逆向制作F1赛车,完成迷你模型3D打印

概要:英国一家机床制造商打算通过3D扫描和打印技术制作F1赛车的小型精密模型。

目标:使用两台不同的扫描仪对F1赛车整车进行扫描,以最高的精度和速度完成从车顶到车底的捕获。

使用工具:Artec Eva, Artec Studio

Artec 3D扫描仪应用于产品生命周期的各个阶段,是不可或缺的工具。从原型制造到逆向工程,或为数据品控分析制作3D模型,3D扫描都是快速完成工艺流的关键所在。

逆向工程需要捕获物体技术细节和构成,来进行提高、改善或再创造。这项技术广泛应用于诸多行业,包括工业工程、汽车、航空、制造、电子工业,能通过捕获、分析、拆分数字3D复制品,还原物体最初造型。

逆向工程采用3D扫描的趋势越来越流行,这是由于这项技术的精确效果和便捷的使用体验。Artec 3D解决方案准确度和3D捕获速度惊人,同时智能后期处理软件Artec Studio 11还能自动处理大量数据,制作3D模型。此外,由于设备易于携带,它们还能配合电池组,在没有固定电源的地方使用,因此能涉足一些难以触及的区域。

3D技术在逆向工程领域的一大精彩案例就是伯明翰一家机床制造商请Artec英国合作商Central Scanning和CAD&CAM解决方案先进供应商Delcam,为他们的F1赛车制作等比例3D模型,并完成约300毫米大小的车模3D打印。

您还可以在优酷Artec频道
观看此视频

首先,对汽车进行3D扫描,随后在Delcam逆向工程软件包PowerSHAPE中处理收集的数据。

PowerSHAPE中完成的F1成品模型。

“这次扫描由我们完成,作为一次测试,对比两种扫描系统的效果,”来自Central Scanning的Paul Smith表示。

车身由Steinbichler Comet L3D捕获,驾驶座、方向盘、叉杆式悬架、后扰流板、侧翼后视镜等其他一些Steinbichler Comet无法捕获的区域由Artec Eva完成3D扫描。

“我们选择Eva,是因为它的便携性和速度,另外,我们也无需使用任何标记,能轻松跟上画面图像,”Paul说道。

Artec Studio 10中的部分驾驶座。

这辆车在车主的接待区和工作坊内完成3D扫描;两处均有良好稳定的灯光,但没有阳光直射,因为阳光会影响数据捕获。

Paul和我们分享了一些汽车部件扫描的简化技巧。

“在叉杆式悬架后面加些东西,比如有图案的纸张,可以让扫描仪追踪到纹理,捕获到细叉杆的几何,”他说道。

叉杆附近还有一些深色碳纤维区域——我们在这里做了轻微的喷涂。扰流板附近的反光区也做了轻微喷涂,可以加快捕获速度,更为方便。

“我们很喜欢使用Artec Eva,因为不需要校准,设置方便,还能处理高难度区域,”Paul表示。

全局配准时,大部分数据采用标准设置处理,不加纹理,以加快处理速度。Artec和Steinbichler的庞大数据集随后在PolyWorks合成。

3D数据合成网格。

成品250Mb STL 3D模型,大约包含850万个三角形,随后通过PowerSHAPE Pro在Delcam完成整个逆向制作。复杂的双曲线区域适合采用表面建模,棱柱部分适合采用实体建模。

来自Delcam的James Slater解释道,“汽车的前后翼进行实体建模,首先取部分网格,并将这部分突出,然后通过简单的布尔运算,将分散部分整合起来。这项工作实际是由一位暑期实习学生完成的,项目开始前,他只接受了一周的培训。同时,我们一位资深工程师负责车身表面构造这项更艰巨的任务。最终效果包含大量细节,任何其他软件几乎都无法完成这样一款表面实体混合3D模型。当然,对任何一项逆向工程而言,最重要的是要有高品质的准确网格。”

F1汽车的3D打印成品。

F1赛车缩放模型特写。

赛车进行了全尺寸表面处理。缩放比例后,对一些纤细的部位,尤其是叉杆和扰流板在PowerSHAPE中加粗。汽车数字模型最终以0.016毫米的层厚由Objet Eden 500V完成3D打印。

联系我们

3D scanning for reverse engineering

Artec’s 3D scanners are indispensable tools, used throughout all a product’s lifecycle (PL) stages.  Ranging from creating prototypes to reverse engineering, or making a 3D model for quality control analysis of data, 3D scanning is vital to achieving the fastest workflow.

