非洲荒漠极端条件下的3D扫描:新手成功案例

只具备初级3D扫描知识的古生物学生勇敢参与了肯尼亚考古挖掘现场的探险之旅,为著名古生物学家的化石发现进行数字化工作。

肯尼亚北部的图尔卡纳湖盆地是一片拥有无数古生物和考古遗址的传奇地带,20世纪中期开始,利基家族及其团队就在这里找到众多突破性发现。其中极为著名的发现包括10岁的图尔卡纳男孩,这是直立猿人近乎完整的一副骨架,距今约150-160万年,还有人类属的古老代表“能人”,他们被认为已在200万年前就开始使用工具。事实上,正是利基家族为这类古人类取名 “能人”或“手巧之人”,从而声名远扬。

在图尔卡纳盆地研究所使用Artec Space Spider 3D扫描仪为样本制作数字复制品

在图尔卡纳湖工作数十载后,利基家族创立了图尔卡纳盆地研究所(Turkana Basin Institute, TBI),以推动该地区最新的研究。2014年夏天,TBI购置了适用于大型物体的精确3D扫描仪Artec Eva以及适合小型物体的HD 3D扫描仪Artec Spider,并接受了Artec集团Denis Baev 的培训。Louise Leaky带领的团队已经开始为TBI丰富的化石藏品样本制作3D数字化工作。

TBI设施

TBI库房

TBI骨骼藏品

Louise Leaky及同事

TBI欢迎广大研究者参与考古现场与实验室工作,帮助扫描史前动物与人种的骨骼。其中一位研究员Natalya Prilepskaya是来自莫斯科国立大学的古生物学研究生,她前往图尔卡纳湖并使用Artec Eva和Artec Space Spider 3D扫描仪为化石进行3D扫描。

Natalya Prilepskaya(左)与Louise Leakey

Natalya非常高兴和我们分享她的体验:

 “我在TBI的任务是使用全新的Artec扫描仪Space SpiderArtec Eva扫描古生物样本。但我没有时间学习如何3D扫描。事实上,在出发前,理论和实践部分我只接触了几天而已。我非常感谢Artec Olga SkvortsovaDenis BaevYaroslava Laptinskaya和我的丈夫Sergey Sukhovey在短短的时间内教会我宝贵的知识!”

TBI,我需要尽力倾尽自己所能。这不是件简单的事,但没有什么不可能。

TBI化石库房的Natalya

我的学习过程大部分都是在“野外”发生的。3D扫描和制作陶器的工作相仿,我非常喜欢制作陶器。扫描仪不光收集物体有关信息,还会“触摸与感受”。最后的成品就是一个“鲜活”的3D外形,尽管物体只是一件泥土制品。

Natalya使用Space Spider扫描样本

但要制作一个3D模型,我首先需要学会如何使用扫描仪还不会丢失追踪。为此,我需要保持两眼盯紧屏幕,而不是物体。我需要适应这种工作方式。起初,我的目光会不时在屏幕和物体间移动。当我看向物体时,我的手势往往会出错,扫描区域就会从[Artec Studio中的]绿色区域内消失。

扫描速度也很重要。使用Space Spider时,您需要均匀慢速地移动,切不可急速。这和使用Eva围绕物体迅速旋转一周有些不同。使用Space Spider扫描时,可以配合旋转台,但TBI没有。

另一个要点是需要在扫描仪收集完足够数据后立刻停止。有时我会做些不必要的工作,反复扫描同一区域。最后的成品就会因为数据过多,变得非常庞大,而且耗费很长的处理时间。

在我来到TBI的第一天,我就开始扫描我的第一件古生物样本——180万年前的狒狒头骨(东非狒狒)。我有幸和研究所的工作人员Timothy GichungeRobert Ngechu一同合作,向他们学到了很多。在同一间实验室工作时也很方便,我可以随时向他们请教。他们非常乐意帮助我。

挖掘现场的合作

我还请Timothy为我上了一节大师课,让我学习他的扫描过程。最后发现这是个很棒的主意!不仅有机会独自练习,还能亲眼目睹专家亲自动手的过程。Timothy会手持Spider匀速围绕物体旋转,不出一点差错——极致的极简主义。最终成品的质量也绝对上乘。我很希望能学会如何专业熟练地进行扫描。

