结合增强现实与Artec为古老文物和考古地点完成历史性修复

概要:专家决定为近2000年之久的苏格兰安东尼墙以及欧洲和世界多处遗址地完成部分3D扫描。

目标:使用便携式高分辨率3D扫描仪对一系列考古遗址和考古文物进行细致的捕获,随后通过增强现实应用程序,将它们制作成逼真的3D模型。

使用工具:Artec MHT, Artec Eva

数字文献与视觉化中心(Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation)目前正与苏格兰历史环境机构(Historic Environment Scotland)和格拉斯哥艺术学院开展合作,致力于开创一个创新型数字遗迹项目。团队成员早在2011年就开始在苏格兰十大遗迹项目(the Scottish Ten Project)中使用Artec MHT扫描仪(由Artec金牌经销商Central Scanning供应)。该项目需要对苏格兰教科文组织世界文化遗产保护地和国际遗产保护地进行数字化存档工作,其中包括拉什莫尔山和悉尼歌剧院,并使用生成的3D数据协助遗产地的保护、管理和说明工作。

该保护地有400多块精雕细琢的印度神灵石刻像。

所有图片由数字文献与视觉化中心提供

国际遗产保护地之一、有着1000年历史的印度王后阶梯井雄伟壮阔。这是Artec扫描仪崭露头角的首个项目。该保护地有400多块精雕细琢的印度神灵石刻像。团队当时使用了地面激光扫描仪来捕获阶梯井和周围环境,使用MHT时,他们花了整整两周,尽可能捕获高分辨率的雕塑细节。MHT是当时最适合这项工作的扫描仪了,也生成了一些较为出色的数据。因此,它逐渐成为团队3D工具箱里的一款常用工具。得知王后阶梯井的数字保护工作促成了2014年联合国教科文组织世界遗产保护地的提名,他们非常激动。

团队当时使用了地面激光扫描仪来捕获阶梯井和周围环境,使用MHT时,他们花了整整两周,尽可能捕获高分辨率的雕塑细节。

现在,数字文献与视觉化中心开始和德国、奥地利合作,展开一个名叫Advanced Limes Applications (ALApp)的创意欧洲项目(Creative Europe)。该项目致力于为先进移动应用研发并传播数字科技,阐释横跨两国的世界遗产地罗马帝国边界线,并重点介绍苏格兰安东尼长城和巴伐利亚日耳曼长城。它们都是联合国教科文组织遗产保护地罗马帝国边界线的一部分。在苏格兰,该项目需要沿着安东尼墙收集六处遗迹:贝尔斯登、克洛伊山、 Duntocher、Kinneil、粗糙之堡、瓦特林小屋。但巴伐利亚部分的工作重点位于雷根斯堡附近Eining的一片考古景观,其中包括早期的Abusina城堡。

MHT是当时最适合这项工作的扫描仪了,也生成了一些较为出色的数据。

团队最近正在为ALApp项目系统地记录安东尼长城和日耳曼长城,从而为罗马帝国最北边界线开发互动式地点增强现实APP。感谢创意欧洲的赞助,这些内容得以在未来几年内添加到应用程序中,但现在您已可以免费下载APP,查看第一批保护地:Google Play / iTunes

最近,项目人员在慕尼黑博物馆中,对壮观的火星和金星雕塑进行了数字化工作。

这款APP带有罗马遗址的文物重建模型和互动式3D模型。用户可以平摇、放大、旋转,还能从文本介绍中找到更多相关信息。为实现博物馆文物的3D捕获,中心结合了Artec结构光扫描仪和数字摄影测量技术。他们已升级到Artec Eva系统,这无疑极大提升了数据品质,且更为便携,方便使用。他们还配备了电池组,以用于没有供电电源的地方。项目期间,他们还为慕尼黑博物馆里火星与金星的精彩雕像进行了数字记录工作。将3D模型融入APP后,他们就能将文物返回至原处。奥地利合作商EduFilm正在开发增强现实组件,届时您可以在考古现场和3D模型进行实时互动。这些3D模型通过AR触发,会在特定地点加载,帮助访客了解遗址信息。这一功能将于明年推出。

苏格兰历史环境机构最近开始在Sketchfab上分享使用Artec扫描仪制作的3D模型。您可以在此查看一部分安东尼长城。

安东尼长城警示牌3D模型。

数字文献与视觉化中心数字文献经理Lyn Wilson博士表示:“通过使用Artec 3D扫描仪和软件,我们可以为文化遗产和文物快速准确地生成3D模型,更轻松地分享和传播模型。Artec 3D数据让我们真正做到了唤醒历史!”

