tea, silk, spices and, of course, porcelain. Between 1602 and 1682, the Dutch East India Company is said to have exported between 30 and 35 million pieces – more so than their English, Portuguese, and Swedish counterparts.

To bring history back to life, designer Maaike Roozenburg in collaboration with leading Dutch university Delft University of Technology – in this case specifically the Industrial Design faculty – used scanners provided by Artec Ambassador 4C Creative CAD CAM Consultants.

“The whole history of porcelain is fascinating,” says Roozenburg. “It’s this magical white material and something they invented in China. There was an obsession with it. Everyone wanted it, and in China, they started to really produce porcelain especially for western markets. All the royals in Europe loved it.”

In The Netherlands, Chinese porcelain was so loved and desired that Dutch ceramic artists set out to try and create an imitation. This resulted in what is known as Delftware, which became a notable industry of its own.

“In the 17th century, ceramic Delftware vases decorated the gardens of royal Het Loo Palace in Apeldoorn,” Roozenburg says. “But they are all gone. Archeologists found some bits and pieces, and scientific proof that they were there, together with drawings and paintings.”

The only two remaining 17th-century vases weren't allowed out, so Artec scanners were brought in.

To recreate these Chinese-inspired Delftware vases, it was a matter of tracking down some of the originals. Throughout the world, only two were found: One in Erddig Hall in the UK, another in the museum of Schloss Favorite in Germany.

“Thank God, at the time, royals gave these vases as presents to other royals!” says Roozenburg.

With both locations unwilling to let their vases be taken out, the team traveled there to get the job done. “Once the castles found out they were the only ones who had them, they said ‘no, they will stay here,’” recalls Roozenburg. “So we went there with Artec scanners in our backpacks to these still-existing castles in Britain and Germany – and scanned them on the spot.”

“I think what’s amazing about scanning is that, by rendering physical objects that are really fragile, valuable, and have to stay within a museum into digital data, you can experiment with them,” says Roozenburg. “It gives new opportunities to work with historical objects that you otherwise would not be able to touch.”

During the scanning process, more challenges presented themselves – this time, it was a common scanning problem with the reflective nature of porcelain. “We expected it wouldn't work, but in the end Artec Eva worked much better than expected,” Roozenburg says.

Before deciding on Artec Eva, attempts were made with a CT scanner. This didn’t work due to the nature of the process: Radiation going through this scanner makes slices of the objects, one slice at a time, which are then put together with software. “It was not a smooth scan, and you’d have to do a lot of work after the scan,” she adds.

Artec Eva, an easy-to-use and highly precise scanner, is an excellent solution for capturing almost any medium-sized object, including those with shiny surfaces – an important benefit in the case of these vases. Its structured light scanning technology also makes it safe to use, and leads to precise, high-resolution measurements.

To make sure there wouldn’t be unexpected issues or setbacks, styrofoam models of the vases to be practiced on were made. “You don’t want any surprises when you’re in a castle in Britain and realize you have to improvise!” Roozenburg laughs.

To minimize the handling of the vase while making it more stable, a round platform attached to a small motor was assembled. The vase to be scanned was then placed on the platform and slowly rotated for a full and even scan with Artec Eva mounted on a tripod.

For the decorative ornamental additions such as lion heads and shells, Artec Space Spider was put to work. This scanner is ideal for smaller objects and intricate details, and with its extreme degree of accuracy and ultra-high resolution, Space Spider was the best choice for capturing such fine details and rich colors. After they were scanned, the ornaments were processed in MATLAB, where they were refined before being 3D printed.

“You cannot use the overall vase, you have to remove all the details and use different molds of different parts, refine them and scale them back,” Roozenburg explains.

To create the new vases, several stages of molding, printing, assembling and painting were required.

All the data was then brought back to the studio in Amsterdam for more work. For the body of the vase, post-scan processing was done in Artec Studio and MATLAB, Sketchup, and Geomagic Studio 2013 to create a detailed model from which the ceramic slip cast mold was formed using CNC Milling.

In terms of how the scans were post-processed in Artec Studio software, Bertus Naagen, lab manager of TU Delft’s Industrial Design department explains. "We followed all the standard steps, including Rough, Fine, Global, Outlier Removal, Sharp Fusion (by radius) for each separate scan, and then Small Object filter. After this, we aligned all the scans and applied Sharp Fusion (watertight). The final step was exporting as either STL or OBJ."

