使用Artec进行3D扫描丰富了中太平洋学院的学习体验

如何活跃历史课气氛、提高学生积极性?夏威夷教师决定使用Artec 3D扫描仪。

中太平洋学院是一所位于夏威夷檀香山的私立学校,设有学前班至12年级课程,历来以积极创新和沉浸式科技著称。为提高学习趣味性,教师通常使用最先进的设备,包括虚拟现实、3D扫描及打印等众多科技。

其中一门全新的历史课《博物馆研究》,正是在购置Artec 3D扫描仪EvaSpider后开设的。

“以往我们是不会开设这门课的,”中太平洋学院技术专员Tony Johansen表示。“我们会继续开设《历史保护》课程,重点放在大型物体的LiDAR 3D扫描。但是,这门课程无法像新设课程一样,关注到小型物体的细节。同时,使用Artec扫描仪还能减少扫描和处理的时间。”

在课程中,学生将参观历史遗迹和博物馆,对工艺品进行3D扫描,再进行处理,或在Sketchfab.com上建立3D模型。学生通常两至三人为一组。一位学生扫描,另一位手持笔记本电脑,最后一位控制数据收集。然后,三位学生互换任务,保存扫描,并将设备递给下一组同学继续扫描新的物品。学生可以回校在数周内完成扫描项目,也可以研究扫描物品的历史背景和文化意义。

学生通常两至三人为一组。一位学生扫描,另一位手持笔记本电脑,最后一位控制数据收集。

“我们使用编辑器来清理画面,还使用对齐工具,通过快速融合工具中的粗配准完成物体的啮合,” Tony Johansen说道。“然后,我们根据不同需要分别使用小型物体滤网、空洞填补、编辑器、网格简化等工具。最终,就可以添加纹理并导出模型了。”

学生可以将模型传入Meshlab,验证导出模型是否正确,也可对其进行简化,以更好地匹配Sketchfab,并在这里完成最终的项目,并发布或进行加注。

这尊坐佛在参观檀香山艺术博物馆途中由Artec Spider完成扫描。可追溯至公元后2-3世纪,代表释迦摩尼佛像早期形象之一,据传其之后禁止信徒敬奉其肖像。

坐佛3D模型,使用Artec Spider完成。

扫描课上学生可以学习到更多有关工艺品和其意义的知识,并与博物馆馆长进行互动,他常常鼓励学生研究不在展的展品和其他访客无法参观的展品。课堂内互动3D科技鼓励学生制作的内容可用于课堂展示,效果更为生动形象,同时也让学生亲自动手参与保护无价的历史文物。

学生对于能够在课堂使用3D扫描仪似乎颇为高兴。以下是他们的感想:

James Marchant(高年级):

第一次拿到扫描仪时,我以为这不过是一台可以发出很多光束的手持设备。但是,在完成我们首个扫描作业后,我很快意识到这台设备将为历史保护提供全新途径。你不仅可以获得一份完美的文物扫描,还可以发布作品,让全世界的人都看到这些历史文物。在电脑上制作扫描的过程也非常简单。仅仅需要单击几下,如此而已。一旦熟悉程序以后,扫描、上传、去噪(移除不需要的扫描部分),程序就会自动完成余下部分。这一设备还可以帮助解决博物馆面临的传播问题。通过这一技术,人们可以和文物互动。且对学习来说,非常关键。

James Marchant(高年级):完成我们首个扫描作业后,我很快意识到这台设备将为历史保护提供全新途径。

Rachel Tanaka(低年级):

扫描仪可将未来有可能遗失的文物数字化。我们最近参观了东西方研究中心和檀香山艺术博物馆,在这里我们扫描了历史文物,对文件进行了处理,上传至SketchFab网站,并添加描述。这一网站就像在线博物馆展品陈列馆。全世界部分博物馆均设有部分网络展品,就像我们即将为夏威夷博物馆用扫描仪所设计的一样。我们发现了与我们身份息息相关的文物,既有画作,也有充满文化气息的服装。

Rachel Tanaka(低年级):扫描仪可将未来有可能遗失的文物数字化。

Jarron Carter(低年级):

 我非常喜欢Artec扫描仪以及我们使用它的目的所在。科技帮助我们保护对历史文化有特殊意义的代表性工艺品。例如,在我们实地参观东西方研究中心时,我们小组有机会扫描了来自中国白族的童车。扫描完成后,我们的项目还深入研究了工艺品背后的文化背景。正因为这一项目,我和我的团队开始研究白族历史时期妇女在中国的地位问题。扫描仪使用非常方便,我也很喜欢。例如,如果你移动过快或者距离物体过远,扫描仪都会发出提示音提醒你手法错误。尝试过一次以后,就能立刻轻松学会如果使用这台扫描仪了。

Jarron Carter(低年级):尝试过一次以后,就能立刻轻松学会如果使用这台扫描仪了。

Caitlin Wright(低年级):​

我第一次接触这项技术是在我们去夏威夷大学马诺阿分校参观东西方研究中心。起初我有些紧张,因为我以为扫描非常复杂,但是在练习 了一会儿以后,使用起来发现非常简单。回到学校后,我开始处理扫描文件,这一过程同样十分简单。其中我最喜欢的部分就是看到最终的成果。尽管在处理过程中可以看到工艺品,但只有在最终加完纹理以后才能看到整体效果。可以在电脑上看到所有色彩、浮雕和裂纹,简直太炫酷了。数字化3D版本的工艺品可以永远流传下来,避免遭到人类或自然的破坏。

Caitlin Wright(低年级):数字化3D版本的工艺品可以永远流传下来,避免遭到人类或自然的破坏。

欢迎咨询

3D scanning with Artec enriches learning experience at Mid-Pacific Institute

How to liven up history class and get students more engaged? Hawaiian teachers use Artec 3D scanners.

