“过去20小时,现在仅需1小时。”Artec 3D Space Spider扫描仪大大缩短了瑞士巧克力兔包装时间

概要:面对日益增长的产品需求,瑞士食品包装制造商需要找到智能包装解决方案,大幅缩减巧克力兔和圣诞老人的处理时间和成本。

目标:为削减生产时间、支出,应对制作全新包装的挑战,将过去需要花费20小时的整套流程大幅缩短。

使用工工具:Artec Space Spider, Artec Studio

Artec Space Spider为瑞士包装材料生产商节省时间与金钱。

庆祝生日、度假或在一些特殊场合,人人都爱糖果,那些包装材料生产商也继续遵循古老的生产准则——人们用眼睛挑选食物。因此,他们每年不定期为全球的商场供应圣诞老人和兔子形状的巧克力。食品包装越吸引眼球,它们被加入购物车的概率就更大。皆大欢喜。

但鲜为人知的是,设计这样复杂的包装需要很大投入。加之现在越来越多的人开始呼吁使用方便生产的环保型或定制型包装,所以制造商采用Artec 3D高效3D扫描解决方案似乎是一条很好的出路。

Bachmann Forming AG正是这么做的。Bachmann Forming AG成立于1966年,属于瑞士Bachmann家族企业,总部位于卢塞恩附近的霍赫多夫。他们生产智能高品质定制化包装解决方案,出现在各大超市里常见的糖果、笑脸巧克力兔和巧克力圣诞老人身上。

为提升生产工艺,Bachmann Forming AG开始尝试融入Artec最新款3D扫描仪。Artec官方金牌瑞士合作商3D Model AG为Bachmann Forming AG提供了自己的Artec 3D工具。为确保公司能够通力合作,顺利生产,他们还提供了全套培训。“复制外形的工作从未如此简单。很高兴,在我们的协助下,我们的客户Bachmann Forming可以简化并加速生产流程,”3D Model AG的Christiane Fimpel说道。

 

Artec 3D代替了耗时的手工制模过程

以前,我们需要制作外形母版或预备工具,直到十年前,我们都是手工制作这些原始模型的。通常,我们用手动铣床切割,或用塑料土制作再打磨。视产品不同,整个制作过程往往可达20小时之久。

于是问题来了,制造商是如何为今天的巧克力兔制作现代化新包装的呢?

答案就是数字化的出现。近年来,科技发展几乎彻底革新了他们的生产流程。现在,他们先通过电脑设计预备工具,如CAD,然后再通过数控铣床制作而成。

但是,Bachmann Forming AG希望找到集速度与精度于一身的有机几何数字化方式。由于食品的加工往往不使用CAD数据,所以如果能找到这样的解决方案,那对于食品包装行业而言,将是巨大的福利。

于是Artec Space Spider登场了,它是Artec 3D最畅销的高分辨率3D成像仪……

Jörg Nussbaum扫描模型母版

 

Artec,无需标靶

Bachmann Forming AG常常会遇到一些复杂的物体,而且手工制作会非常耗时。即便采用一些扫描方式,问题也依然存在。很多扫描仪需要在物体上粘贴标记或定位点,以确保追踪连贯,并对齐扫描。显然,面对食物,这么做就显得不切实际了,就像Bachmann的设计工程师Jörg Nussbaum所说,“尤其是巧克力或者果仁糖,很难往它们身上贴什么东西。”

所以,Bachmann Forming AG开始使用Artec的Space Spider也毫不意外。“Artec Space Spider简单易用,对几何和纹理的追踪效果让我们刮目相看,”Nussbaum补充道。“在设计阶段,色彩捕获功能实现了相片级的视觉效果。”

确实,和其他3D扫描仪相比,Artec设备的主要优势就是它们的算法,可以分析物体的几何与色彩数据。此外,在捕获外形、纹理和色彩时,用户不需要在物体上添加标靶。

制作成品时,Bachmann Forming AG采用加热成形法。首先,加热塑料薄膜至软化。出现真空后,拉伸薄膜盖住母版,母版上的小孔洞会吸附薄膜。贴合模型后,薄膜就获得了模型的外形。随后,Bachmann Forming AG等待薄膜冷却变硬。待薄膜坚固后,即可剥离。

系列图片:

加热成形过程中的巧克力兔

 