数字文献与视觉化中心希望未来能继续与Central Scanning合作,继续使用Artec 3D扫描仪,并期待Artec Leo的效果,进一步帮助他们提升实力。

数字文献与视觉化中心LLP数字文献经理Lyn Wilson博士供稿。

联系我们

Bringing History to Life with Artec Scanners and AR

The Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation is a partnership between Historic Environment Scotland and The Glasgow School of Art, set up to deliver innovative digital heritage projects. The team members first started using an Artec MHT scanner way back in 2011 (supplied by Artec Gold Reseller Central Scanning) while working on the Scottish Ten Project. This involved digitally documenting Scotland’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites and international heritage sites, including Mount Rushmore and the Sydney Opera House, to generate 3D data to help in their conservation, management and interpretation.

The site is adorned with over 400 intricately carved sandstone figures of Hindu deities.

All images curtesy: Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation

One of the international sites was the wonderful 1,000-year-old stepwell of Rani ki Vav in Gujarat, India. This was the first project where the Artec scanner really proved invaluable. The site is adorned with over 400 intricately carved sandstone figures of Hindu deities. While the team worked with terrestrial laser scanners to capture the stepwell and its context, they worked for a solid two weeks with the MHT to record the detail of as many sculptures as they could at high resolution. The MHT was the perfect scanner for the job and produced some fantastic data. It thereafter became a permanent tool in their 3D toolkit. The team was really thrilled when their work at Rani ki Vav contributed in part to the site being named a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2014.

While the team worked with terrestrial laser scanners to capture the stepwell and its context, they worked for a solid two weeks with the MHT to record the detail of as many sculptures as they could at high resolution.

Currently, the Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation is working with partners in Germany and Austria on a Creative Europe funded project called Advanced Limes Applications (ALApp). The project develops and disseminates digital technologies and content for advanced mobile applications to interpret the transnational World Heritage Site Frontiers of the Roman Empire, with a focus on the Antonine Wall in Scotland and the Raetian Limes in Bavaria. Both form parts of the UNESCO Frontiers of the Roman Empire World Heritage Site. In Scotland, the project works with six locations along the Antonine Wall: Bearsden, Croy Hill, Duntocher, Kinneil, Rough Castle and Watling Lodge. The work in Bavaria, however, focusses on one site, the archaeological landscape at Eining, near Regensburg, including the former Abusina castell.

The MHT was the perfect scanner for the job and produced some fantastic data.

The team is systematically recording Antonine Wall and German Limes objects for the ALApp project to create an interactive location-based augmented reality app for the northernmost Frontier of the Roman Empire. Content will be added to this over the next few years thanks to the Creative Europe funding, but the app can be downloaded now for free with information for the first sites: Google Play / iTunes

For the project, they recently digitally recorded some amazing statues of Mars and Venus in a museum in Munich.

The app features interactive 3D models and reconstructions of artefacts found at the Roman sites. Users can pan, zoom and rotate them, as well as find out more about the objects from the text description. To capture the museum artefacts in 3D, the centre is using a combination of Artec structured light scanners and digital photogrammetry. They have upgraded to an Artec Eva system, which is a big advance in terms of data quality, portability and ease of use. They also have a battery pack for the system which helps them out when working in places with no power source. For the project, they recently digitally recorded some amazing statues of Mars and Venus in a museum in Munich. By incorporating these 3D models into the app, they were able to digitally repatriate the artefacts to the places they were found. Their partners in Austria, EduFilm, are developing an augmented reality component which will allow you to interact with the 3D models in real-time while you visit the archaeological site. Using location-based AR triggers, the 3D models will load at particular places to enhance the understanding of the site. This feature will be rolled out next year.

Historic Environment Scotland is now beginning to share these 3D models generated using the Artec scanners on Sketchfab. You can see some of the Antonine Wall here.

3D model of a distance slab from the Antonine Wall.

Dr Lyn Wilson, Digital Documentation Manager at Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation, notes that “Artec 3D scanners and software let us quickly and accurately generate 3D models for the cultural heritage sites and artefacts we work on, helping us to share and disseminate. Artec 3D data really does allow us to bring our history to life!”

The Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation hope to continue working with Central Scanning and Artec3D scanners for the foreseeable future and look forward to evaluating the Artec Leo to further enhance their capabilities.

Case study written by Dr Lyn Wilson, Digital Documentation Manager, Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation LLP.

Contact us