3D解剖可视化:扫描骨骼复原人类与动物原貌

邓迪大学刑事复原工具箱新增工具,Artec Eva 3D扫描仪助科学家推进研究。

我们的人类祖先和古代人类与我们有多相像?这是艺术家和科学家一直以来探寻的一大问题,其中就包括来自苏格兰邓迪大学的Caroline Erolin和Christopher Rynn博士。Caroline和Christopher擅长3D解剖可视化技术,可根据人骨复原已故人类的样貌。

考古颅面复原一直是博物馆和纪录片制作人的极大需求之一。最近,苏格兰Biggar & Upper Clydesdale博物馆获得了“Thankerton人类”的颅面复原头像。这一放射性碳头骨在1970年苏格兰村庄Thankerton中的石柜中被发现,可追溯至公元前2460至2140年,且被认为是18-25岁的男性头骨。

邓迪大学复原的“Thankerton人类”。图片来自BBC。

Caroline和Christopher的工作不仅仅局限于考古颅面复原。他们还在大学解剖和人脸识别中心(CAHID)开设《医学艺术》和《法医艺术和人脸识别》的理科硕士课程。他们还与政策制定者密切合作,积极参与医学和法医案件及人脸识别技术事宜,为英国刑事司法体系提供不少证据。

中心近日找到Artec的英国黄金合作伙伴Patrick Thorn & Co.同时添置了Artec Eva 3D扫描仪和教育套餐,升级中心现有的成像技术。

Patrick已安装了Artec系统,并针对这一系统和Artec Studio 3D扫描和后期处理软件的功能进行了为期一天的综合培训。Patrick拜访CAHID时,恰好遇到了BBC纪录片团队中的一员,正和Christopher一起为《Inside Out》节目录制一集有关颅面复原的节目,其中涉及了一些当地报道和全英范围内的调查。

Christopher Rynn博士剧照,正在BBC《Inside Out》节目中为观众讲解颅面复原过程。图片来自BBC

“目前,扫描仪深受学生喜爱,他们正在学习法医颅面复原技术来帮助识别身份不明的人类遗骸,”Caroline Erolin说道。“学生在头骨模具上练习,这些模型取自生命个体的CT(计算机断层扫描)数据,而非真正的头骨。但是现在,我们可以直接扫描这些头骨了。”

复原过程包括在头骨上重构面部解剖。既可通过在模具外添加泥土,也可使用电脑为扫描文件进行数字建模的方式来完成。Caroline表示数码方式有诸多好处:这种方法不会破坏真正的头骨,并且一旦完成数字化过程,复原的各层都可以独立查看和建模。完成以后,最终的颅面复原成品还可以和活生生的个体面部进行对比。

其中一项课程作业要求学生复原蜡质面部肌肉,完成一个细节丰富、生动形象的解剖模型。这一作业可帮助学生在完成上述复原过程前,先学会面部解剖和雕刻技术。几位学生都使用了Artec Eva扫描自己的模型,并创建了数字文件,可在Artec的Viewshape网站和其他3D模型展馆与他人分享互动。

Artec Studio中理科硕士法医艺术课程学生作业(描绘打哈欠状态)扫描文件。

CAHID人员参与的另一个项目需要为达西·汤普森动物学藏品进行数字化操作。大学的动物学博物馆收藏了众多来自世界各地的奇妙标本。这些藏品都可在线浏览。大多数标本由知名的达西·温特沃斯·汤普森爵士收集,他是邓迪大学的首位生物学教授,也是具有广泛影响力的1917年首版《生长和形态》一书的作者。

项目希望可以让更多人接触到这些藏品,包括普通大众、当地居民和教师学生。扫描完成后,即可建立一座在线博物馆,在这里,您可查看标本3D模型并与其互动。还有部分可进行3D打印,因此可在公开日供人们触摸或送往学校。

