邓迪3DVisLab 实验室与Artec的北极之行

概要:邓迪大学3DVisLab的研究员接到一项任务,需要对考古现场挖掘出的北极因纽特爱斯基摩人文物进行数字化保护,用于教学项目。

目标:使用手持式专业彩色3D扫描仪(Artec Space Spider)对阿拉斯加原住民的文物进行数字化捕获,包括木质面具、雕刻玩偶、板岩刀等等,并整合成3D模型,作为当地儿童的互动性教学资源。

使用工具:Artec Space Spider, Artec Studio

过去两年,3DVisLab的研究员一直在阿拉斯加奎纳加克原住民部落附近进行Nunalleq考古项目,为当地儿童教育开发数字教学资源,帮助他们了解考古发现和尤皮克文化。

邓迪大学3DVisLab实验室中有一个规模虽小、但专长各异的实践型研究团队,他们参与过海底沉船研究、考古发掘和空中侦察。这些项目收集的数据规模各异,有些涉及整个地形地貌,有些又只涉及个别地址或文物,所以团队必须要有性能可靠、灵活多变的处理方法。该团队几年来一直使用Artec Spider扫描仪。第一台是和邓迪大学的解剖与身份识别中心(CAHID)共享使用的,但没过多久,这台扫描仪就成为3DVisLab实验室文物工作中不可或缺的重要工具,于是,2018年,实验室购置了自己的Artec Space Spider扫描仪。

3DVisLab 在Scapa 100项目中使用Artec Space Spider记录一战和二战时期的航海仪器。

实验室找到了大学推荐的供应商Patrick Thorn & Co采购新设备,他们也是Artec英国金牌合作商,Patrick亲自北上来到邓迪为团队带去设备,并花了两天时间,进行了宝贵的一对一培训。3DVisLab 的考古学家兼博士后助理研究员Alice Watterson博士说道,“Patrick的培训实在太有帮助了。之前和CAHID合用了一年左右的扫描仪,自认为已经很熟悉操作过程了,没想到这次的培训依然干货满满,让我的技能又上了一个台阶。”

一抵达实验室,这台全新Artec Space Spider就踏上了一段奢华的旅程,最引人注目的就是一整个夏天,这台设备都呆在了阿拉斯加冻原上,参加一项考古挖掘项目。过去两年,3DVisLab的研究员一直在阿拉斯加奎纳加克原住民部落附近进行Nunalleq考古项目,为当地儿童教育开发数字教学资源,帮助他们了解考古发现和尤皮克文化。由Rick Knecht博士和Charlotta Hillerdal博士带领的阿伯丁大学考古专家与部落组织Quinhagak Heritage Inc共同合作,自2009年以来,几乎每年夏天都会去当地进行挖掘工作,考察15世纪或年代更久远的一间大型草屋遗址。在此期间,他们已经发掘了有关尤皮克爱斯基摩人日常生活的60000多件文物,史无前例,包括狩猎设备、石板刀具、石雕娃娃和人像、曲木碗、木质舞蹈面具和草篮等等。

草屋内部示意图,含Artec扫描完成的文物(可点击)以及Tom Paxton设计的人物形象。

这些教育资源能让孩子们对根据考古发现和当地传统说制作的草屋模型进行深入探索。用户可以拖动界面,点击选中的物品,画面随即弹出考古地周围挖掘的文物3D模型,还能聆听一段村落长者、考古学家和工匠的解说,了解祖先生活中的不同角色。通过这种方式将Artec扫描与有意义的音频信息结合,是对尤皮克历史故事口口传颂这一传统的尊重。

文物查看器能让孩子们与Artec Space Spider扫描的模型进行互动。

协同设计对项目而言也至关重要,同样地,制作这些教学资源的材料也是通过和村落社区共同合作而敲定的,以确保真实反映尤皮克人的价值信仰。木刻舞蹈面具是来自Nunalleq的最诱人的一件物品。每当出土面具,都能让考古学家和原住民激动不已。这类面具经常用于尤皮克传统舞蹈yuraq。部分Nunalleq面具上还残留一些红、白、黑颜料,暗示它们过去的色彩和设计一定十分艳丽。

