Artec扫描仪为电视剧《行尸之惧》制作CGI模型

概要:视觉特效团队急需在拍摄现场为演员和道具制作3D数字模型,用于制作最高品质的CGI特效。

目标:为道具、物体、演员脸部轻松快速完成细节到位的彩色3D捕获,并将3D模型应用于诸多CGI制作场景。

使用工具:Artec Space Spider

《行尸之惧》特效制作公司添置Artec Space Spider 3D扫描仪,节省了大量时间与成本。

3D扫描技术一直以来都是特效制作不可或缺的一部分。每当导演产生了依靠特技难以付诸现实的想法,那么就需要依靠特效制作师了。基于演员制成的精确3D扫描能够融入到现实画面,展现该人物形象被摧毁、融化、或变形成其他生物的过程。道具也存在同样的问题:并不是每次都能找到合适的道具, 演员与道具的交互也无法每次都满足导演的想象。同样,我们需要依靠3D扫描副本来帮忙。

《行尸之惧》系列中的数件CGI道具。每个场景下的武器都由Artec Space Spider完成3D扫描。在刀刺眼部和截肢场景下,再使用Space Spider分别扫描脸部与臂膀。视频由AMC提供。

 

多部好莱坞票房冠军,如《侏罗纪公园》、《终结者:创世纪》、《僵尸世界大战》等,都借助了Artec 3D扫描技术。现在,我们就来对比一下外包3D扫描服务和使用您自己的3D扫描仪创建CGI道具和数字替身,哪个更高效。

和我们的分享的是来自加利福尼亚州卡拉巴萨斯的fxtc, inc.工作室特效总监Boyd Shermis,这家公司专注设计并导演影视作品特效。Boyd已在这行从业30多年,曾与基努·里维斯合作过《生死时速》,与尼古拉斯·凯奇和安吉丽娜·朱莉合作《惊天动地60秒》,与查宁·塔图姆和乔瑟夫·高登-李维合作《特种部队:眼镜蛇的崛起》。Boyd的工作室常常要制作或重建脸部、手持道具或其他用于制作流程中的各类物体。

多年来,Boyd都将这一工作外包,而最近他代表AMC电视台从Artec的当地合作商Source Graphics处购得结构光3D扫描仪Artec Space Spider一台。他们需要将扫描仪用于AMC《行尸之惧》第三季的制作。Boyd透露,他们选择Artec Space Spider是因其分辨率出众,操作简便,容易购得,而且代价不高。

Artec Space Spider制作的AK步枪3D模型

购买Artec 3D扫描仪前,每当需要对道具或演员进行3D扫描时,Boyd都需要将道具送到一家独立的扫描服务机构,或寻找一家扫描公司前往工作室对演员进行脸部扫描。

“过去,我们的扫描均由知名高端的专业扫描机构完成,质量都很好,”Boyd说道。“但是,这次的片场位于下加利福尼亚,将需要扫描的物品运送到位于洛杉矶的扫描机构不仅会造成很多物流上的问题,而且时间和金钱的成本也非常可观,尤其本次扫描的道具大多还是武器。”

购买Artec Space Spider以后,Boyd不用再通过传统方式得到3D扫描了。在16集片长中,他使用Space Spider扫描了几位演员的脸部、几件道具、前臂和手部。

Artec Space Spider扫描的可伸缩指挥棒3D模型

“Artec Space Spider为我们节省了时间,免去运输的麻烦,我们还能精确控制扫描过程,”Boyd说道,他经常需要每周扫描几件手持道具。为能够高效完成,这些道具被置于一张有图案花纹的旋转台上。这些标识能为扫描仪起到视觉参照的作用,这对于追踪一些无特征表面来说极有帮助。扫描仪记录下这些标识后,便能“理解”正在扫描的区域了。

“我们的旋转台是为扫描配准做好精确标识的,”Boyd说道。“我们还在房间使用了柔和的反射光,如此一来,纹理表面的灯光就能更均匀,色调更到位。”

Fxtc的Jonathan Levi Ortega使用Space Spider为《行尸之惧》扫描一把弯刀

 

扫描完成后,在Artec Studio软件中进行后期处理。数份扫描在此完成配准和融合。扫描数据清理完成后,删除旋转台,完成纹理投射,随后将3D模型以.obj格式文件导出至Maya或3D Studio Max。然后,将3D模型交给下游特效公司,将其融入到真实画面中。“通常,各种武器都要进行追踪和延展,这样就能产生穿透僵尸头骨的效果了,”Boyd说道。

若需要拍摄使用刀具的场景,这一情节会先使用截断的刀具进行拍摄,比如一把没有刀锋的刀。为了能够追踪到刀具的运动轨迹,手柄的每个像素都需要逐帧追踪。“借助扫描的道具几何,我们就能够精确追踪到刀具手柄,”Boyd说道。“然后,就能轻松附加上完美匹配的CGI刀锋了。”

Artec Space Spider扫描的指节铜套刀具3D模型

据Boyd估算,使用公司Artec Space Spider已经为工作室节约了$30,000到$40,000的成本。“但最重要的还是节省了大量时间。不仅仅是运输时间,我们现在还能在现场自行扫描,按期完成,”他补充道。“我们在下加利福尼亚州罗萨里托拍摄,本应当将这些道具与演员送往洛杉矶扫描。这些都是大麻烦,尤其演员输送这一关。加上旅行、运输、酒店、海关等费用,道具和演员的扫描成本就更高了。演员往返洛杉矶,以及妆容扫描,都很难安排,但这些问题都随着Artec Space Spider的到来迎刃而解。此外,演员和道具的扫描通常耗费数周,这对快节奏的电视后期制作造成了不小的压力。但现在Artec Space Spider成了我们自用的一套工具,我们可以安排任何一天进行扫描,而且通常当天就可以完成。这点绝对是无价的。”

联系我们

Creating 3D models for CGI the fast way

The purchase of Artec Space Spider 3D scanner saves time and money for a visual effects company working on the Fear the Walking Dead series.