兔子扫描,一步一脚印

巧克力兔做完后,可以开始扫描了。先从各个角度扫描兔子,随后在电脑上对齐结果。值得一提的是,巧克力的深棕色在捕获兔子几何时,没有造成任何障碍。只有在处理无色反光表面时,才需要手工操作的介入。

Artec扫描套件的配套软件Artec Studio可以处理接受到的数据,之后还可在Geomagic Design X中进一步进行逆向制作。完成后,所有数据保存为实体模型(STEP数据),或通过CAD界面直接导入至NX(西门子CAD)。在视觉化阶段,可在Artec Studio中创建VRML数据,随后在Cinema 4D(3D绘图软件)中完成渲染。

总之, Bachmann Forming AG仅仅花了一小时的时间就完成整个流程。若使用传统方式,可能要花20倍之久!

Jörg Nussbaum扫描巧克力兔

Artec Studio通常在智能模式下处理扫描数据,可自动进行编辑。用户仅需回答有关扫描物体特征的一些问题即可。随后,Artec Studio会删除不需要的数据,自动对齐扫描,并选择最适合这组数据的有效3D算法。最终,您得到的就是极为精准的3D复制品了。

“看到这么快就能把复杂的外形从手中送至屏幕,实在很有趣。可以在这里使用3D扫描仪,无疑节省了大量时间。仅凭简单易用这一点,这款扫描仪就脱颖而出了——我们对它的效果非常满意,”Nussbaum愉快地表示。

 

更快、更省钱、更精确

通过Artec 3D扫描仪,您可以在公司轻松制作完全符合要求的巧克力包装。“在采用Space Spider之前,我们必须外包这类工作,而外包非常浪费时间,且成本效益低,”Nussbaum回顾道。“外部服务提供商总是一五一十地扫描巧克力兔,包括所有细节,所以他们扫描的3D模型总有巧克力中的坑洞。而现在,我们可以在制作过程中及时干预,删掉这些部分。”

此外,生产过程中图像制作部分外包,往往会增加两周的生产时间,面临市场需求增长,企业主往往觉得力不从心。但掌握了Artec的高性能科技产品,Bachmann Forming AG就可以全权掌控制造需求和流程了。

Nussbaum总结道,“如果我们可以自力更生,那我们就可以在方便的时候,自己完成。在包装领域,人人都需要速度和创新。Artec Space Spider就是帮助我们应对未来各种项目的得力工具。”

加热成形后的巧克力兔

联系我们

Artec’s 3D Space Spider Simplifies Food Package-Making Methods

Artec Space Spider helps Swiss package maker save time and money

While people certainly love their sweets, especially on birthdays, holidays, and other special occasions, packaging manufacturers follow the old adage – we eat with our eyes first. This is why they design beautiful wrappers for the Santa- and bunny-shaped chocolates that make their way to grocery stores worldwide at various times of the year. And, the more attractive their packaging, the higher their chances of ending up in shopping carts. Everyone wins.

Yet few truly know the gargantuan effort given to designing such complex packaging. And now with the ever-increasing trend for sustainable, custom-made packaging that is easy to manufacture, it only made sound sense for packaging manufacturers to turn to Artec 3D’s effective 3D scanning solutions.

This is exactly what Bachmann Forming AG did. Founded in 1966, Bachmann Forming AG is part of the Swiss family-owned company Bachmann with headquarters in Hochdorf, near Lucerne. There they produce to-spec smart packaging solutions of the highest quality, including the ones for those sweet, smiling chocolate bunnies and Santas you see in your local supermarket.

In order to enhance their workflows, Bachmann Forming AG has begun integrating Artec’s state-of-the-art 3D scanners into their production. Artec’s Official Gold Standard Reseller in Switzerland, 3D Model AG, supplied Bachmann Forming AG with their very own Artec 3D tools. And to get the company’s team up and going, they also provided them with full training. “It has never been so easy to get the shape of an object. We are very pleased that, with our support, our customers Bachmann Forming can now streamline and speed up their work process,” says Christiane Fimpel of 3D Model AG.

 

Artec 3D cuts out the lengthy process of manual molding

In the past, you had to create a master form or pilot tool, and up until ten years ago, most of the original models were done by hand. They were usually cut out with a hand milling machine or molded from plasticine then polished. All together the process could take up to twenty long hours, depending on the product.