Rick Knecht博士与Anna Mossolova博士研究员在Nunalleq小心翼翼地抬起出土草屋木板路边的一副面具。

邓迪团队和程序员John Anderson正致力研发一项功能,即教育资源中的一个特殊界面,能让孩子们根据自己的理解,使用祖先用过的色彩,为Artec Space Spider完成的Nunalleq面具上色。“看到孩子们能利用早期教学资源,和文物产生新的互动,实在是太棒了,”Alice说道。“让孩子们见到3D模型还不够,若能研发一些能让他们直接在数字模型上色的功能,会让他们与文物产生更有意义的互动。”

使用Artec Space Spider扫描制作的模型,3DVisLab团队已为教学资源研发处面具上色功能。

奎纳加克部落人口约为750,坐落在阿拉斯加遥远的Yukon-Kuskokwim地区。2018年,这个部落一下上了头条,当时,超过60000多件文物远渡重洋,从苏格兰阿伯丁实验室,来到了部落拥有并经营的Nunalleq文化与考古中心这一新家。这象征着土著考古回归本土的正确方向,也意味着让更多的人接触这些阿拉斯加发掘的鲜为人知的大规模文物,意义非凡。Alice特别指出:“阿拉斯加实地物流即便在最好的情况下,也不尽如人意。一路多次转机,飞机越换越小,从邓迪一路赶到奎纳加克,所以手提行李大小的Artec扫描仪和笔记本电脑让整个行程方便了不少。扫描仪抵达部落后,在整个考察期,对150多件文物完成了捕获,目前,这些文物由考古学家和当地社区进行数字化展出,可在全球范围内交流分享。这款扫描仪与最新版Artec Studio 13软件成为本项目的宝贵工具:3D雷达视图使扫描更轻松,处理更快捷,色彩也更为逼真。我们已准备启动下一个项目,希望项目地点可以暖和一些!”

通过Artec Studio 13查看Nunalleq藏品中的一副海象变脸面具

联系我们

“Artec Goes Arctic” with Dundee’s 3DVisLab

For the past two years, researchers from 3DVisLab have been working with the Nunalleq Archaeology Project near the Alaska Native village of Quinhagak to develop a digital educational resource to help teach local children about the excavations as well as their Yup’ik heritage.

3DVisLab at the University of Dundee is home to a small, but diverse group of practice-based researchers engaged in projects ranging from a sub-sea survey of shipwrecks to archaeological excavations and aerial reconnaissance. Data collected on these projects varies in scale from entire landscapes all the way down to individual sites and artefacts, so having reliable and adaptable methods in place is essential. The team has been using an Artec Spider scanner for a number of years. The first was shared with the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification (CAHID), also at the University of Dundee, but it didn’t take long for the scanner to become an essential part of 3DVisLab’s heritage work, so in 2018 the lab purchased their own Artec Space Spider.

Using the Artec Space Spider to document WWI and WWII maritime artefacts as part of 3DVisLab’s work on the Scapa 100 project.

The lab approached the university’s preferred supplier Patrick Thorn & Co, Artec’s UK Gold Partner, to acquire the new equipment, and Patrick himself made the journey north to Dundee for a couple of days to deliver the scanner as well as to provide some invaluable one-on-one training for the team. Dr Alice Watterson, archaeologist and post-doc research assistant at 3DVisLab, said, “Patrick’s training was enormously helpful. I’d been using the scanner we shared with CAHID for a year or so and was quite familiar with the process, but the extra training was very comprehensive and brought my skills up another level.”