Caroline在达西·汤普森动物学博物馆扫描大猩猩骨架。

“许多标本都非常复杂,并且需要从不同角度进行多次扫描,”Caroline说道。例如,一个头骨至少需要扫描两次,一次从‘顶部’扫描,另一次从‘底部’扫描。如果下颌骨需单独扫描,那么次数就会更多。”

达西·汤普森动物学博物馆中的海象头骨扫描,使用Artec Eva完成。

“头骨扫描非常麻烦,因为它们包含许多精密的细节和凹面,”Caroline补充道。“但是Eva几乎可以完美捕捉到大部分的细节。扫描仪的便携性也帮了大忙,我们可以把它带去博物馆,配套Artec电池组和笔记本电脑,进行现场扫描。Eva的纹理捕获效果也非常棒,还可以导出至其他3D软件,比如ZBrush。”

向学生们展示Artec解决方案的简易操作。

Artec Eva带来的成功体验以及与Patrick Thorn的合作,促使CAHID购置了一台Artec Space Spider来扫描细节更丰富的小型标本。Eva的大型物体扫描加上Space Spider的细节处理能力,给中心的专家带来了完美解决方案。

“添置以后我们可以教授学生更多的3D扫描技术,从大型大象头骨到动物幼体小型骨骼样本,”Caroline说道。“之前我们使用的是更为基础激光扫描仪,无法捕获到相同水平的细节内容或色彩纹理,这一直以来都是限制我们的一大因素。而现在,3D扫描技术变得不再价格高昂、操作繁琐。”

Artec Eva完成的扫描,CAHID骨骼藏品中完成头颅粘合的成人头骨。

CAHID计划还包括系列骨骼藏品数字化,其中包含青年骨骼朔伊尔藏品(Scheuer Collection)。朔伊尔藏品被认为是世界唯一的青年骨骼遗骸活跃收藏地。这套藏品中有100多位未成年个体的骨骼遗骸,收集自许多不同的考古和历史解剖来源。许多标本由于脆弱,因此禁止触摸。但通过标本数字化,我们就可以向学生提供网络视觉接触渠道,并在课堂提供3D打印的标本。

欢迎咨询

Anatomical 3D visualization: Scanning bones to reconstruct the appearance of people and animals

A recent addition to the forensic reconstruction toolkit at the University of Dundee, Artec’s Eva and Space Spider 3D scanners help scientists advance their research.

How much like us did our human ancestors and ancient people look? That’s a question artists and scientists like Caroline Erolin and Dr Christopher Rynn from the University of Dundee, Scotland are trying to get answers to. Caroline and Christopher specialize in anatomical 3D visualization and can reconstruct the appearance of a deceased human based on their skull bones.

Archaeological facial reconstruction is in high demand among museums and documentary film makers. Most recently the face of “Thankerton Man” was reconstructed for the Biggar and Upper Clydesdale Museum in Scotland. Found in a stone cist in the Scottish village of Thankerton in 1970, the skull was radiocarbon-dated to between 2460 BC and 2140 BC and thought to have been that of a man aged 18 to 25.

“Thankerton man,” reconstructed at the University of Dundee. Image courtesy of the BBC

Caroline and Christopher’s work is not limited to archaeological facial reconstruction alone. They actually run MSc’s in Medical Art and Forensic Art and Facial Identification at the University’s Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification (CAHID). They work with policy-makers and are actively involved in medical and forensic casework and facial identification, providing evidence to the UK criminal justice system.

The Centre recently turned to Patrick Thorn & Co., Artec’s UK Gold Partner, to purchase an Artec Eva 3D scanner together with an educational package, as part of the Centre’s move to upgrade its current methods of imaging.

Patrick himself installed the Artec system and conducted a one-day comprehensive training course on it and the capabilities of Artec Studio 3D scanning and post-processing software. His visit to CAHID happened to coincide with the one of a BBC documentary crew, who filmed an episode about facial reconstruction with Christopher for the “Inside Out” program, which covers regional stories and investigations throughout the UK.