Another factor that was kept in mind: ceramic shrinks during the drying process, so the model had to be scaled up to compensate for the shrinkage. Once the vases were molded and the ornaments attached, the adorned vases were glazed and painted, one by one.

And so the goal was accomplished: new technology was used to bring the old and valuable back to life.

“The best thing is, in the end you can’t see that there was any new tech used. The finished work of 45 vases look like the originals, like they are brand new coming from the oven in the 17th century,” says Roozenburg.

Technical University scanning expert Naagen has worked with Roozenburg on a number of projects, and in this case, “recounting centuries of exchange between The Netherlands and China.”

With a keen interest in combining modern technology and heritage, Naagen says that his team is always enthusiastic in supporting projects that maintain the relevance of history.

“It’s culture,” he says. “We should make it accessible to people all over the world.”

Every bit counts when getting the details of ancient artifacts right.

It was also here, specifically in the Dutch city of Delft, that porcelain cups, bowls, and dishes were discovered and excavated: the remaining bits of history from China, more remnants of a Chinese-Dutch trade route from the 17th century.

“17th-century glassware is really fragile and mostly broken. They’re in museums behind glass, and you’re definitely not allowed to touch them,” Roozenburg says. “I wanted to bring them back to kitchen tables.”

In contrast to the perfection of the vases, where the intention was to make perfect copies as close as possible to the originals, and to have these back in the gardens like they had never left, the aim here was quite a contrast: to show traces of history.

“I didn’t make perfect copies, I made replicas where you see cracks and imperfections. I didn’t fill gaps that were missing – in that sense it is more artistic and experimental,” Roozenburg says.

In collaboration with craftsmen of Jingdezhen, she has today created new designs based on these historical objects – presented as they are with cracks and blemishes, missing bits and imperfections.

Roozenburg set out with the intention of using new technology – Artec Space Spider – to remake and reintroduce these forgotten porcelain objects. “The whole scanning process is a tool, but it’s a tool you have to learn to work with,” she says. “You have to do it a few times to really learn and understand how this machine works and how it captures the world around you, which is an interesting process.”

With Artec 3D scans and printouts of the 17th-century porcelain, Roozenburg headed to China and asked craftsmen there if they could still make the tableware.

“What’s quite amazing is that having this new technology, you can render an object into digital data and bring it to the other side of the world,” Roozenburg says. As a guide for their own work, the craftsmen in China used Artec scans for design and texture while referring to photographs of original artifacts for greater detail.

Craftsmen in China modeled the new bowls based on scans and photographs.

After the new items were made by hand, they were then scanned, modeled on screen, and printed out.

Roozenburg has since gone on to create a range of new designs based on the historical objects she has worked with, commemorating centuries of trade and exchange between The Netherlands and China.

While Roozenburg had previously used CT scanners which “needed far more post-processing and data processing,” this project was a first for her with Artec portable scanners.

“It was fascinating, learning to understand the scanner and its way of capturing reality. The way you can piece more parts of a scan together into one object worked really well and is accessible. The scanning itself was like ballet: experimenting with smooth movements and angles to capture the object."

Els Rappard-Oostland of Artec Ambassador 4C, sees Artec scanners being used everywhere from university hospitals to quality control for heavy machinery. In this case, she says, success comes in the fact that cups, bowls, and dishes were excavated in the city of Delft, yet produced in Jingdezhen, China, in the 17th century.

“This is great,” she says. “History has been brought to light with modern technologies.”

True replicas: to Delft and back is a project in collaboration with Archeology Delft, Delft Technical University, Museum Prinsenhof Delft, and International Studio Jingdezhen.

With special thanks to: Ir.Bertus Naagen, Dr. Steven Jongma en Adriaan Rees

Garden Vases Palace Het Loo: a project for the Dutch Palace Het Loo, in collaboration with Delft Technical University, Schloss Favorite, Erddig Hall, Royal Tichelaar Makkum.

With special thanks to: Ir.Bertus Naagen, Suzanne Lambooy and Jan Kok