Artec Space Spider为种植牙患者找回迷人微笑

概要:一位种植牙专业医院需要一种为患者快速准确对齐患者脸部与牙齿的数字化方式,从而设计出外观自然、佩戴舒适的种植牙。

目标:使用专业手持式彩色3D扫描仪,数字捕获患者脸部,并将这些扫描与口腔内扫描合并,制作出完美的种植牙,还给患者美丽的微笑。

使用工具:Artec Space Spider

现在,超过300万美国人都有种植牙,这一数据还在以每年50万的速度增长。超过3500万美国人有一侧的牙齿都没有了,所以,种植牙需求空前,对婴儿潮这代人而言尤为如此。

和假牙、牙冠不同,种植牙通常跟随患者终身。它们几乎和自然生长的牙齿一样坚固,不会蛀牙,看起来也和正常牙齿别无二致。但是,若想实现这些目标,种植牙需要精心设计,精确吻合患者口腔。否则会带来包括错位在内的极大并发症风险。

一家种植牙医院Center for Implant Dentistry开始采用3D扫描作为部分高科技技术,配合其他方式,一起为患者制作完美贴合的种植牙。在过去,他们采用2D摄影术加Trios口腔扫描仪的方式,但最终效果常常不准确,而且两种方式在送去实验室前后都需要耗费大量时间。

后来,他们尝试了一种价格便宜的3D脸部扫描仪,发现尽管扫描轨迹没错,但低劣的扫描质量反而造成了更多问题。

Jain医生和Center for Implant Dentistry在Fernando Polanco, CDT的帮助下找到了解决方法,他们尝试了多台手持和牙齿扫描仪,最终决定使用Artec独特的3D Space Spider扫描仪,它能轻松稳定地推进AllOnX Tx工艺,不仅可以提升速度,还能简化这一复杂流程。

Polanco通过Artec金牌授权经销商Digitize Designs的3D扫描专家Bo Helmrich购买了Space Spider。

“就脸部和牙齿扫描而言,市面上没有哪款扫描仪可以和Space Spider在速度、灵活度、准确度方面媲美,”Bo Helmrich说道。

这款扫描仪填补了空缺。Space Spider是一款高精度手持式彩色3D结构光扫描仪,扫描速度快,上手快,使用简单。扫描可直接在备受业界赞誉的Artec Studio软件中完成,您可以实时在屏幕上看到扫描。“大约仅需10秒钟,就可以完成患者的整脸扫描,不到3秒就能扫描完剩下的笑脸,因为所有脸部都需要和上排牙齿对齐,确保位置准确。随后,再花4-5分钟完成后期处理,” Polanco表示。

Polanco制作了一套独特的方法,使整个流程既快速又简单。Polanco曾在一篇CBCT杂志文章中谈到,Artec Spider扫描仪结合数字牙科,使整个设计流程更便于技工操作。

Sambhav Jain医生解释道,Space Spider在整个流程中发挥着关键作用:“我们可以让患者坐在椅子上,在办公室直接扫描。而且患者愿意耐心等待,和这项科技充分互动,一睹自己未来的笑容,他们因为牙齿问题,已经不爱笑了,所以2D照片制作方式,对我们来说比较困难。但如果我们给他们看到用Space Spider制作的3D人脸,就能解决很多复杂问题。每次看到模型效果,他们都非常惊艳,对我们十分认可与信任。“

上述扫描完成后,这些扫描数据将与口腔扫描仪数据相结合。随后,在3Shape或ExoCAD 牙科CAD软件中合成,这里的效果就是患者看到的术后真实效果。

“3D模型可以帮助我们将患者的微笑与整个脸型匹配起来。同时,设计笑容时,我们还接受患者的意见。如果没有脸部扫描,患者就无法形象地看到最终的牙齿效果,除非有一种整合整个脸部的逼真效果,”Jain医生说道。

在患者的帮助下,医生可以设计他们的全新笑容。通过尝试不同形状和尺寸的牙齿,医生可以调整上下牙弓的新建3D模型,同时,患者也能明确看到今后自己脸上的微笑是什么模样。

通常这时,患者们都会很激动,期待看到未来的笑容。在这家诊所,越来越多的患者欣然接受这项技术。

如果患者对屏幕上的效果感到满意,那么最终的3D模型就会发送给实验室,制作全新种植牙,等一切就绪,即可进行手术。

等待手术的全新种植牙

种植牙制作完成后,通过手术装入患者口中。之后的几天到几周内,患者逐渐适应全新牙齿,并定期随访,进行检查和调整。牙医发现,使用这些种植牙后,最初几次检查时所需的调整工作变得和以前大不一样了。

过去,使用传统老方法,会带来很多并发症,需要进行大量调整。也就是说,患者需要多次返回诊所。但现在,使用最精确的3D扫描和模型,患者不再需要经常调整他们的种植牙。而且,患者非常喜欢自己的全新笑容和微笑的感觉。

术后的种植牙

并发症与副作用也大幅减少,这点对于诊所而言很有意义。患者对护理质量和整个流程的满意度也明显提高。

此外,由于每位患者复诊的次数(以及每次复诊的时长)都有所减少,所以医生现在有更多的时间来接待、诊治其他患者。

联系我们

Artec Space Spider helps give dental implant patients their perfect smiles

Summary: A dental implant specialty practice needed to find a way to digitally align patients' teeth with their faces, quickly and precisely, for designing implants that look natural and feel great.