Timothy找到了旋转台的简单替代物——他将小型物体放在文件袋上,并握住边缘进行转动。这是个很棒的解决方法,因为物体是透明的:Space Spider无法看到透明背景,因而无法完成扫描。这就减少了清除多余数据、移除桌面的模型清理时间。

搭建临时小平台扫描样本

通过几次培训后,我开始完善自己的技术。我有时会请Timothy Robert看我扫描并指出我的错误并纠正。这种做法很有帮助。

Natalya扫描样本

我丈夫Sergey曾经教会我一个小窍门,我于是很高兴地告诉了Timothy。在扫描羚羊弯曲的角时,Space Spider可能会遗漏角尖,因为角尖非常细小,好比悬空状。如果您在角尖放置一张带有文字或图像的纸张,扫描仪就会将它作为参照物,保持稳定追踪。在编辑项目时,纸张可以删除。

带角的羚羊头骨

在学习过程中我发现天气也有一定影响。挖掘现场气候十分炎热。尽管我扫描的房间透气性不错,但笔记本电脑还是会常常过热发烫。为延长它们的工作时长,我们将其放置在放有冰块的塑料盒上,冰块融化后进行更换。

挖掘现场炎热的一天

另一个影响因素是强风。风不停地刮,带入大量尘土沙石,散落到硬件孔隙中。Meave Leakey博士便使用透明保护套来保护她的笔记本。

我很幸运,工作时周围几乎没有昆虫。通常在这样的时节,会出现大量昆虫,导致无法夜间工作,因为昆虫会被黑夜中的光亮吸引。这个问题可以通过特殊软件调节屏幕色彩来解决。例如对Mac来说使用黑光。

夜间工作

在TBI期间,Natalya总共扫描了七件哺乳动物头骨,均生活在更新世—全新世时期(至今约260万年前)的图尔卡纳湖区。3D模型成品公布在了AfricanFossils.org网站的3D打印区域中,所有注册用户都可以下载并打印他们需要的模型。

为原始人类和动物制作3D模型系列,其重要意义之大难以估量。

首先,3D扫描技术允许研究者获取到古生物样本几何的精确数据。当然我们可以使用直尺或卡尺来测量样本,但这种测量结果不完整且不准确。同样,照片和图画无法总是精确如实地反映某个物体。

TBI系列中各种各样的带角头骨

其次,3D扫描可以帮助保存样本外形的信息。即便看似坚固的化石依然可能碎裂,尤其在经过日晒、风吹、雨打,以及野外温度波动影响。即便保存在博物馆,物体也有可能因为潮湿、不适宜的温度和其他不利条件而破碎。

黄铁矿疾病是化石共同面临的负面影响之一,会导致化石腐坏破碎。该疾病始于氧量富足的环境,并因水分、温度变化、压力和细菌活性的共同作用而加速恶化。

精密3D扫描让您可以以自然色彩保存物体精确的3D图像。最后的模型包含物体所有必须的信息,包括测量结果,可以让研究者无需直接接触就能进行工作。

恶劣条件下的骨骼极易腐败

第三,制作3D模型系列可以促进样本信息的广泛交换:科学家无需再花费时间和金钱前往挖掘现场或博物馆仅为一睹样本实物。不同实验室可以通过分享样本形态的3D数据实现合作,提高合作效率和质量。

在TBI,其中有一件最近完成扫描的大型样本巨型象头骨,需要对它进行细节研究,但很难移动或翻转。“能够扫描样本、使用细节丰富的模型令人非常激动,”Louise Leaky说道。样本使用Artec Eva完成扫描,并于3D对象软件Artec Studio 11中完成数据处理,花费最少量的时间完成了物体精确3D模型的制作。

Timothy使用Artec Eva扫描巨型大象头骨化石

使用Artec EvaSpider捕获的大象头骨化石3D扫描

最后,3D模型经常作为课堂视觉教具,因此3D扫描可以促进教育的发展。3D模型不仅可以用于电脑端的研究,还可通过3D打印机打印后使用,这种做法在课堂内日渐流行。

3D扫描已经为古生物领域打开了全新篇章,研究者通过强大的工具保护了宝贵又脆弱的文物,样本研究也达到前所未有的深度,加深了同行合作,此外,还能激发年轻一代对于人类起源这一根本问题的探索热情。

欢迎咨询

3D scanning in extreme conditions of African desert: A novice’s success story

A paleontology student with basic 3D scanning knowledge ventured on an expedition at an excavation site in Kenya to digitize finds discovered by world-famous paleontologists.

