肯辛顿如尼符石

使用 A rtec Eva 与 Space Spider 扫描。 Eva 用来完成整个石块的扫描,并制作高品质数字模 型,与此同时, Space Spider 完成如尼文的扫描, 细致刻画如尼文的石刻符号和周围的石 块情况,最后,整合所有扫描数据,制作最终模型。

扫描时间: 
<1小时
处理时间: 
1小时用于初始彩色模型制作 4 小时用于最终高分辨率模型制作

所有扫描工作在一小时内完成。后期处理时间:最初彩色模型制作花费1小时,最终高分辨率模型制作花费4小时。其余时间主要用于确保3D模型成品无缝衔接,精确反应了肯辛顿如尼石刻。

Laser Design’s 3D扫描专家Kevin Shain曾这样描述后期处理过程:“首先,我先把所有原始数据复制到工作区。因为整个如尼石项目只有一天时间,所以我需要又快又好地完成工作,当然我也有应急预案,以应对出错或需要部分重做的情况。”

“随后,我先处理了Eva数据,获得如尼石刻的整体情况。我先扫描了如尼石刻的正面,随后翻转扫描背面。在进行下一步之前,我先为每一侧进行了全局对准,确保对齐时没有差错。保险起见,扫描前,我在如尼石周围放上了彩色标记物,所以我没有采用自动基底移除功能。”

“标记物还是较有帮助的,因为模糊色块可以一目了然地显示出对齐不准的区域。但是所有色块都非常清楚鲜艳,所以我确定全局对准效果不错。有人说桌面的纹路也发挥了不小的作用,确实,要感谢桌纹的配合,但最终我使用基地移除功能,将其删除了。

“删除桌面后,我对齐了顶部和底部的Eva数据集。对齐过程非常顺利,于是我为两侧也进行了全局对准,之后进行了轻度的异常值移除,最后进行尖锐融合。之后,我对数据进行了简化和纹理处理,制作出如尼石刻的首个彩色3D模型。下一步就是要将其与高分辨率Space Spider数据进行整合。”

“首先,我为Space Spider的每组扫描数据进行了全局对准,确保没有一处对齐错误。为简化工序,我在对齐工具中将已完成的Eva模型作为配准数据集,随后将每一份Space Spider扫描数据放入Eva数据的相应位置。效果完美!”

“Space Spider和Eva数据完美匹配。我为所有数据进行了最后一次全局配准,然后进行了异常值移除,最后进行尖锐融合。最终,我们得到了完整的高分辨率肯辛顿如尼石3D模型。”

联系我们

The Kensington Runestone

Scanned with Artec Eva and Space Spider. Eva was used to scan the entire stone, resulting in a superb digital replica, while Space Spider scanned the runes themselves, for a deeper view of the engraving marks and the surrounding stone, after which all scans were combined into one final model.

Scanning time: 
<1 hour
Processing time: 
1 hour for initial color results; 4 hours for final, maximum-resolution results

Scanned with Artec Eva and Space Spider. Eva was used to scan the entire stone, resulting in a superb digital replica, while Space Spider scanned the runes themselves, for a deeper view of the engraving marks and the surrounding stone, after which all scans were combined into one final model.

All scans were completed in under one hour. Post-processing time: 1 hour for initial color results, 4 hours for final, maximum-resolution results. This extra time taken was to ensure that the 3D model is a seamless, magnificent digital copy of the Kensington Runestone.

In the words of Laser Design’s 3D scanning expert Kevin Shain, here’s how the post processing was done: “First I duplicated all the raw data in the workspace. Having only one day with the Runestone, I needed to work fast and accurately, but also have a backup plan in case something went wrong and I needed to go back a few steps.”

“Next, I processed the Eva data to achieve the ‘macro view’ of the Runestone. I had scanned the Runestone face up for the first step, then carefully turned it over to scan the underside. Before I did anything else, I ran global registration on each side to make sure everything was fine before alignment. Just to be safe, I had put color markings around the Runestone before scanning, so I didn’t select automatic base removal.”

“The markings were helpful, because blurry colors are a sure sign of misalignments. But the color was sharp and crisp, so I was confident in the registration. One could say the texture on the table ‘sparked joy’ for the processing, and so I thanked it for its service and then deleted it, using the base removal tool.”

“After deleting the table, I aligned top and bottom Eva datasets together. Alignment went perfectly, so I ran a final global registration on both sides together, followed by a mild outlier removal process, finishing up with a sharp fusion. Then I simplified that data and texturized it to create the first color 3D model of the Runestone. The next step was to combine this data with the super high resolution Space Spider data.”

“For the Space Spider portion, I ran global registration on each of the Space Spider scan data sets to confirm everything was fine with no misalignments. To make things easier, I used the existing EVA model as the registered dataset in the Align tool to bring each of my Space Spider scans to the position of the EVA data. It worked perfectly!”

“The Space Spider and EVA data completely matched. I ran the last global registration on everything, followed by an outlier removal, and finally sharp fusion. The result was a complete, high resolution 3D model of the Kensington Runestone.”