配合Artec Studio和Design X,Artec Leo一小时内重新设计排气系统

By Matthew McMillion

概要:Artec金牌经销商演示如何快速轻松实现沃尔沃XC90底部3D扫描,并在CAD软件中重新设计排气系统。
 

目标:使用无线手持式3D扫描仪,10分钟完成一辆沃尔沃的底盘捕获,随后将3D模型导出至Geomagic Design X,不到一小时,重新设计排气系统。

使用工具:Artec Leo、Geomagic Design X

Reality 3D的Stuart Bell使用Artec Leo在十分钟内完成沃尔沃XC90的底盘扫描

逆向制作汽车部件是一项充满挑战的工作,尤其是一些现代高性能车,设计容差要求非常严格,新部件必须完美贴合汽车的现有结构和技术要求。

日常工作或许需要汽车部件的精准CAD模型,但找到这样的模型难度不小,有时甚至是项不可能完成的任务,因为老旧部件早就买不到了。因此,越来越多的设计工程师开始采用逆向工程,作为全新设计的第一步。

多年来,3D扫描被证明是这方面极其高效的一款工具,和其他方式相比,成本低,耗时少,还能带来高度准确的效果。

Artec Leo完成沃尔沃XC90底盘的最后扫描

Artec金牌经销商Reality 3D使用Artec Leo专业手持式扫描仪在短短10分钟内数字捕获了沃尔沃XC90的整个底盘,以演示如何使用3D扫描和CAD软件逆向制作车辆排气系统。

Artec Leo是一款革新式3D扫描仪,全无线设计,配备机载处理系统和电池组,以及各类人性化功能,使其成为新手和扫描专家最青睐的一款工具。

在内置触屏上,您可以实时查看扫描效果,还能自由旋转,确保捕获物体所有部位。得益于Leo的快速捕获帧率,中型物体也可以在几分钟内完成色彩鲜艳的3D扫描。

Artec Studio后期处理软件中的Artec Leo扫描数据

沃尔沃底盘扫描完成后,15分钟在Artec Studio中完成数据集的后期处理,过程非常轻松。Artec Studio是世界知名软件应用,能配合使用Artec全系列3D扫描仪。通过其人性化的多功能界面,您可直接从Studio中导出至SOLIDWORKS、AutoCAD、Design X,轻松移除扫描中的反光,花最少的时间,提升3D扫描品质。

在Artec Studio中对齐扫描数据

全局配准功能可以将所有扫描数据对齐至同一坐标系。同时,橡皮擦功能可以擦除所有多余数据,提升用于CAD的扫描数据品质。随后,使用尖锐融合根据所有扫描制作独立网格。

尖锐融合制作独立网格

随后进行网格简化,缩小网格尺寸,减少多边形数量,方便进行其他模型相关操作。由于这项功能设置允许自定义调节,因此用户可以避免丢失重要细节。

网格简化缩小模型尺寸

随后将3D模型以STL格式导出至Geomagic Design X进行CAD处理。

导出至Design X进行CAD处理

在Design X中导入STL文件;使用Design X的Pipe Wizard,可以轻松选中排气系统用于逆向工程。通过细化系统外形、尺寸等一系列细节,就能一步步设计出全新高性能排气系统。

在Design X中,几分钟就能完成全新排气系统的设计

排气管经过微调,能与汽车底盘其他部件无缝贴合。大约在Design X设计30分钟后,我们就获得了最终成品:定制排气系统的计量级CAD模型,新管道直径、长度、轮廓都能与汽车其他部件结构完美兼容。

制作与汽车其他结构完美兼容的双排气系统

流程小结:Artec Leo扫描10分钟,Artec Studio后期处理15分钟,Design X进行CAD处理30分钟。

不到一小时完成的定制排气系统

 

联系我们

Redesigning an exhaust system from an Artec Leo scan in under one hour with Artec Studio and Design X

Summary: An Artec Gold Reseller demonstrated how to quickly and easily 3D scan the underside of a Volvo XC90 and redesign the car's exhaust system in CAD software.