Mid-Pacific Institute is a private school for preschool to grade 12 students in Honolulu, Hawaii with a rich history of innovation and immersive technology programs. To make learning fun, teachers use state-of-the-art equipment, exposing students to virtual reality, 3D scanning & printing and other technologies.

One of the courses on the curriculum is a new kind of history class, Museum Studies, which was introduced after the purchase of Artec 3D scanners Eva and Spider.

“Traditionally we’d not be offering this course,” says Tony Johansen, technology specialist at Mid-Pacific. “We’d continue to offer our Historical Preservation class, which focuses on LiDAR 3D scanning of large objects. However, that does not give the level of detail on the smaller objects that this course is about. Also, using the Artec scanners reduces the scan and processing time.”

During the course, students visit historical sites and museums to 3D scan artifacts, then process them and sometimes put up 3D models on Sketchfab.com. They normally work in groups of two or three. One student scans the item, another one holds the laptop, and the last one controls data collecting. Then they switch tasks, save scans and pass the equipment to another group to scan the next object. Students are given a couple of weeks to finish their scanning projects back on campus and also research the historical context and the cultural relevance of what they’ve scanned.

Students normally work in groups of two or three. One scans the item, another one holds the laptop, and the last one controls data collecting.

“We use the Editor for cleanup and the Align tool, then Rough Registration through Fast Fusion tools to mesh the objects,” says Tony Johansen. “Then we use Small Object Filter, Hole Filling, Editor, and Mesh Simplification as needed. Finally, we texturize and export the model.”

Students put the model in Meshlab to verify that the export is correct and sometimes simplify it to better fit on Sketchfab, where finished projects can be published, complemented with annotations.

This Seated Buddha was scanned with Artec Spider during a trip to the Honolulu Museum of Art. Dating to the 2nd or 3rd century AD, the statue represents one of the earliest images of the historical Buddha Shakyamuni, who reportedly forbade his followers from worshiping his image.

Scanning class allows students to learn more about artifacts and their significance, as well as interact closer with museum curators, who often suggest working with items that aren’t on display and that visitors don’t have access to. Integrating 3D technology in the classroom encourages students to create content that can be used to make presentations in the classroom more vivid, and it also engages them in the preservation of priceless artifacts.

Students seem to be delighted to use 3D scanners in class. Here’s what they had to say:

James Marchant (Senior):

When we first got our scanners, I thought it was nothing more than a handheld thing that made a lot of flashing lights. However, after doing our first scan I soon realized that this device was going to be the new way of preserving history. Not only do you get a perfect copy of the artifact but you can post it and let people see these pieces of history across the world. The process of making the scan on the computer is also simple. It literally is a few button clicks. Once you get to know the program, it is easy to scan, upload, clean up the noise (extra pieces that are not needed in the scan) then let the program do the rest. This device could also fix one of the biggest problems museums have when it comes to dissemination. It would allow people to interact with the artifacts. It’s something that has become critical when it comes to learning.

James Marchant (Senior): After doing our first scan I soon realized that this device was going to be the new way of preserving history.

Rachel Tanaka (Junior):

The scanner helps us digitalize artifacts that may be lost in the future. We’ve visited the East West Center and the Honolulu Museum of Art, where we scanned artifacts, processed them, uploaded them to a site called SketchFab and wrote descriptions. The site is like an online museum artifact gallery. Some museums around the world have their exhibits accessible online, much like what we are able to do for museums in Hawaii with the scanners. We find artifacts there that relate to our identity, whether it’s a painting or a cultural article of clothing.

Rachel Tanaka (Junior): The scanner helps us digitalize artifacts that may be lost in the future.

Jarron Carter (Junior):

I really like the Artec scanner and the purpose that we use it for. The technology helps us preserve artifacts that are symbolic and have meaning to a specific culture or heritage. For example, when we went on a field trip to the East West Center, my group had the opportunity to scan a Bai Baby Carrier which came from the Bai people of China. After we scanned the baby carrier, our project was to go more in depth about the culture behind the artifact. This lead my group and myself to the general topic of women’s gender roles in China during the time period of the Bai people. I also like how the scanner is really easy to use. For instance, if you move too fast or too far away from the object the scanner starts to beep in order to make you aware that you’re not handling it correctly. It is really easy to pick up how to use the scanner shortly after trying it for the first time.

Jarron Carter (Junior): It is really easy to pick up how to use the scanner shortly after trying it for the first time.

Caitlin Wright (Junior):

My first experience using this technology was when we went to the East West Center at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. I was a bit nervous at first because I thought that scanning would be difficult, but after practicing a bit using the technology became really easy. After returning to campus, I started processing the scan, this was pretty easy as well. My favorite part of this process was seeing the end result. While I could see the artifact during processing, I was only able to see it in its entirety after texturing it. It was cool to see all of the colors, bumps and cracks on the computer. The digital, 3D, version of the artifact will be around forever; it cannot be destroyed by man or nature.

Caitlin Wright (Junior): The digital, 3D, version of the artifact will be around forever; it cannot be destroyed by man or nature.

Ask a question