A still of Dr Christopher Rynn talking the viewers of the BBC’s “Inside Out” program through the facial reconstruction process. Image courtesy of the BBC

“So far the scanner has been a great hit with the students, who amongst other things are learning forensic facial reconstruction techniques to aid in the recognition of unidentified human remains,” says Caroline Erolin. “The students practice their skills on casts of skulls taken from CT [computed tomography] data of living individuals rather than live cases. However, we now can scan skull bones as well.”

The reconstruction process involves rebuilding the facial anatomy upon the skull. This can either be done in clay upon the cast or digitally modelled onto a scan in the computer. Caroline says that there are a number of advantages to working on a scan: it doesn’t damage the actual skull and once digitized, the layers of the reconstruction can be viewed and modelled independently. Once completed, the final facial reconstruction can be compared to the face of the living individual.

One piece of coursework involves reconstructing the facial muscles in wax to create a detailed and lifelike anatomical model. This piece helps teach the students both facial anatomy and sculptural skills in advance of working on the reconstructions described above. A number of students have used Artec Eva to scan their models and create digital versions that can be shared and interacted with online using Artec’s Viewshape site and other 3D model galleries.

Scan of MSc Forensic Art student coursework (depicting a yawn) in Artec Studio.

Another project CAHID’s staff are involved with is digitizing the D’Arcy Thompson Zoology collection. The University’s Zoology Museum houses many fascinating specimens from around the world. The collection can be browsed online. Most of the specimens were collected by the celebrated Sir D’Arcy Wentworth Thompson, the first Professor of Biology at Dundee and author of the influential 1917 book ‘On Growth and Form.’

The hope is to make the collection more accessible to everyone, including the general public and local population as well as staff and students. Once scanned the intention is to create a virtual online museum where 3D models of specimens can be viewed and interacted with. Some will also be 3D printed so they can be handled at open days and taken to schools.

Caroline scans a gorilla skeleton at the D’Arcy Thompson Zoology Museum.

“Many of the specimens are quite complex and require multiple scans from different angles,” Caroline says. For example, a skull usually requires at least two scans, one for the ‘top’ surface and another for the ‘bottom.’ There may be more if the mandible is scanned separately.”

Scan of a Walrus skull from the D’Arcy Thompson Zoology Museum, made with Artec Eva.

“Skulls can be tricky objects to scan as they contain so many intricate details and concavities,” Caroline adds. “However Eva seems to be able to capture most of these details well. It helps that the scanner is so portable, as it can be taken into the museum for scanning on site with the aid of the Artec battery pack and our laptop. The texture capture of Eva is excellent and exports well for use in other 3D software such as ZBrush.”

Showing a group of students how easy it is to use the Artec solution.

Following up on their successful experience with Artec Eva and cooperation with Patrick Thorn, CAHID have purchased an Artec Space Spider to enable the capture of smaller and more detailed specimens. Plus combining the larger scans of Eva with Space Spider’s finer detail is a perfect solution for the Centre’s specialists.

“It will also allow us to teach our students a wider range of 3D scanning techniques from large specimens such as elephant skulls down to the smallest juvenile osteology samples,” Caroline says. “Previously we used more basic laser scanners that did not capture the same levels of detail or any color texture, which was a limiting factor for us. 3D scanning has never been more affordable and easy to perform than it is now.”

A scan made using Artec Eva, of an adult skull having undergone cranial binding from CAHID’s skeletal collection.

CAHID’s plans include digitizing its extensive skeletal collections, including the Scheuer Collection of juvenile osteology. The Scheuer Collection is believed to be the only active repository for juvenile skeletal remains held anywhere in the world. It consists of the remains of over 100 sub-adult individuals, collected from archaeological and historical anatomical sources. Many of these specimens are very fragile and handling them is highly restricted. By digitizing the collection they will become accessible to students online visually and also as 3D printed specimens for use in class.

Ask a question