The Goal: To use a wireless handheld 3D scanner to digitally capture the undercarriage of the Volvo in 10 minutes, then export the 3D model to Geomagic Design X and redesign the exhaust system in less than one hour.

Tools Used: Artec Leo, Geomagic Design X

Reality 3D’s Stuart Bell using Artec Leo to scan the undercarriage of a Volvo XC90 in 10 minutes

Reverse engineering auto parts can be a challenging task, especially for modern, high-performance cars, where design tolerances are tighter, and new components must adapt perfectly with the car’s existing structural landscape and technical requirements.

When it comes to working with accurate CAD models of auto parts, even tracking down such models can be difficult to impossible, especially in the case of older parts no longer commercially available. That’s why a growing percentage of design engineers are choosing reverse engineering as the first step towards their new designs.

For years now, 3D scanning has proven itself as an extremely effective tool for this process, delivering highly-accurate results at a fraction of the cost and time of other methods.

Finishing up the Artec Leo scan of the Volvo XC90’s undercarriage

As part of a demonstration on using 3D scanning and CAD software for reverse engineering the exhaust system of a Volvo XC90, Artec Gold Reseller Reality 3D used an Artec Leo professional handheld scanner to digitally capture the entire underside of the car in just 10 minutes.

A revolutionary 3D scanner, entirely wireless, with onboard processing and a battery pack, Leo is rich with intuitive features that make it a favorite among beginners and scanning pros alike.

With the built-in touch screen, you can watch your scan appear in real time, even rotate the scan this way or that, and check to confirm that you’ve captured every single part of your object. With Leo’s fast capture rate, medium-sized objects can be digitally captured in brilliant color in only a handful of minutes.

Artec Leo scan in Artec Studio post-processing software

After the underside of the Volvo was scanned, the scan datasets were post-processed in Artec Studio, which took only 15 minutes, with a minimum of effort. Artec Studio is a world-renowned software application integrated with Artec’s full line of 3D scanners. With an intuitive, feature-packed interface, Studio lets you export directly to SOLIDWORKS, AutoCAD, and Design X, easily remove glare from scans, and make your 3D scans better than ever before, in record time.

Aligning the scan sets in Artec Studio

Global Registration aligned all the scan sets into the same global coordinate system. Along the way, the Eraser tool was used to clean up unwanted data, to refine the portion of the scan intended for CAD purposes. The next step was to apply Sharp Fusion for creating a single mesh from all the scans.

Applying Sharp Fusion for creating a single mesh

At this point, Mesh Simplification was applied, to reduce the size of the mesh, decreasing the number of polygons and making the model easier to work with. Due to the feature’s adjustable settings, the user is easily able to avoid sacrificing any crucial details or complexity.

Applying Mesh Simplification to reduce the model size

The 3D model was then exported to Geomagic Design X as an STL for CAD.

Exporting to Design X for CAD work

In Design X, the STL file was imported; and using Design X’s Pipe Wizard, the existing exhaust pipe was easily selected for reverse engineering. Then by specifying the shape, size, and other details, a new, high-performance exhaust system was created step by step.

In Design X, where the new exhaust system will be designed in the minutes to come

The exhaust pipes were fine-tuned, making adjustments as needed to seamlessly adapt them to the other components in their path along the underside of the car. After a total of just 30 minutes in Design X, we have the final results: a metrology-grade CAD model of our custom exhaust system, with the diameter, length, and contours of the new pipes matching flawlessly with the car’s existing components and structures.

Creating a dual-exhaust system that perfectly matches the car’s existing structure

Summary of work completed: 10 minutes of scanning with Artec Leo, 15 minutes of post-processing in Artec Studio, and 30 minutes of CAD work in Design X.

The finished custom exhaust system, designed in under one hour