So, how does a manufacturer modernize the package-making process for the modern chocolate rabbit?

The advent of digitization has the answer. Recent technology has dramatically revolutionized, if not entirely supplanted, this procedure. Pilot tools are now designed with the help of computers, i.e. CAD, and manufactured on CNC-controlled milling machines.

But Bachmann Forming AG was on the look out for a way to digitize organic geometries that combined incredible speed and precision. Given that food is usually produced without CAD data, finding a solution would be a big boon to the food packaging industry.

So in comes Artec Space Spider – one of Artec 3D’s best-selling, high-resolution 3D imagers…

Jörg Nussbaum scanning a master form

 

Marker-free with Artec

Bachmann Forming AG often comes across objects that are too complex and time-consuming to be sized by hand. Even when some scanning solutions are used, this can still be problem. Often scanners require applying adhesive markers or orientation points to the object in order to maintain tracking and align scans. Clearly, with food, this would be impractical, as Jörg Nussbaum, a design engineer at Bachmann, points out, "Especially in the case of chocolate or pralines, it would be pretty hard to stick something on them."

No wonder Bachmann Forming AG turned to Artec’s Space Spider. "We were impressed by the easy usability and the geometry and texture-based tracking of Artec Space Spider," Nussbaum continues. "Capturing color also makes it easy to create photorealistic visualizations in the design phase."

Indeed, one of the key advantages of Artec’s devices is that, unlike other 3D scanners, their algorithms analyze both the geometry and color data of the object. And, there’s never any need to place targets on the object to capture its shape, textures, and colors.

For the final product, Bachmann Forming AG uses a thermoformal process. Here a plastic film is heated first to soften it. Once a vacuum is created, they pull the film over the master form, the small holes of which help draw in the film. By adhering to the model, it takes on the model’s shape. Then Bachmann Forming AG waits for the film to cool down and harden. Only once it becomes solid can it be peeled off.

Image series:

The chocolate bunny during the thermoformal process

 

Bunny scanning one hop at a time 

Once the chocolate bunnies are delivered, scanning can begin. The bunnies are scanned from different sides, and the results are aligned on a computer. It’s worth remarking that the chocolate’s dark color poses no obstacle to capturing the bunny’s full geometry. Only for colorless, reflective surfaces is manual retouching done.

Artec Studio, the software complement in Artec’s scanning suite, processes the data received, which is then further reverse engineered in Geomagic Design X. Once finished, the data is exported as a solid (STEP data) or imported directly into the NX (Siemens CAD) via the CAD interface. For visualization, VRML data is created in Artec Studio and then rendered in Cinema 4D (3D graphics software).

All in all, it takes Bachmann Forming AG only one hour to complete this entire process. Should the traditional method be used, it would take up to 20 times longer!

Jörg Nussbaum scanning a chocolate bunny

Artec Studio usually processes the scan data in autopilot mode, which performs the editing automatically. All the user has to do is answer a few simple questions about the object’s characteristics. Afterwards, Artec Studio deletes any unwanted data, automatically aligns the scans, and chooses the most effective 3D algorithms for the data. The result is an extremely precise 3D replica.

"It's fun to see how quickly complicated shapes can find their way from hand to screen. Being able to use a 3D scanner in house is an immense time advantage. The simple usability is a winning factor - we are very satisfied with the results," says Nussbaum, delighted.

 

Faster, cheaper, more precise

With Artec 3D scanners, you can make chocolate packaging that fits perfectly, and do it in house. "Before we had Space Spider, this kind of work had to be outsourced, which was very time-consuming and cost-intensive," says Nussbaum, looking back. "The external service provider scanned the chocolate bunny as it was, with all the details, so the 3D model also showed all the bumps that were in the chocolate. Now we can immediately intervene in the data processing stage and delete these parts."

Also, because outsourcing the imaging stage of production meant adding two extra weeks to a company’s turnaround time, it was a real drawback to business owners who felt increasingly outpaced by demand. With Artec’s high-performance technology in their arsenal, Bachmann Forming AG can now exercise tremendous control over their manufacturing needs and processes.

Nussbaum concludes, "When we do it ourselves we scan whenever we have time. In the packaging business you have to be fast and innovative. With Artec Space Spider we have found a tool that will help us with many upcoming projects."

The chocolate bunny in the finished thermoform

Contact us