The Lake Turkana Basin in northern Kenya is a legendary region with numerous paleontological and archaeological sites where many groundbreaking discoveries have been made by the Leakey family and their team, who have been working here since the mid-20th century. Some of the best-known finds made here include Turkana Boy, which is the nearly complete skeleton of Homo erectus, a 10 year old youth dated to 1.5 to 1.6 million years ago and Homo habilis, an ancient representative of the human genus, Homo, thought to have been using tools as early as 2 million ago. In fact, it was the Leakeys who gave this hominin this name Homo habilis or “Handy Man” that is known world over.

Creating a digital replica of a sample with Artec Space Spider 3D scanner at Turkana Basin Institute

After decades of work at Lake Turkana, the Leakeys established the Turkana Basin Institute (TBI), which facilitates new research in this region. In the summer of 2014, TBI acquired Artec Eva, a precise 3D scanner for large objects, and Artec Spider, an HD 3D scanner for smaller objects, and received training from Artec’s Denis Baev. The team lead by Louise Leakey has been 3D digitizing fossilized samples from TBI’s extensive collection.

A TBI facility

A storage room at TBI

Bones from the TBI collection

Louise Leakey with her colleagues

TBI welcomes researchers who help at the excavation site and in the laboratory, scanning the bones of prehistoric animals and hominids. One such researcher is Natalya Prilepskaya, a postgraduate paleontology student of Moscow State University, who went to Lake Turkana to scan fossils using Artec Eva and Space Spider 3D scanners.

Natalya Prilepskaya, left, with Louise Leakey

Natalya has gladly agreed to share her impressions with us:

“My mission at TBI was to scan paleontological samples with the new Artec scanner, Space Spider, and Artec Eva. The problem was I had no time to learn how to 3D scan. I actually had only a few days of theory and practice before my trip. I’d like to thank Artec’s Olga Skvortsova, Denis Baev, Yaroslava Laptinskaya and my husband, Sergey Sukhovey, for the priceless knowledge I gained within a very tight timeframe!”

At TBI, the challenge was to make the most of my skills. It was no easy task, but nothing is impossible.

Natalya at TBI’s fossil storage room

Most of my learning practice occurred “in field conditions.” 3D scanning resembled working at the potter’s wheel, which was nice since I always loved making ceramics. The scanner not only collected information about the object – it “touched and felt” it. The result you were getting was a “live” 3D shape, as though it was molded from clay.

Natalya using Space Spider to scan a sample

But to actually obtain a 3D model, I first had to learn how to operate the scanner so it didn’t lose tracking. To do that, I had to keep my eyes on the screen, not on the object. So I had to adjust myself to working in that manner. In the beginning, my eyes would switch from the screen to the object and back every now and again. When I looked at the object, my hand would often make a wrong move, and the scanning area disappeared from the green field [in Artec Studio].

Also important was the speed of scanning. With Space Spider, you should go slowly and smoothly, without making any jerky movements. It’s a bit different from making a quick all-around scan with Eva. For scanning with Space Spider, a rotating table would work fine, but there weren’t any at TBI.

Another thing to learn was stopping once the scanner has collected enough data. I’d sometimes do unnecessary repetition, going over the same area again. As a result, the project turned out to be too large, and processing took too long, due to the excessive amount of data.

On my first working day at TBI I got my first paleontological sample to scan – the skull of a baboon (Papio Anubis) dated at 1.8 million years ago. I was lucky to work side by side with the institute’s staff Timothy Gichunge and Robert Ngechu, from whom I learned a great deal. It was very convenient to work in the same lab, as I often turned to them for advice. The guys were always glad to help me.

Teamwork at an excavation site

I asked Timothy to do a master class for me so I could see how he scans. This turned out to be a great idea! It was very useful not only to get practice scanning alone, but also to watch a pro doing it. Timothy would move Spider around an object very smoothly, without making a single wrong movement – sufficient minimalism. And the quality of his final projects was just superb. I wanted to learn how to scan as proficiently.