The Goal: To use a professional handheld color 3D scanner for digitally capturing patients' faces, then to combine these scans with intraoral scans for creating impeccable implants and beautiful smiles.

Tool Used: Artec Space Spider

Today, more than 3 million Americans have dental implants, and that number is climbing by 500,000+ every year. In excess of 35 million Americans are missing all their teeth in one of both of their jaws, and the need for dental implants has never been greater, especially for the baby boomer generation.

Unlike dentures and crowns, dental implants are built to last a lifetime. They’re nearly as strong as your natural teeth, they don’t get cavities, and they look so real that no one will ever know the difference. But in order to function as they’re intended, implants need to be designed and fitted with the utmost care and precision. Otherwise there can be a significant risk of complications, including misalignment.

One dental implant practice, the Center for Implant Dentistry, has embraced 3D scanning as part of its synergistic, high-tech process for delivering perfectly aligned implants to their patients. In the past, they were using 2D photography combined with a Trios intraoral scanner, yet they found that the results were, at best, inaccurate and required too much time to work with both before and after sending to the lab.

They then tried out an inexpensive 3D face scanner, and that was when they realized that although they were headed in the right direction, the low quality of the scans was creating more problems than it was solving.

Dr. Jain and the Center for Implant Dentistry found their solution, with the help of Fernando Polanco, CDT, who researched many handheld and dental scanners and finally settled upon Artec for its unique 3D Space Spider scanner, which very easily and reliably facilitates the workflow of his AllOnX Tx procedure, making this complex process both faster and simple at the same time.

Polanco worked with 3D scanning expert Bo Helmrich at Artec Gold Certified Reseller Digitize Designs to purchase the Space Spider.

“No scanner on the market can match the combination of speed, flexibility, and accuracy that the Space Spider can for face and teeth scanning,” said Bo Helmrich.

This was the missing piece of the puzzle. A high-precision, handheld color 3D structured light scanner, Space Spider scans quickly, and is easy to learn and use. Scanning takes place directly within the industry-acclaimed Artec Studio software, where you see your scan appearing on the screen in real time. “It takes about 10 seconds for the patient to have their entire face scanned, and less than 3 seconds to scan the rest of their smile, since all faces need to be aligned to the upper teeth to make the alignment accurate. Then just another 4-5 minutes for post processing,” said Polanco.

Polanco created a unique protocol which makes the process both fast and simple. The integration of the Artec Spider scanner with digital dentistry makes the design process easier for the technician, as was explained in this CBCT magazine article by Polanco.

Dr. Sambhav Jain explained how Space Spider takes center stage in the process: “We do the scan right there in the office with the patient in the chair. And patients don’t mind waiting to see their new smile and interacting with such technology, since taking 2D photos was hard for us because our patients had lost their confidence in smiling, because many of them had broken or missing teeth. But by showing them a 3D face instead, the kind we generate with the help of Space Spider, this solves our problems in these complex cases. When they see the results, they are very often quite impressed and positive and trust us.”

Following the procedure described above, these scans are then combined with a scan from an intraoral scanner. After this, a composite of the scans is brought together in 3Shape or ExoCAD dental CAD software, which is where the patient gets to see their new smile coming to life on the screen.

"The 3D model helps us in matching the smile with the patient’s overall face. Also, we take the patient’s input in designing their smile. Without the face scan, the patient cannot visualize how the final teeth will look until they see them in a lifelike way, integrated with their entire face," said Dr. Jain.

With the patient’s help, the doctor designs their new smile. Using libraries of different shapes and sizes of teeth, the doctor modifies the newly created 3D model of the upper and lower arches, while the patient sees exactly how their new smile will look in conjunction with the rest of their face.

At this point is when patients get excited and begin looking forward to their new smiles. The practice has seen a dramatic rise in the immediate approval rate of patients who say yes to the procedure.

Once the patient is happy with what they see on the screen, the final 3D model is sent over to the in house lab for creating the new implants, and this way, everything will be all set for the day of surgery.

New implants ready for placement

Once the implants are ready, they’re surgically placed into the patient’s mouth. In the days and weeks to come, the patient will be adapting to their new teeth, occasionally visiting the implant center for check-ups and fine tuning. What the doctors have seen is a substantial difference in the fine tuning needed during these initial visits.

In the past, with the older, traditional method, there were more complications and significantly more adjustments needed. That meant more office visits. But today, by starting out with the most precise 3D scans and models possible, the implants the patients are receiving require little in the way of fine tuning. And patients love how their new smiles look and feel.

New implants perfectly in place

Complications and side effects have been reduced to a bare minimum, and the results for the practice have been immense. Patient satisfaction with the quality of care and the entire procedure has risen dramatically.

On top of that, because the needed number of follow-up visits for (and hours spent with) each patient has dropped, the doctors now have extra time to welcome and treat new patients.