3D scanning has long been part and parcel of visual effects production. Whenever a director’s grandiose ideas cannot be brought to life by the use of special effects alone, visual effects artists are called in. An accurate 3D scan of an actor can be incorporated into an actual scene to show the character being ripped apart, melted down, or transformed into any sort of creature. The same goes for props: it’s not always possible to manipulate physical props or show actors interact with them the way the director envisions it. Here too 3D scanned replicas are the answer.

Several of the CGI props featured in the Fear the Walking Dead series. In each scene, the weapon in use was 3D scanned with Artec Space Spider. In the case of the eye stabbing and the arm amputation, the face and arm, respectively, were scanned with Space Spider as well. Video footage courtesy of AMC.


A great many top-grossing Hollywood blockbusters, such as Jurassic World, Terminator Genisys, World War Z and others feature 3D models created with the help of Artec 3D scanning technology. Let’s look into whether it’s more economically efficient to outsource 3D scanning services or use your own 3D scanner to create CGI props and digital doubles.

Hear from Boyd Shermis, Visual Effects Director of fxtc, inc., a studio in Calabasas, California that designs and directs visual effects for film and TV. Boyd has been in the industry for over 30 years, working on movies like Speed with Keanu Reeves, Gone in 60 Seconds with Nicolas Cage and Angelina Jolie, and G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra with Channing Tatum and Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Boyd’s studio routinely needs to create or recreate faces, handheld props, and various other objects for use in the visual effects pipeline.

After years of outsourcing, Boyd purchased Artec Space Spider structured-light 3D scanner from Artec’s local partner Source Graphics on behalf of the AMC TV channel. The scanner was needed to work on Season 3 of AMC’s Fear the Walking Dead series. According to Boyd, they chose Artec Space Spider because of its resolution, ease-of-use, availability and cost.

A 3D model of an M4 carbine made with Artec Space Spider

Before acquiring the Artec 3D scanner, whenever he needed to get 3D scans of a prop or an actor, Boyd would have to send the prop out to an independent scanning service bureau or bring a scanning company out to the studio for facial scanning.

“Scans that we commissioned and received in the past were professionally done by well-known, high-end scanning bureaus, and were of very high quality,” says Boyd. “However, as this show was based in Baja California, exporting and shipping items to LA-based scanning facilities was not only logistically problematic, particularly as many of our props are weapons, but the time lost and the cost of shipping, import and export… all adds up quickly.”

Thanks to purchasing Artec Space Spider, Boyd no longer has to go the traditional way to obtain 3D scans. Over the course of 16 episodes, he used Space Spider to scan the faces of several actors, a bunch of props, and a forearm and hand.

A 3D model of a telescoping baton made with Artec Space Spider

“Artec Space Spider saves time, saves on shipping, and allows for more precise control over the scan,” says Boyd, who normally needs to do several handheld props on a weekly basis. In order to make the process as efficient as possible, props are placed on a turntable that has graphic marks on it. The marks serve as visual hints for the scanner, which is a great help when tracking a featureless surface. Registering the marks, the scanner “understands” what part of the surface it’s capturing at the moment.

“Our turntable is very precisely marked for the best registration of the scans,” says Boyd. “We also use a soft bounce light in the room so that the textures have a nice, even lighting with proper color temperature.”

Jonathan Levi Ortega of fxtc scans a machete with Space Spider for Fear the Walking Dead


Once scanning is finished, post-processing starts in Artec Studio software. Multiple scans are registered and merged. After the scans are cleaned up, the turntable base is removed, textures are applied, and the resulting 3D model is exported into Maya or 3D Studio Max as an .obj file. The 3D model is then handed off to a downstream visual effects company that incorporates it into an actual scene. “Most often the various weapons are tracked and extended so they appear to penetrate the skulls of zombies,” says Boyd.

If they need to film a scene in which a knife is used, the action is shot with a truncated knife, i.e. a knife with no blade. In order to follow the motion of the knife, the individual pixels of its handle are tracked on a frame by frame basis. “We are able to precisely track the knife handle using the geometry from the scanned prop,” says Boyd. “And then a perfectly matched CGI blade can be added to it with relative ease.”

A 3D model of a knuckleduster knife made with Artec Space Spider

In Boyd’s estimate, the use of the in-house Artec Space Spider has already saved his studio $30,000 to $40,000. “But the really big savings came in terms of time. Not just the turnaround time, but just being able to do our own scans on-site, on our own schedule,” he says. “We were shooting down in Rosarito, Baja California, and otherwise would’ve had to send props and/or actors to Los Angeles for scans. That was incredibly inconvenient, particularly for the actors. Prop scans and actor scans became even more expensive with travel, shipping, hotels, and customs, etc. Just scheduling actors’ scans, arranging their travel to LA and back, very often scanning with make-up was very difficult to organize in the past, but became incredibly convenient with having the Artec Space Spider in-house. And getting the turnaround for both actors and props scans was most often weeks, which is way too long for our fast-paced TV post-production schedule. With the Artec Space Spider as part of our own tool set, we could schedule the scan on any day, and have the scans ready that same day. That was nearly priceless.”

Ask a question