Since arriving in the lab, the new Artec Space Spider has led a jet-setting life, most notably spending a summer out on an archaeological excavation in the Alaskan tundra. For the past two years, researchers from 3DVisLab have been working with the Nunalleq Archaeology Project near the Alaska Native village of Quinhagak to develop a digital educational resource to help teach local children about the excavations as well as their Yup’ik heritage. In partnership with the village-run organisation Quinhagak Heritage Inc, archaeologists from the University of Aberdeen, led by Dr Rick Knecht and Dr Charlotta Hillerdal, have been digging at the site nearly every summer since 2009, to investigate the remains of a large sod house dating back to the 15th century or earlier. During that time, they have uncovered an unparalleled collection of more than 60,000 artefacts related to the everyday life of Yup’ik Eskimo people – hunting equipment, slate knives, carved dolls and figurines, bentwood bowls, wooden dance masks, and grass baskets, just to name a few.

Illustrative video of the interior of the sod house, showing the clickable Artec-scanned artefacts and character design by Tom Paxton.

The educational resource allows children to explore a reconstruction of the sod house built from interpretations from the excavation and traditional local knowledge. As the user moves around the interface, they can click on selected objects to bring up 3D scans of artefacts found at the site and hear the voices of village elders, archaeologists, and craftspeople to find out more about the roles they played in the lives of their ancestors. Using the Artec scans in this way, where each 3D object is partnered with multi-vocal soundbites, respects the traditional ways of Yup’ik storytelling and oral histories.

The artefact viewer which allows children to interact with models made from the Artec Space Spider scans.

Co-design has been central to this project, and as such, material for the resource was developed while working alongside the village community to ensure that the content reflects Yup’ik beliefs and values. The carved wooden dance masks are among the most captivating objects to come from Nunalleq. They certainly stir up the most excitement amongst the archaeologists and local community alike whenever one is unearthed during a dig. Masks like this were used for traditional Yup’ik dancing or yuraq. Some of the Nunalleq masks still retain traces of red, white, and black paint, a hint towards their former brightly painted designs.

Dr Rick Knecht and PhD researcher Anna Mossolova carefully lift a mask from the excavated boardwalk of the sod house at Nunalleq.

One feature the team in Dundee have been developing with programmer John Anderson is an interface within the educational resource which allows children to form their own interpretations by painting on the Artec Space Spider scans of some of the Nunalleq masks using the same colours their ancestors would have used. “It has been fantastic to see children who have played with early versions of the educational resource form new contemporary engagements with the artefacts,” says Alice. “Allowing the kids to look at the 3D models is one thing, but to have developed something where they can actually paint directly onto the digital models gives them a more meaningful interaction with the artefact.”

Using models created from the Artec Space Spider scans, the team at 3DVisLab have developed a mask painting activity for the educational resource.

The village of Quinhagak has a population of around 750 people and lies in the remote Yukon-Kuskokwim region of Alaska. In 2018 the village made headlines when the collection of over 60,000 artefacts made the long journey home from the conservation lab in Aberdeen, Scotland, to be housed in the new village-run-and-owned Nunalleq Culture and Archaeology Centre. This represents a huge step in the right direction towards decolonialising indigenous archaeology, but it also means that outreach to allow access to this remote collection, the largest ever recovered in Alaska, is essential. Alice notes that, “The logistics of fieldwork in Alaska can be challenging at the best of times. Being able to bring the hand-luggage-sized Artec scanner and a laptop all the way from Dundee to Quinhagak over numerous flight connections on smaller and smaller planes made things a lot less stressful. Once the scanner had made it to the village, it captured over 150 artefacts during the field season, artefacts which can now be digitally curated by the archaeologists and the community and shared with the wider world. This scanner with the latest Artec Studio 13 software has become an invaluable tool for this project; it makes scanning easier with the 3D radar view, faster processing, and the colour is much more realistic. Now on to our next project, hopefully in a warmer location!”

Using Artec Studio 13 to view a walrus transformation mask from the Nunalleq collection.