Reverse engineering involves capturing the technological details and composition of an object in order to augment, improve or recreate it. Used in a variety of industries, such as industrial engineering, automotive, aviation, manufacturing, electronics and many others, it allows replicating the initial object by capturing, analysing and disassembling its digital 3D replica.

The use of 3D scanning for reverse engineering is becoming more popular than ever before, due to the precise results achievable and the ease of use. Artec’s 3D solutions provide both impressive accuracy as well as the ability to capture an object in 3Dat speed, while the smart post-processing software, Artec Studio 11 is able to process large amounts of data automatically in order to create the 3D model. Moreover, due to the portability of the devices, they are able to get to the object’s hard to reach places, and when coupled with the battery pack, do not require a fixed power source.

A great example of using 3D technology for reverse engineering is this project initiated by a Birmingham-based tool manufacturer that tasked Artec’s British partners Central Scanning and a leading supplier of CAD & CAM solutions Delcam with making a scale 3D replica of their F1 car so it could be 3D printed at a size of approximately 300 mm.

The car was 3D scanned, and then the collected data was processed in Delcam’s reverse engineering software package PowerSHAPE.

The finished model of the F1 car in PowerSHAPE.

“This scan was done by us as a test to see what could be achieved using two types of scanning systems,” said Paul Smith of Central Scanning.

The main body of the car was captured using a Steinbichler Comet L3D, and then the driver’s cockpit, steering wheel, wishbone suspension, rear spoiler, wing mirrors and areas that could not be easily reached with Steinbichler Comet were 3D scanned with Artec Eva.

“We selected the Eva because of its portability and speed, plus we do not need to add markers, it easily follows the graphics,” Paul said.

Part of the cockpit in Artec Studio 10.

The car was 3D scanned in the owner’s reception area and workshop; both areas had good stable lighting but no direct sunlight because this would affect the data capture.

Paul has shared with us a few tips on how to capture car parts easier.

“Adding something behind the wishbone suspension units, like paper with graphics, enables the scanner to track the texture and capture the geometry of the thin wishbone,” he said.

There were some dark carbon fibre areas around the wishbones – those were sprayed very lightly. Light reflections around the spoiler areas were also sprayed lightly to ease and quicken the capture.

“We liked using Artec Eva because it needed no calibration and was quick to set up and capture in these tricky areas,” Paul said.

Most of the data was processed using standard settings and without texture during global registration to speed up the process. The Artec and Steinbichler big data sets were then merged in PolyWorks.

The mesh created from the 3D data.

The completed 250Mb STL 3D model, approximately 8.5 million triangles, was then fully reverse engineered at Delcam using PowerSHAPE Pro. Complex doubly-curved regions were most suited to surface modelling, while more prismatic parts could be formed most efficiently using solids.

As James Slater of Delcam explained, “The front and rear fins of the car were modelled as solids, created by taking sections through the mesh, extruding them and then merging the separate pieces together using simple Boolean operations. This work was actually done by a summer placement student, who had only had one week’s training before embarking on the project. Meanwhile, one of our more experienced engineers was tackling the more demanding surface construction needed for the body. The end result was a fully detailed, hybrid surface and solid 3D model that would be virtually impossible to make using any other software. Of course, one of the most important things in any RE project is to have a high quality, accurate mesh to start with.”

The printed 3D replica of the F1 car.

A close-up of the scale model of the F1 car.

The car was surfaced at full size. Once it was scaled down, some of the thinner areas, in particular the wishbones and spoilers were thickened up in PowerSHAPE. The digital copy of the car was then 3D printed on Objet Eden 500V with a print layer of 0.016 mm.

Ask a question