Timothy found a simple substitute for a rotating table – he placed smaller objects on a file pocket and turned them around, holding the edge of the file pocket. It actually was a great solution because of the material’s transparency: Space Spider didn’t see the transparent background and therefore didn’t scan it. This reduced the time spent on cleaning the model from unwanted data and removing the table.

Using a makeshift platform to scan a sample

After a few training sessions, I began to work on perfecting my skills. I’d sometimes ask Timothy and Robert to watch me scanning and correct me if I were going wrong. It proved to be extremely helpful.

Natalya scanning a sample

It was nice that I happened to teach Timothy one trick that I was once shown by my husband Sergey. When scanning the curvy antlers of an antelope, Space Spider could lose tracking on the tips of the antlers, as they were very thin and just “hung” in the air. If you put a piece of paper with text or images on the tip of an antler, the scanner will take it as an anchor and maintain tracking steadily. When editing the project, the paper is deleted.

The skull of an antelope with antlers

Climate also played a role in my learning. It was extremely hot on the site. Despite the fact that the room where I scanned was airy, the laptops would often overheat. To make them work longer, we put them on flat plastic containers with ice, replacing those once ice had melted.

A sizzling hot day at an excavation site

Another factor to consider was strong wind. It blew all the time, bringing huge amounts of dust and sand, which permeated every hole and crack in our hardware. Dr. Meave Leakey uses a transparent protective cover for her laptop to protect it.

I was very lucky to have almost no insects around while I worked. Usually at this time of the year there are hordes of insects in the area, making it impossible to work in the evening, as they are drawn to the bright screen glowing in the dark. This problem is solved by using special software that changes the color of the screen. For Macs, for example, it’s Black Light.

Working in the dark

During her stay at TBI, Natalya scanned a total of seven skulls of mammals that inhabited the Turkana Lake area in the Pleistocene – Holocene (2.6 million years ago until present). The finished 3D models were posted on the AfricanFossils.org website in the 3D printing section, where any registered user can download and print out the model they need.

The importance of creating a collection of 3D models of hominids and animals is hard to overestimate.

First of all, 3D scanning technology allows a researcher to get precise data for the geometry of a paleontological sample. One can use a ruler or caliper to measure samples, of course, but such measurements are neither complete nor accurate enough. Likewise, photos and drawings do not always reflect the shape of an object accurately.

The diversity of skulls with horns in TBI’s collection

Secondly, 3D scanning helps preserve information about the shape of a sample. Even fossils that look strong can disintegrate, especially if they are exposed to sunlight, wind, rain and fluctuating temperatures in the field. And even if an object is stored in a museum, it can still fall apart due to humidity, unfavorable temperatures and other destructive conditions.

A common negative factor affecting fossils is pyrite disease which causes the fossil to rot and crumble. This disease starts in oxygen rich environments, with moisture, temperature changes, pressure, and bacterial activity contributing to its development.

Precision 3D scanning allows you to save an accurate 3D image of an object in natural color. The resulting model contains all the necessary information about the object, including its measurements, which enables researchers to work with the object without direct contact with it.

Bones are prone to decay in adverse conditions

Thirdly, the creation of 3D model collections facilitates broader exchange of information about samples: Scientists don’t have to spend time and money on a trip to an excavation site or a museum to see a sample. Several laboratories can work together, sharing 3D data about the morphology of specimens, which increases the efficiency and quality of their collaboration.

At TBI, one of the most recent large specimens scanned was a huge elephant skull which needed to be studied in detail and is very difficult to move or to turn over. “Being able to scan the specimen and then use the detailed model has been very exciting,” said Louise Leakey. The sample was scanned with Artec Eva, and the data was processed in Artec Studio 11 3D object software, which reduces to the minimum the time needed to create an accurate 3D model of an object.

Timothy scanning a huge fossilized skull of an elephant with Artec Eva

3D scans of the fossil elephant skull, captured with Artec Eva and Spider

Ultimately, 3D scanning fosters education, since 3D models are often used as visual aids in the classroom. 3D models can be studied not only on a computer but also printed out on a 3D printer, which is becoming increasingly common.

3D scanning has opened up a new chapter in paleontology, putting a powerful tool in the hands of researchers to preserve their fragile, priceless finds, engage a wider circle of colleagues in studying samples in greater depth than ever before, and inspire the younger generation to pursue the search for answers to fundamental questions about human origins.

Ask a question